Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Jezulkim's Station set
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:11 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
If someone remembers, I once drew station sprites for the project generic stations. And now I found them in my sprites folder, and guess what? they got coded :D

Now you can even use my long lost shed!

There are no known bugs in this set.

Comments, questions, praise, etc. are welcome.


Attachments:
File comment: Windows Version
jstatsw.grf [45.27 KiB]
Downloaded 5559 times
File comment: The pink stripes are player colour
ttforums.png
ttforums.png [ 18.15 KiB | Viewed 35896 times ]
File comment: DOS Version
jstatsd.grf [45.27 KiB]
Downloaded 792 times

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.


Last edited by Jezulkim on Wed Apr 26, 2006 1:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:30 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:56 pm
Posts: 412
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands
Way the go! They look good! keep it up Jezulkim!

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:18 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17141
Location: Harringay, North London
Looks awesome my friend.

Take a beverage of your choice from my box.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Great to see these get released! They were never really forgotten, but as I started building up multiple little stations sets out of P:GS, in the end, I just had those sheds floating around without a station class to put them in. I was considering nabbing them for my own stations I was going to draw, but hoorah for procrastination!

Good stuff, Jezulkim.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6345
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Great work 8)

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:19 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 5:24 am
Posts: 237
Location: Australia
They look nice :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Jezulkim wrote:
If someone remembers, I once drew station sprites for the project generic stations. And now I found them in my sprites folder, and guess what? they got coded :D

Now you can even use my long lost shed!

There are no known bugs in this set.

Comments, questions, praise, etc. are welcome.


They look kinda good, but the station building is kinda strange. Firstly, it splits the platform in two seperate parts, secondly, it uses half a tile next to the station...

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5619
Location: Atlantic Ocean
it might be a good idea to make it a 2-track-minimum building, so it won't override any other buildings or anything.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:39 pm
Posts: 1542
Location: Kobe, Japan
Very fine pixel art you got there, Jezulkim!

I like a lot the texture you give to them, using a lot of contrast between dark and bright colors. The roofs in the warehouses are excellent!

I could think of these improvements you can put into it:

> Platforms for passengers should be 2 or 3 pixels in heighth. Think that actual station platforms are usually quite high, so you can enter directly the car without climbing.

> From the passenger platforms, there is one where the upper part of the roof looks the same as the platform floor. Try to avoid it, it looks odd. The other one, in the other hand, looks quite nice :D

> The platforms on each side of the tracks look different because you used different yellow for the dafety line, and the south platform is darker than the north one. I know this might be an effect for the shadow of the roof, but it makes each opposite platform look very different, a uniform texture is reccommended.

> The station building has some more problems... it's hard to do buildings! It seems out of proportion: it looks big compared to the rest of elements. It looks like a small cottage house, but out of proportion. However if the size of the building is correct, you'll have to make it look like it's in the right proportions:

* there is something in the roof... I was sure it was a chimmeny, but now it looks like a panel seen from behind...
If it's a panel, I reccommend you to make it just be seen from front, it's hard to understand... If you still want it seen from behind, you have to make it clearer to see at such a small size: use a color different from the one of the station's walls (that's what makes me think it's a chimmeny)
If it's really a chimmeny, then it's quite big, it gives a sensation that the building is seen from closer than all the rest.
* the windows are too big too. You could use a checkered pattern to make them look as composed of many small parts.
* the heighth from floor to roof is 8, this is too big. Make it 5 or 6.
* the part to the right looks strange, because it's almost in the tracks
* there seems to be no access from the building to the platform.

So the first step seems to be to reduce the building. Once you have done this:
- If it fits inside one platform (1/3 ttd square), you can make it one of the station tiles.
- If it's still bigger, you can make it as Michael Blunk's stations: either be in the central platform between 2 tracks, or be a noon track tile.

Keep trying, I liked this one a lot and want to see more!

