Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:12 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
I am currently lookin' for some excited users who like to help!!
Please read:http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=36407&p=751648#p751648


Heya OTTD Addictants :D,

I have started building an OTTD scenario of the world!! Heightmap is complete and also a little bit has been build, but not everything is correct, and thats why I need your help!! Cause I really do not know how China Looks like etc. I would like to get helped by people from all over the world. The Idea is simple, i will update my first post as much as possible to give you all the latest news.

A more detailed description of the scenario:
The title is quite simple, and based on the "real name", The world. The Idea is to build a OTTD map, that looks just like the world nowadays. All continents will be present, full with towns, real industies (as much as possible), and ofcourse some minor details. If the scenario is finished I will upload it in all the 4 avaible settings: Hard, Medium, Easy & Costum (very easy), so every can play on the map. Of course the map can be used by the OTTD team, and everyone who likes to use it. All the people who put some effort in it will be mentioned, by meaning of an sign somewhere on the map where nobody looks ^^ :P. Antartica is off-limits, 'cos there is really nothing there.

Edits:
27-02-08 Scenario Sent to Chrill for putting Scandinavia in
27-02-08 Scenario Received from Chrill Scandinavia is in
28-02-08 Scenario Sent to 0004Tom for putting Africa in
28-02-08 Scenario Received from 0004Tom Africa is in
07-03-08 Released V0.1 download can be found below
08-03-08 Released V0.2 download can be found below
08-03-08 Scenario Sent to Fugas for putting Russia & Asia in
11-03-08 Scenario received from Fugas Russia & Asia are in
11-03-08 Released V0.3 download can be found below

Changelog
V0.1
Fix in landscape South America #351
Fix in landscape East-Europe Caspian Sea #41.579
Fix in capital name of Sri Lanka #79
All countries have been filled $¤47
V0.2
added some industry like in real world (e.g. steel in Scandinavia, some raw industry in Asia)
deleted town Venice and add Vienna and Bratislava (capitals)
expanded some towns all the world
corrected positions of some towns in Asia
V0.3
Planes fly at 1/4 Speed
Pathfinder Ships set to Origional (Thx to Draakon)
Realistic Town Sizes
V0.4


Attachments:
File comment: Screenshot of Europe
Europe Screenshot.png
Europe Screenshot.png [ 549.24 KiB | Viewed 10986 times ]
File comment: Screenshot of a small part of the map
Map Screenshot.png
Map Screenshot.png [ 332.29 KiB | Viewed 10968 times ]
File comment: World Scenario V0.3. All inclusive; Hard, Easy, Very Easy. Play the one you like the most!!
World V0.3.zip [1.34 MiB]
Downloaded 1624 times


Last edited by Luukland on Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:59 pm, edited 27 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:20 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:08 pm
Posts: 159
Afraid I can't help really, but I'm gonna be first to say it looks superb, I'm definitely gonna play this when it's released!

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15206
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
I'll give you Scandinavia? (PM me?)

_________________
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:08 pm
Posts: 1
Amazing one, this is.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Well, just one point.. Put Tallinn as near of northern coast as possible ;)

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
Tallinn?? :P What is Tallinn, a small village?? :P

I hope to bring out the first version this weekend, since I have enough time tomorrow, and saturday to work on the project :)

Thx everyone for your support!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:41 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15206
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Lordazamath, Tallinn IS at the North coast..

_________________
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Ok.. downloadedthe scn and saw that yes, you can't move it more northern :P...
BTW, what is wrong with Caspian Sea?

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:11 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
lordazamath wrote:
Ok.. downloadedthe scn and saw that yes, you can't move it more northern :P...
BTW, what is wrong with Caspian Sea?


Weel that one is quite strange, it seems like the heightmap didn't provide to right color. But since the whole east European -> Asian side has to be made, i will fix that today. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 624
Location: England
I feel it's only fair to return the favour of a comment Luukland. This looks amazing! Rather more difficult and impressive than my little bit of scenario changing. :oops:

_________________
The Revamped West Country


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
Pingaware wrote:
I feel it's only fair to return the favour of a comment Luukland. This looks amazing! Rather more difficult and impressive than my little bit of scenario changing. :oops:


Thank you :) I have spend some time in this project, and of course, I hope it will get in the standard Transport Tycoon Scenario Packs :). But just being used by a few people should be also ok for now :P


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13749
some tips:
- arctic should be removed, then you can make other continents more "tall", now they are more wide than in reality, so it will be good for them
- using different tileset maybe desert one plus snow graphic file for higher areas
- positioning of industries is random, would be good to make it more real

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
shadow, In what way it's possible to have all desert, normal and snow on the same map?
I could suggest.. no I wouldn't :P

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
Thx for the feedback Shadow, let me explain:

- If you can tell me how to make snow-tiles, desert tiles, grass tiles all in 1 game, please tell me.
- Artic, hmmm, yeah I think i will just delete Antarctica, they are indeed far to wide
- Industries aint placed random. They are where they need to be in the real world. If you spot a sawmill were it doesn't belong please tell me. I will alter it :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:42 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 247
Location: Australia
loading game failed?

_________________
Nintendo DS OpenTTD ---- Latest YAPP Patch ---- OpenTTD Wiki ---- Image ---- Transport Tycoon PSX
Australia Scenario V1.0 ---- Luukland's Tasmania Scenario ---- Italy Scenario 0.35 --- Build A Town Patch


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
leno4 wrote:
loading game failed?


Yeah, This scenario has been made with version 0.6.0beta-4

So if you want to load the scenario you should have version beta 4 or beta 5


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:09 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 247
Location: Australia
thanks heaps!! superb scenario

_________________
Nintendo DS OpenTTD ---- Latest YAPP Patch ---- OpenTTD Wiki ---- Image ---- Transport Tycoon PSX
Australia Scenario V1.0 ---- Luukland's Tasmania Scenario ---- Italy Scenario 0.35 --- Build A Town Patch


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:58 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 98
Location: Paris, France
And again a new version; V0.3 Still beta though. But thx to Furgas some fixes have been made. So please even if you are not very good, you can help!! Mail me at luukland@gmail!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Finland
I just wanted to say that you've all done a good job to get this project started!

I don't yet know how I could contribute (I could have done scandinavia but it's already done) but when I do, I'll let you know.

I'm looking forward to seeing this scenario finished!

_________________
A map of Cuba for OpenTTD: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=37138
Sunday coast, a friendly map: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=52965


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:01 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Finland
What about town sizes? Have you decided any clear method of sizing the towns? We could make a somewhat balanced table of city populations. Like this:

Real-life population => OpenTTD population

>10,000,000 => 1,500-2,000
5,000,000-10,000,000 => 1,200-1,500
2,000,000-5,000,000 => 1,000-1,200
1,000,000-2,000,000 => 500-1,000
500,000-1,000,000 => 200-500
<500,000 => 50-200

I just made these numbers up, but I guess you all got my point. I haven't played enough OpenTTD to justify any numbers, but hopefully someone can give some good advice. If we get a good system, then I can change the sizes of the cities.

_________________
A map of Cuba for OpenTTD: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=37138
Sunday coast, a friendly map: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=52965


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.