Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:02 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 193 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 610 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 973
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten
As requested in the patchpack thread, here's a build with latest (r12436) version of trafficlight patch for win32. The trafficlight.grf is NOT inlcuded, so you need to grab that from 1st post in this thread. Enjoy.

Attachment:

_________________
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:54 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:05 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Germany
Thank you again Trond!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
v1 released!

Check the first post for changelog and so on...

Have fun! :)


Attachments:
File comment: trafficlights v1 for r12628
trafficlights_v1_r12628.diff [35.89 KiB]
Downloaded 198 times

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:31 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:30 am
Posts: 8
Can we get this patch updated to the latest trunk please?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
Sure, here it is.


Attachments:
File comment: traffic lights v1 for r12733
trafficlights_v1_r12733.diff [35.95 KiB]
Downloaded 217 times

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:30 am
Posts: 8
My thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:58 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Switzerland
Roujin wrote:
Traffic Lights v1 released! (r12628)

Changelog for v1:
Feature:
- Owner check. Now, you aren't allowed to build or remove traffic lights on opponents' or towns' roads any more.


Shouldn't it be possible to have that switchable like roadstops in town owned roads?

Edit: Maybe, you could use the same switch, so you don't spam the patch setting window. ;-)
(rename to something like "Allow company to build on town owned roads.")

Greets
Ammler

_________________
Image
Town Names: Image Portuguese Image Belarusian Image French Image Swiss · Image Temperate Lumber Mill
Still work in progress: OpenGFX or/and OpenSFX - Please help!


Last edited by Ammler on Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:53 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Quote:
Shouldn't it be possible to have that switchable like roadstops in town owned roads?


I was going to suggest that too...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:00 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:25 pm
Posts: 302
Location: Florida
OK help me out. What do i do with the .diff file? I'd love to use working traffic signals as part of my setup...

I'm using OTTD under Win98 (emulation), if that matters..


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 973
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten
Check the thread for BOTTD, i think that BOTTD works under win98 but I'm not certain... viewtopic.php?f=33&t=31823

_________________
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:41 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:25 pm
Posts: 302
Location: Florida
Are you crazy??!! :o I just looked at that thread, and at the very last post they're STILL having problems. THAT's something i don't wanna deal with.....


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:33 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 973
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten
:lol: works fine for me. Set up BOTTD (check wiki) and load patch, compile, copy files and play... Works like a charm. On the last page it's probably not the same persons having problems as on page 1 :D

_________________
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:43 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Switzerland
SirXavius wrote:
I'm using OTTD under Win98 (emulation),


SirXavius wrote:
Are you crazy??!! :o


Who is crazy? :P

Greets
Ammler

P.S.: OTTD supports many platforms, you don't need a emulator or what OS do you natively use?

_________________
Image
Town Names: Image Portuguese Image Belarusian Image French Image Swiss · Image Temperate Lumber Mill
Still work in progress: OpenGFX or/and OpenSFX - Please help!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 4:34 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:25 pm
Posts: 302
Location: Florida
I DESPISE Mac OSX to depths you can't imagine. It didnt take long after first using it, before i realized how un-Mac it is, but seriously don't get me started -- i'll have a coronary.

I use Mac OS 9.2.2 primarily. I access Windows 98SE via Virtual PC 3.0, and from there i have access to many great (and not so great) applications, including OTTD (i forgot how i found you guys). The only downside is that emulation saps 2/3 of my processor speed, which means i'm running Win98 at 133 mHz!
The reason, if you're wondering, why i don't just go get an old used Windows machine is that for music and art production, not even the newest Windows versions can match the simplicity, intuiveness, and professionability of the Mac apps for these kinds of work. And since i have a relatively stable setup with VPC 3.0 with Windows apps that don't need the latest DirectX (i think i can use up to DirectX 7), i'm happy this far behind the technology curve...