_________________
Image Image
Image New game intro


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3679
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
heres the dos version i made and they are great


Attachments:
jstats.grf [44.07 KiB]
Downloaded 427 times

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:21 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
Sanchimaru wrote:
Very fine pixel art you got there, Jezulkim!

Thanks!

Sanchimaru wrote:
> Platforms for passengers should be 2 or 3 pixels in heighth. Think that actual station platforms are usually quite high, so you can enter directly the car without climbing.

Alright, I'll change that.

Sanchimaru wrote:
> From the passenger platforms, there is one where the upper part of the roof looks the same as the platform floor. Try to avoid it, it looks odd. The other one, in the other hand, looks quite nice :D

Hmm, I don't think I'll change that, because it looks good already.

Sanchimaru wrote:
> The platforms on each side of the tracks look different because you used different yellow for the dafety line, and the south platform is darker than the north one. I know this might be an effect for the shadow of the roof, but it makes each opposite platform look very different, a uniform texture is reccommended.

I noticed that too, but I wasn't sure should I change it. I'll do it now

Sanchimaru wrote:
* there is something in the roof... I was sure it was a chimmeny, but now it looks like a panel seen from behind...

Yes, it's a chimney. I'll make it smaller
Sanchimaru wrote:
* the windows are too big too. You could use a checkered pattern to make them look as composed of many small parts.
* the heighth from floor to roof is 8, this is too big. Make it 5 or 6.
* the part to the right looks strange, because it's almost in the tracks
* there seems to be no access from the building to the platform.

* Too big? They are 4x2 pixels.
* Hmhm, yeah it's too big I'll change the height to 6 pixels
* I'll make it a non track tile
* Non track tile station building will fix it

And thanks to everyone who posted here.

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:10 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
Sorry, a double post :x

But, because I wasted your time to the reading of this double post, I have a little surprise (see the attachments :) ).

EDIT: and robotboy, could you make a dos version of this version?


Attachments:
jstats.grf [45.27 KiB]
Downloaded 554 times
File comment: doyoulikethis?
doyoulikethis.png
doyoulikethis.png [ 38.65 KiB | Viewed 35635 times ]

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13177
Location: The Netherlands
Can you draw a replacement for the road vehicle depot with the metal plate roof you used on the station sheds? It looks very well textured!

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:45 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
Sure, that's not hard.

Do you mean only roof replacement or do I replace the brick walls too?

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 1:22 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3679
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Jezulkim wrote:
Sorry, a double post :x

But, because I wasted your time to the reading of this double post, I have a little surprise (see the attachments :) ).

EDIT: and robotboy, could you make a dos version of this version?

here you go, i use while's converter


Attachments:
jstats.grf [44.1 KiB]
Downloaded 496 times

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
That's a nice station set, and I'm glad to see it! It almost looks British.

_________________
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:39 pm
Posts: 1542
Location: Kobe, Japan
Nice! You did a great job on that station building! :] Now it has the right proportions.

Now that its size is good, it can fit in central platforms. You can make it fit in a 2*1 track tile formation and have it appearing in the platform between 2 tracks.

_________________
Image Image
Image New game intro


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13177
Location: The Netherlands
Jezulkim wrote:
Sure, that's not hard.

Do you mean only roof replacement or do I replace the brick walls too?

Entire replacement, I always found the original one awful. I want to add it to a future release of the Combined Roadset if that's allright with you.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 12:09 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3679
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
that conversion gave me strange results, i got blobs of pink around places, and i didnt get the pax building, then i redownloaded and reconverted and i got roofs with water animation on them i also didnt get the pax building. if you want i can post a screenie

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 1:24 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
That's a strange problem, I don't know what could be the problem.

Hyronymus: Here's your new depot sprites & nfo. They are not coded because I couldn't get the correct xrel and yrel. And of course you can add it, just mention me in the readme/grf description text.


Attachments:
mtldep.zip [5.05 KiB]
Downloaded 482 times

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.