Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 1:00 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
I read in the Japanese wiki that FT can have issues with being installed in a path containing spaces. Could you try moving the FT directory away from the desktop and put it directly under C:\ and try again?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 2:07 pm
Posts: 322
And make sure you have at least .NET v2 installed.

_________________
Open source tycoon games
--
Free Gamer - open source and Free Software games
FreeGameDev forums - open source game development community


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 11:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
Unfortunately moving it to C:\FreeTrain did not helped

got all updates: .NET Framework from 1.1, thgrough 2.0 to .NET Framework 3.0

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 1:38 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
Why not make a new section on this forum? This thread doesn't fit here.
Hope OpenTTD artists will not mind using their artwork. Current artwork is awfull: reminds 16 color 'ancient' games.
What will be the size of tiles? 64, 128, 256 or something else, because current is only suitable for 320x240 displays :lol:

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 3:24 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
SHADOW-XIII wrote:
Unfortunately moving it to C:\FreeTrain did not helped

got all updates: .NET Framework from 1.1, thgrough 2.0 to .NET Framework 3.0


What if you remove the 'jp.co.tripod.chiname.financial.stockmarket' plugin from the plugins folder?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 3:44 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
athanasios wrote:
Why not make a new section on this forum? This thread doesn't fit here.
Hope OpenTTD artists will not mind using their artwork. Current artwork is awfull: reminds 16 color 'ancient' games.
What will be the size of tiles? 64, 128, 256 or something else, because current is only suitable for 320x240 displays :lol:


The smaller tilesize gives better overview. And calling the graphics "awful" is an overstatement. They mightn't be as detailed as TTD's, but have a different charm. Have you looked at some of the recent work by the Japanese FT community? Some examples:

Image
Sapporo Station

Image
Airport terminal

Image
Condos

Image
Shinjuku Mitsui Building


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 11:19 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 2:07 pm
Posts: 322
Must say I agree with Daniel. The graphics are different to TTD, but have their own style. You end up with detailed varied cityscapes in FreeTrain that are not even close to possible in TTD, with it's rather limited set of buildings and construction restraints.

_________________
Open source tycoon games
--
Free Gamer - open source and Free Software games
FreeGameDev forums - open source game development community


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 12:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Larger tiles is silly in my oppinion. If anything tile size should be smaller than TTD, yet graphics retain the same scale as TTD.

I'm pondering porting much of the Japanset for TTD to Freetrain based allong that scheme given the time.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 2:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
One of the defining aspects of FreeTrain IMHO is its lack of restraints. There are indeed some economical factors, but they are never limiting. The main focus of the game is to build a nice-looking little world where your trains can zoom around, sort of like a digital model railway. It's in many ways the quintessential sandbox game.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 3:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
Station and Terminal are OK. Others don't appeal to me. You may say about its style ... Sorry matter of personal taste. (Neither do I like original Simutrans graphics. 128 are OK.) I think their scale that is smaller than TTD causes the problem (if my eyes are correct?) I believe graphics are very small for our days. Back then they were OK.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 6:21 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
SHADOW-XIII: Are you trying to run FT as admin or as guest/unprivileged user? It seems FT won't work unless you have admin privileges on the system. We're currently working on this issue.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 7:47 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:31 pm
Posts: 227
Location: Lugano, Switzerland
Aegir wrote:
I'm pondering porting much of the Japanset for TTD to Freetrain based allong that scheme given the time.


Well... Since it's a Japanese game, there are already Japanese trains aplenty. I'm not saying they could be improved:they are good but there's always room for that. Surely it's nothing as hard as any TTDP grf trainset :)

And regarding scale, it's really a matter of taste. You can't surely pretend that neither TTDP nor FreeTrain are "realistic" scale wise, but then, we never really cared, did we? :)

That's a 40 stories high-rise, and a 5 train consist.
Image

Same thing in TTDP
Image

Judge yourself. I like both.

_________________
"I'm an engineer!"
http://www.cmdkewin.net/ (Out of Order)

Eve: Since Beta Phase 2
Civilizazion Fan: Seems like forever...
SimCity Fan: SC 2000 is still the best
TT Fan: Since 1995
Switzerland: Since 1291


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:21 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1503
I think I prefer FreeTrain's :-)

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 5:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
himasaram wrote:
SHADOW-XIII: Are you trying to run FT as admin or as guest/unprivileged user? It seems FT won't work unless you have admin privileges on the system. We're currently working on this issue.
the one I tested was admin account but if it's matters: system langugae is Polish

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 7:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
SHADOW-XIII wrote:
himasaram wrote:
SHADOW-XIII: Are you trying to run FT as admin or as guest/unprivileged user? It seems FT won't work unless you have admin privileges on the system. We're currently working on this issue.
the one I tested was admin account but if it's matters: system langugae is Polish


Will the game start if you simply delete the stockmarket plugin?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
hopefully I'll test it this weekend and let you know

EDIT: it works - so it was stockmarket plugin problem

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:43 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
Glad to hear you got it running in the end, SHADOW!

It was suggested on the FreeTrain dev mailing list that your copy of the plugin might somehow have gotten corrupted. Could you try downloading the package again and replace the failing stockmarket plugin with a fresh copy?

BTW, bug reports are in the future preferably reported in our own bug report forum. Reports in this off-topic forum might get lost in all the noise!

_________________
I'm a...
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 3:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
Bumping this thread to announce a new FreeTrain release! The changes include:

* Convert structure plugins to the latest format, which means that they show up in the 'structure type tree' that previously was empty. This makes it much more convenient to construct buildings!
* Merge the two main window toolbars and add an icon for the timer button.
* Fix crashes when using an empty build dialog.
* Other minor fixes...


Download clicky.

_________________
I'm a...

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:48 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 25
Bumping for another release. :)

A serious bug that broke the train trading dialog fixed, along with many tweaks and updates.

Please try it out and let us know what you think!

_________________
I'm a...

Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JanZeleny85 and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.