You know what they say: the less you want, the less you're disappointed...:wink:


BTW, as far as "compiling" the new .diff file, i'll wait til its in an official release. I do not want to get into dismantling and "remantling" the gamecode. I'll let you suckers -- uh, testers, work out the kinks and prepare it for one of the releases...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
Ammler wrote:
Shouldn't it be possible to have that switchable like roadstops in town owned roads?

Edit: Maybe, you could use the same switch, so you don't spam the patch setting window. ;-)
(rename to something like "Allow company to build on town owned roads.")

Greets
Ammler


I thought about that for some time and came to the conclusion that if it were allowed for everyone to remove town owned traffic lights, it wouldn't really make sense. Because they would just remove them if they were obstructed by them.
I'm thinking right now of an example multiplayer game, where player 1 funded road construction in order to obstruct player 2's bus lines (also with the traffic lights erected during road construction).

Then again, there are players who want to play games for the sake of eyecandyness, and for them it would be nice to have full control. So I guess I'll make a patch option for it to make you happy ;) But It'll be a seperate one, because I can imagine someone wanting to allow bus stops on town roads but not allow messing with the towns' traffic lights.


SirXavius: Well it's fine if you don't want to compile something yourself and wait until this is in the official build (if it ever will be, that is), but please do not call others "suckers". Even if you meant it as a joke, it's still not nice ;)

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:53 pm
Posts: 150
Thanx for this nice patch Roujin, I really like it, nice to see those busy city center now :mrgreen:


May I suggest adding some pathfinding penalities for traffic lights ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
Gedemon wrote:
Thanx for this nice patch Roujin, I really like it, nice to see those busy city center now :mrgreen:


May I suggest adding some pathfinding penalities for traffic lights ?



Hmm interesting request. I've thought about that long time ago but forgot about it. Maybe now it is the right time for me to dig a little deeper and try to do this.

I've now made the requested patch switch for building and removing TLs on town roads. But I'll look if I can do what Gedemon requested first before making a new release..


edit: by the way, nice to have some answers here from people who like this patch :) it's motivating me ;)

edit²: Gedemon, would you like the penalty to be additional to the crossing penalty, or independant from it? If it is independant, you could even set it lower than the crossing penalty to encourage roadvehicles to use traffic lighted crossings (despite that being not really useful). Or should I do it additional, meaning total penalty = crossing penalty + trafficlight penalty?

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:43 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:53 pm
Posts: 150
Roujin wrote:
edit²: Gedemon, would you like the penalty to be additional to the crossing penalty, or independant from it? If it is independant, you could even set it lower than the crossing penalty to encourage roadvehicles to use traffic lighted crossings (despite that being not really useful). Or should I do it additional, meaning total penalty = crossing penalty + trafficlight penalty?


well, I don't know how the penalty system works :?

will it be a "hidden" value in openttd.cfg, or a patch gui option ? if you can use negative value, let's do it additional...

else made it independant, you'll never know, it may prove finaly usefull if... errr... someone implement road crash at junction for exemple :O

anyway, it's your patch, do it as you feel better :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
Okay, I've confused some stuff.. with crossing, they meant level crossing (as in road x rail). So there isn't any penalty for junctions. That means the traffic light penalty is extra, and since you can't make it negative, you cannot encourage vehicles to use them. But, meh. Who would want that, anyways? :P

Sooo I've made some awesome changes (shameless plug :P) and now present you v2.

Please be sure to check the changelog in the first post, to learn about the new features I added.


Attachments:
File comment: traffic lights v2 for r12812
trafficlights_v2_r12812.diff [43.31 KiB]
Downloaded 180 times

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:07 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 153
SirXavius wrote:
...
BTW, as far as "compiling" the new .diff file, i'll wait til its in an official release. I do not want to get into dismantling and "remantling" the gamecode...


OR can try to read a bit more, especially the first post in that page where you can download already compiled executable including the patch.

_________________
OpenTTD: Latest Nightly | OpenTTD Manual | Advanced Guides
Downloads: GRF Crawler (NewGRFs) | OpenTTDCoop GRF Package | Original trains
Scenarios: Jim Powers


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 193 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 610 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.