Video Tutorials For Open TTD

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Would You Use OTTD Tutorials?

Yes
30
59%
No
21
41%
 
Total votes: 51

egladil
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 188
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 17:10
Location: Sweden

Post by egladil »

I can now say that it is indeed doable. I got a small "tutorial" working here. It clicks the network game button, clicks the player name field, and types some text.

A tutorial is a sequence of action. Possible actions are:
* Move mouse
* Click mouse
* Left mouse down
* Left mouse up
* Type text
For each action a target and a delay can be set. The delay is the number of game cycles to wait until the target is started. Target is specified in the format "window: window_name widgetid: id coord: x, y".
As for percentages, I could add those too.
Attachments
tutorial4.diff
Press ESCAPE to start the tutorial.
(20.99 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
test.tut.txt
A _very_ simple tutorial
(452 Bytes) Downloaded 80 times
Last edited by egladil on 17 Dec 2005 00:42, edited 7 times in total.

Bjarni
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2088
Joined: 08 Mar 2004 13:10

Post by Bjarni »

egladil wrote:As for percentages, I could add those too.
I don't think those will be needed. We just use absolute x,y compared to the top left corner and moves the top bar to the left. That way it will all happen in the top left area if you select a huge screen, but it will show on all monitors (except the PDAs that got less than 640x480, but those aren't officially supported anyway)

MeusH
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4349
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 15:39
Location: Mississauga

Post by MeusH »

egladil wrote:I got a small "tutorial" working here. It moves the mouse to (5, 5) and clicks.
That's great! Are you uploading the file right now, or did I understand you wrong?

User avatar
Pilatus
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 54
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 14:17
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Pilatus »

This sound simply great!

:D
Last edited by Pilatus on 17 Dec 2005 16:13, edited 1 time in total.
If no end are at hand try your feet...

egladil
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 188
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 17:10
Location: Sweden

Post by egladil »

It would be very nice to hear what functionality the people who are thinking about making some tutorials want.
Is it enough with just clicking, moving the mouse and typing? Or do you want something more advanced?

KING
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 180
Joined: 12 Dec 2005 08:03

Post by KING »

how to build a nuke :twisted:



I think we need starter vidoes like how you build a track from A to B and put a train on it for newcomers.
same for road air and sea.
I noticed A LOT of people don`t use the "transfew" to it`s full use.
mayby one for that.

MeusH
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4349
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 15:39
Location: Mississauga

Post by MeusH »

When dynamic news will be done, it would be also good to use them in tutorials. Right-clicking, shift-clicking and ctrl-clicking should be done, too.

Very good thing would be also information on the bottom panel. Currently summarized news scroll down there, but it would be also good if information "what do we do now" was showed there.

User avatar
Brianetta
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2566
Joined: 15 Oct 2003 22:00
Location: Jarrow, UK
Contact:

Post by Brianetta »

How will the demo cope with different resolutions or menu positions? If it's only doing mouse clicks, not button events, there could be trouble.
PGP fingerprint: E66A 9D58 AA10 E967 41A6 474E E41D 10AE 082C F3ED

egladil
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 188
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 17:10
Location: Sweden

Post by egladil »

The coordinates can be specified relative to the screen, to a window or a widget in a window, so that is not a problem.

MeusH
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4349
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 15:39
Location: Mississauga

Post by MeusH »

So... can one set mouse to go to "button 2 of rail construction window"? And the mouse will patiently move there?

egladil
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 188
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 17:10
Location: Sweden

Post by egladil »

Yes. Button two in the build rail window is widget 5, so that would look like this:

Code: Select all

mouse_move   "window: build_toolbar widget: 5"   0
or

Code: Select all

mouse_move   "window: build_toolbar widget: 5 center"   0
if you want to move to the middle of the button.
The zero in the end is how long (in game cycles) after the last action this should be done.
I've looked at naming the buttons, but as there is 1405 widgets in openttd that is quite a task.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests