Modern Tram Set [R3]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
karlneil
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 53
Joined: 10 Jul 2007 08:32
Location: Estonia

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by karlneil » 10 Feb 2008 08:23

Hi again.
Is there anyone who would/could fix the alignment on turns? i have tried but its really difficult and last time i really f***ed up :x
or maybe give me hints on fixing it.

Thanks in advance :mrgreen:
Projects: Modern Tram Set (Topic)

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 10 Feb 2008 11:09

Yes, that is pretty difficult and consumes a lot of time! Here's the procedure I usually follow:

- Open new game with GRF enabled.
- Place a vehicle in the position so that you can see what needs to be adjusted (stop vehicle or pause game).
- Open up the NFO and find the sprite that needs adjusting.
- (*) Adjust sprite depending on what you see in-game [0].
- Re-codec GRF and copy to game directory [2].
- Reapply/reload GRF in game to see changes [3].
- Repeat from (*) until satisfied.


[0] A TFT screen is really useful here; when looking closely, you should be able to count single pixels [1].
[1] You could also boot up the old magnifying glass; really helpful here [4].
[2] I use a batch script to do all this [4].
[3] This is possible in OTTD, don't know for TTDP.
[4] You could've guessed that I'm a Windows user here :P

User avatar
Lakie
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 1804
Joined: 26 May 2004 16:37
Location: Britain
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by Lakie » 10 Feb 2008 14:07

It should also be noted that with TTDpatch you can open the newgrf window, select the grf and ctrl-click the description to open an sprite offset editor, allowing you align things in real time.
Please note that this doesn't save the changes to the grf file though.

~ Lakie
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."

dbkblk
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 154
Joined: 29 Mar 2008 18:38

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by dbkblk » 15 Sep 2008 09:40

Hmm that trams looks really nice, however there are some problems with my openttd version (i use some cargodest branch but it does the same thing with stable build):

- All the trams have '1920' for introduce years
- They all runs at 69km/h
- All have the same prices and the same lifeyear.

The only thing that change is the reliability and the capacity. Why do i have this bug ?

Thanks,
H.
Attachments
moderntram bug.png
(336.87 KiB) Downloaded 193 times

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 15 Sep 2008 15:40

Have you considered that this might be a 'feature' and not a bug? Unfortunately, this set is not actively developed any more.

MJS
Director
Director
Posts: 539
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 09:31

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by MJS » 16 Sep 2008 16:04

Even though it's not developed, the set is quite complete and playable as it is. That prices are all the same is not a big problem; but the lack of introduction years is a pity, as it gives an unrealistic availability of fast/high-capacity/modern-looking trams early in the game. It would not be too difficult to change that, would it? It wouldn't cost too much time (although I don't have any at the moment) to draw up a list of introduction dates for these trams.

PS FooBar, the link to the metro tracks in your sig is out of order, apparently.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 16 Sep 2008 17:12

MJS wrote:It would not be too difficult to change that, would it?
No, changing the stats of a vehicle isn't too much of a problem. Figuring out what those stats should be is a bigger problem.


@Metrotracks:
DJ Nekkid's server seems to be offline...

User avatar
trainboy2004
Director
Director
Posts: 572
Joined: 10 Aug 2005 10:18
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by trainboy2004 » 16 Sep 2008 17:13

FooBar wrote:Figuring out what those stats should be is a bigger problem.
Statshunter present. :mrgreen:

dbkblk
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 154
Joined: 29 Mar 2008 18:38

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by dbkblk » 16 Sep 2008 17:24

Hmm nice, so will you try to update this wonderful set with real stats ? :) youpiii

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 16 Sep 2008 18:53

As soon as the stats are done, I'm willing to do the rest of the coding, unless karlneil shows up again and likes to do it himself :wink:

User avatar
trainboy2004
Director
Director
Posts: 572
Joined: 10 Aug 2005 10:18
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by trainboy2004 » 16 Sep 2008 21:17

Which trams are or will be included in this set. Could someone make a list, so I can start searching. :)

Atm I have this list:

Trams
  • Alstom Citadis
    Ansaldobreda Sirio
    Bombardier K4500
    Bombardier Variobahn
    Duewag GT 8-100
    Siemens R33
    Siemens Combino
    Volkswagen CarGo
    More?
Btw. Aren't some of these trams included in the German RV set? If so, we can burrow stats from there. :wink:

Stathunting catagory's
  • - Speed
    - Capacity
    - Weight
    - Power, [kW]?
    - Introduction year
    - Vehicle life
    - Model life
    - Purchase cost
    - Running cost

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 17 Sep 2008 06:33

trainboy2004 wrote:Which trams are or will be included in this set.
Wouldn't opening the set in the game tell you so? I'm at the office now, so I have little time to figure that out myself right now...

User avatar
trainboy2004
Director
Director
Posts: 572
Joined: 10 Aug 2005 10:18
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by trainboy2004 » 17 Sep 2008 09:18

Well there are more trams in this topic (K4000 and K5000), which hasn't been coded and included in the grf.

But for the trams which are included in the grf. Here are the stats:

Alstom Citadis
- Speed: 70 km/h
- Capacity: 145 pax
- Power: 720 kW Regiocitadis
- Accel: 1.1 m/s^2 Regiocitadis
- Weight: 58 ton Regiocitadis
- Introduction year: 1999

Ansaldobreda Sirio
- Speed: 70 km/h
- Capacity: 197 pax
- Power: 420 kW
- Weight: 41 ton
- Accel: 1.1 m/s^2
- Introduction year: 2002

Bombardier K4500
- Speed: 80 km/h
- Capacity: 183 pax
- Power: 480 kW
- Weight: 38 ton
- Introduction year: 2005

Bombardier Variobahn
- Speed: 70 km/h
- Capacity: 200 pax
- Power: 360 kW
- Weight: 36 ton
- Introduction year: 1998

Duewag GT 8-100
- Speed: 95 km/h
- Capacity: 95 seats
- Power: 560 kW
- Accel: 0.85 m/s^2
- Weight: 58.6 ton
- Introduction year: 1991

Siemens R3.3
- Speed: 70 km/h
- Capacity: 218 pax
- Power: 480 kW
- Weight: 40.8 ton
- Introduction year: 1999

Siemens Combino
This tram is a fictional configuration, a Combino Supra divided by 2. Advise: use the stats of the Amsterdam Combino in your set.

Volkswagen CarGo
Use these stats: http://uwe.s2000.ws/ttdx/germanrv/trams ... hp?lang=en

Have fun :D

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 18 Sep 2008 08:00

You're a beast. When I do not look for a few hours, you've gathered everything I need!

Expect a new version in the next few days.

User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by DJ Nekkid » 18 Sep 2008 13:09

FooBar wrote:@Metrotracks:
DJ Nekkid's server seems to be offline...
now its up again, isnt it?
Member of the
ImageImage


User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by FooBar » 19 Sep 2008 21:12

I updated the set with the new stats. It ain't pretty code-wise (because I just appended the new stats to the file), but it does the trick.

If you want to introduce all vehicles in 1920, you'll have to set the parameter to the value of 1. Otherwise, vehicles will be introduced somewhere around the year 2000 (different dates per vehicle).

This set could be even more improved by adding refit options and reviewing costs and such, but unfortunately I'm too busy to do that any time soon.

Well, here you go :P
Attachments
motraset_r3.1.grf
(60.9 KiB) Downloaded 302 times

User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by DJ Nekkid » 20 Sep 2008 00:39

as stated in the 2cc thread, ive ordred a raid-card and 2x1TB diska, so if you, or anyone, needs some (o)ttd(p) related webspace i'll have some availabile soon(tm). As my wife (omfg, im old!!(27)) wanted a new webcam, as the base of the old one got ... destroyed ... i got an unconfirmed order of the 27th this month, so somewhere after we turn october...
Member of the
ImageImage

User avatar
Doclouis
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 81
Joined: 26 May 2003 18:51
Location: Uelzen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by Doclouis » 09 Dec 2008 21:21

I just gave the aRV / Trams another try. Again, building them, they come up as single unit vehicles. How do I get them articulated? Holding some special key (like ctrl)? Or do I have to set parameters to the grf-file when starting up the patch?

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11909
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Modern Tram Set [R3]

Post by Ameecher » 09 Dec 2008 23:24

Turn on the articulated vehicles switch in ttdpatch.cfg
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests