Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 6:50 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:23 am
Posts: 205
Location: Chicago, Illinois
I am using the standard buses within the game. I've noticed that the Hereford Leopard Bus with a stated top speed of 55 mph displays 51 mph. The Foster Bus with a stated top speed of 70 mph displays only 55 mph. To check for correct speeds, I built a drag strip involving a stretch a road next to a stretch of track. I purchased the Foster Bus and an engine with a stated speed of 70 mph. Both were started from within their respective depot while paused then released. The train pulled ahead while displaying 70 mph while the bus displayed 55 mph and fell behind. Looking over my ttdpatch.cfg file, the only commands I have to alter speeds:

bridgespeedlimits 90 (buses were on open roads)
curves 3333 (buses were on open straight roads)
mountains 3333 (buses were on open level roads)
wagonspeedlimits 40 (for my empty train carriages)

Patch version Beta 4.0.

Any ideas or thoughts? Thanks in advance.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 7:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
Cannot reproduce it. More info?

_________________
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 10:01 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5184
Location: The Moon
He's quite correct; the default busses have a poor power/weight ratio, so with realistic acceleration on they can't achieve top speed.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 10:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
I just tried it and they all reached their top speed within a few tiles.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:55 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:23 am
Posts: 205
Location: Chicago, Illinois
I decided to take my current game and build a double stretch of road way out in the middle of nowhere. On one end, there are two depots with a bus within each - both still in pause mode.. At the other end of my ten square race track, I put a bus station for one bus and an overall goods terminal for the other bus. Both buses are given the directions of heading to the station only. Once there, one bus will enter the bus station, attempt to load, then leave while the other bus just turns around and races back to the depot. So to race them, pause the game, unpause the buses, then unpause the game.

My Foster Bus must have caught a head wind since I saw it reach 56 mph at one point.

Including game and ttdpatch.cfg files.


Attachments:
ttdpatch.cfg [2.32 KiB]
Downloaded 72 times
TRT30.SV1 [345.81 KiB]
Downloaded 80 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.