My first .GRF

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

My first .GRF

Post by White Rabbit »

It's not much, and it doesn't even have its own graphics, but it's a start (to what? Don't ask...I'm sure NFO coding has some sort of link with trichotillomania). In fact, I only put in the necessary code to make it a real GRF. The action0 line was written by Pikkabird (but he gave me the incorrect number of bytes, so I had to figure out what went wrong all by myself :(

Code: Select all

1 * 1    00 0A 03 01 18 08 18 09 18 1A 41 00 00 00
The * 1 should clearly be * 14).

You're probably wondering what this GRF does. Well, it makes Sub-Tropical fields copy the behaviour of their Temperate and Sub-Arctic friends, namely, regenerate. Before this GRF, when Sub-Tropical fields were dynamited, they would disappear forever. No more! I hope this can contribute to your TTDP experience, so go download it!

I've tested it in OTTD. It doesn't work in 0.5.2 where it's needed, and it's redundant in the nightlies, where fields already regenerate.
Attachments
subtropicfield.grf
(105 Bytes) Downloaded 1360 times
Image
User avatar
Carlo Ghega
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 92
Joined: 07 Jan 2007 19:37
Location: Vienna

Re: My first .GRF

Post by Carlo Ghega »

Very nice!

Thx
E pur si muove!
User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Re: My first .GRF

Post by m3henry »

here is something else I think that should be fixed.
when you buy land you get brown dirt underneath:
a small grf would make this look better by changing flat land to sprite 3981 or 4000 and the others repectively
and mabey use the left sprite below rather than the right one.
Attachments
4790.png
4790.png (577 Bytes) Viewed 8197 times
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5602
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon

Re: My first .GRF

Post by PikkaBird »

m3henry wrote:here is something else I think that should be fixed.
when you buy land you get brown dirt underneath:
Haven't you suggested this before?

You can't replace the brown dirt for purchased land without replacing the brown dirt everywhere else too.
User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Re: My first .GRF

Post by m3henry »

surely that can be changed so a different sprite is called?
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5602
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon

Re: My first .GRF

Post by PikkaBird »

m3henry wrote:surely that can be changed so a different sprite is called?
Yes, but not in a grf. You'd have to write a patch.
DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: My first .GRF

Post by DaleStan »

I'm sure it can, m3henry. Go for it.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Re: My first .GRF

Post by m3henry »

time to learn nfo :?
will GRFmaker help me achive this?
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: My first .GRF

Post by DaleStan »

I seriously doubt GRFMaker will help. And, although NFO will necessary for actually loading the new sprite, the required code will probably be pretty simple, and that's probably one of the last things you need to do. You'll have to learn i386 assembly (and the TTDPatch dialect thereof) first.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17243
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: North London

Re: My first .GRF

Post by Dave »

DaleStan wrote:I seriously doubt GRFMaker will help. And, although NFO will necessary for actually loading the new sprite, the required code will probably be pretty simple, and that's probably one of the last things you need to do. You'll have to learn i386 assembly (and the TTDPatch dialect thereof) first.
Which basically means... No, you can't.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...
User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Re: My first .GRF

Post by m3henry »

this is me right now. :arrow: ?( i386 is mentioned once in the ttdpatch wiki, and it's to do with wine :? so i haven't a clue where to start.
p.s. dave, I got the message without the dummy guide
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: My first .GRF

Post by DaleStan »

i386, IA-32 and x86-32 are all names for the processor architecture and/or instruction set first introduced with the Intel 80386, and extended, repeatedly, with the 80486, Pentiums, and various later Intel, AMD, and Cyrix processors. I say specifically "i386 assembly language", and not "x86 assembly language" (which would probably provide better results) because TTDPatch uses only those instructions supported by the Intel 80386.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Re: My first .GRF

Post by m3henry »

I'm assuming this has something to do with action A, or would that replace all dirt-sprites with grass?

EDIT: now I know that you were talking about patching, I'm even more confused
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: My first .GRF

Post by PaulC »

(back on topic...)

A nice little grf! :) However, there are a couple of things I've noticed:

1. When the grf is active in temperate or arctic, you get a second farm type which produces only grain.

2. In tropic, this grf allows farms to be built in the desert (usually they can't) where any fields they generate are immediately destroyed. Is this intentional?
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Amazon [Bot] and 33 guests