Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 836 posts ]  Go to page Previous 120 21 22 23 2442 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 14
:D Hey gamerz,

Thx to all developers!!!! had to get that out.. i've been playing ttd since the dos version...played till windows went to 2000 version.. only recently i discouverd that my all time favorite game is patched and upgraded and that there is such a large tt community HI ALL!!

I felt creative and this is my version of the Europe map designed for the multyplayer games not to big but veverybody has a place to enjoy...

have fun..
edit what and where you want :wink:


Attachments:
File comment: OTTD World(Europe)
TTD World(Europe).scn [265.35 KiB]
Downloaded 1118 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 12:57 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
lol mega doesnt it feel weird that you find out that after playing ttd the boring way theres a patched version :lol: LOL with everything you said oo that needs changing :PPPP :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:52 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:16 am
Posts: 1
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
@topdog: I like your Europe map, it's quite accurate, but you used german names for some towns. (Rom is Rome for example). But in my opinion England is too far from Europe. But apart from these small things it's an great map (and my first 2048x2048 map).

Maybe i'll make a nice Dutch map someday :) (or at least try to).


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:22 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 14
Jibb01 wrote:
lol mega doesnt it feel weird that you find out that after playing ttd the boring way theres a patched version :lol: LOL with everything you said oo that needs changing :PPPP :D



Well i managed to build me sum good realistic map's where the comp's AI had no change screwing me up i just missed some good competition

:wink:


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 38
MeusH wrote:
0beron (Archipelogo map): I think some more cactoo scattered on the desert would be better


I tried this, but after a while they die off and thin back down, a bit like clearing patches in the rainforest doesn't work cos they grow back too fast.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 6:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
Okay 0beron, shall I mark your map as finished?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:24 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:53 pm
Posts: 150
One 1024x1024 hand-made map with montains, rivers, big flat plains... and long run needed between primary and secondary industries. better start with coal run, as there are power station near any medium town.


Attachments:
File comment: and the scenario here.
Ucontinent_final.scn [641.71 KiB]
Downloaded 540 times
File comment: zoom on a river...
river.png [247.33 KiB]
Downloaded 634 times
File comment: the map...
map1.png [129.02 KiB]
Downloaded 938 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Hong Kong
Gedemon, the overview map looks great but aren't there too many roads though? It seems every town is already connected. It would possibly be better to only connect a few clutches together, and leave them seperated.

_________________
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:00 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Jarrow, UK
No, existing road infrastructure is good. That's the only real advantage road vehicles have!

_________________
PGP fingerprint: E66A 9D58 AA10 E967 41A6 474E E41D 10AE 082C F3ED


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 2:26 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:53 pm
Posts: 150
It seems more realistic to me with road already build in 1925 (forgot to mention that : you should use newgrf or change date before playing ;) ).

And when playing solo with IA, having roads connecting every area is a good way to prevent the IA to buid is own spaghettis.

Last, as said by Brianetta, it's the real advantage of road transport vs train : using already build structures.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
I very like the layout and the idea. River, islands, rural areas :)

However, I can easily see the raise land/ lower land/ level land tool usage.

Hmm... maybye a tool's "brushes" patch after 0.4.5?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
MeusH wrote:
I very like the layout and the idea. River, islands, rural areas :)

However, I can easily see the raise land/ lower land/ level land tool usage.

Hmm... maybye a tool's "brushes" patch after 0.4.5?

Tool brushes in development with my rework of the Scenario Generator - to be issued as a patch initially, but I intend to get it into v0.5.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
That's some good news :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Denmark.scn
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Denmark
Hey everyone.

A version of my Denmark scenario. Just shoot, if any suggestions.

Please notice:
No iron ore/steel mills because none in Denmark.
Various cities with 0 (zero) habitants - only to name specific, large, significant industry. How should this otherwise be done?

Any corrections/suggestions are welcome.

/Thor


Attachments:
File comment: 2048*2048 SCN!
Danmark 0.9.1.scn [2.28 MiB]
Downloaded 487 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
Turn on "allow multiple industries of the same type per town" and "allow similiar industries to be built close to eachother" in the patches window


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:44 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Denmark
MeusH wrote:
Turn on "allow multiple industries of the same type per town" and "allow similiar industries to be built close to eachother" in the patches window


Yes - got that - and I'm using it. But I would like to name some big farms and forests with real names - which are NOT town names.

/Thor


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
Naming industries is currently impossible.


IMPORTANT NOTE TO ALL SCENARIO DEVELOPERS

I'm sorry to announce OTTD developers let me pick only ten scenarios to be included with the game package.

It's a very difficult choice to me because of quality of your work and effort you had put into the scenarios.
It is impossible to pick "ten best scenarios" without unfair selection.
I won't look at the wiki, so I won't remember who made what map. I don't remember it at all. I will just try to guide myself with the map quality and gameplay factors.

Hopefully for some scenario developers, I will choose maps of different sizes and climates.

It will be possible, however, to download other scenarios from OTTD website.

Quote:
<Darkvater>pick out the 10 best scenarios. Make it a healthy mix of small/big maps
<Meush> why only 10?
<Darkvater>because we don't want a too big download
<Meush> what's with rest of scenarios?
<Darkvater>additional download on website


Best regards,
Amadeus W


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:50 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 9:32 am
Posts: 696
Location: Othala
If the rest of the scenarious will be on the OTTD official page I don't see what is the difference.

MeusH, you can help yourself (maybe!) if you make a pool so the community guides you in the choise :D.

_________________
OTTDCoop NewGRF Pack|Different sets of GRFs for TTDPatch (some of them work in OTTD) - 1|- 2|GRF sets for OTTD|OTTD nightly
Image
I hooked up my accelerator to my brake lights. I hit the gas, people behind me stop, and I'm gone.
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car. Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you take the wall with you. Spoilers and bodykits are how much of the wall you take with you. Rollcages and windownets are how much of a mess you leave on the wall.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 6:04 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:07 pm
Posts: 575
To Thor - to name sites, just use signs in the map editor. Admittedly, they can be removed by the player, but thet's their problem if they no longer no what everything is.

_________________
For Knowledge, Civilisation, and Chocolate Waffles!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Hong Kong
The difference is that the 10 included scenarios are bundled with the release so EVERYONE will have them. On the website only interested people can download them.

I hope MeusH made some tough choices because it is soon time for a release. We can up the number to 16 maps :) 5 of temperate/arctic/tropical and 1 toyland?

/me is in a good mood.

_________________
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 836 posts ]  Go to page Previous 120 21 22 23 2442 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.