Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:02 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1651 posts ]  Go to page Previous 165 66 67 68 6983 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Crash in alpha 66
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4290
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Patchman wrote:
George wrote:
Trying to build a new vehicle crashes the game. If all the ECS files except town vector are removed from newgrf.cfg, the game is crashed while landscape generation
Hmm, I'm afraid I can't reproduce it, even with the exact .grf files and .cfg files. I can buy all kinds of vehicles without a problem. Is the problem with a specific one maybe?
However, I don't have ttd-rusw.grf. What is that file?


Attachments:
ttd-rusw.grf [11.19 KiB]
Downloaded 77 times

_________________
Image Image Image Image
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1491
Many thanks.

Patchman wrote:
... The problem is that many of the properties have non-trivial initialization values. For now, the safest thing to do is just always initialize all properties ...

Yes, that is what I am doing ATM.

I'm fine on the following; but the one property, that caused me problems in the past, is the 'Early Retirement Feature'. There is no 'off' value. Not specifying it takes the value from other .grf's if it can. Specifying 26 00 = means 0 years. This feature is almost an absolute must to get stuck into and implement it.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
The default value of prop.26 is 00, which means 0 years, which means no early retirement. So 00 means off.

_________________
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1491
Patchman wrote:
The default value of prop.26 is 00, which means 0 years, which means no early retirement. So 00 means off.

Well, when I tried that, way back then, it did not work; I got anything from no retirement to ignoring model life to disappearing far too early. Now, of course, I do define property 26 and all is fine.

While on that subject. I cannot get wagons to retire as engines do. Is that actually possible ? Vehicle Life (03h) does not apply and Model Life (04h) and let alone 26h do not seem to work with wagons. Any solution ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
It may be a bug, I'll have to test that...

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 8:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5097
[wagons don´t get obsolete]

> It may be a bug, I'll have to test that...

<cough> Check back your test .grfs collection. That did never work, since the first version of DB Set XL (Feb. 2004).

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:07 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
my game suddenly (2 game months ago) developed a new pathfinding/pbs bug. As you can see on the screenshot train 61 or 81 decide to start running in circles, trouble is it already reserved a path, but becouse of that it's way is blocked :).
I haven't changed anything on the 'main' layout, I only placed a platform on a totaly differend network. (the goods line).

oh waypoint 1 and 3 are both down along the line so it shouldn't be a problem with 'pocket holes' in the railnetwork.

I haven't used any grf's change the gameplay (newbuildings-industry staions-new monorail-new water)


Attachments:
save+patch.cfg.zip [266.24 KiB]
Downloaded 49 times
pbs+pathfinding.png [278.06 KiB]
Downloaded 121 times
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
Preventing trains from going in circles in a PBS block is on the to-do list. It means it can't find a good way to its destination and thus picks any random path out of the signal block.

To fix it after it happened, just dynamite (bulldozing won't work) the "stuck" tiles and rebuild them. Note that if this happens it's also likely that a crash will occur there, so it's best to rebuild the junction so that no circular paths are possible or give the lost train a waypoint out of the junction.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:44 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
It's even more likely that a crash will occur while the train is starting to leave the junction that it has been circling in, as it un-reserves the tracks before it has left them. At least, that is how crashes occur for me...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:40 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
yeah I know, I fixed it now. I just found it strange that that junction suddenly became to difficult for trains. It was there since 2010 or so and only now it gives problems. I gues is is just a new secret added to the pathfinding of ttd :).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:58 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:40 pm
Posts: 429
game crashes when i click on certains wagons on the purchase list.

can you make something out of this crashlog ?


Attachments:
CRASH001.TXT [1.54 KiB]
Downloaded 70 times

_________________
------------------------
Image
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
I'm afraid not. Some text ID has invalid data, it seems. Alpha 68 will have a facility to debug this more easily, so please report this crash again when it happens on a68.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 1:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1491
hovering teacup wrote:
game crashes when i click on certains wagons on the purchase list...

Try to put the .grf in question (what .grf is it anyway ?) last in the newgrf.cfg. If that fixes the problem, then other .grf's do interfere when it comes to text-strings.

I've got this problem in the CanSet with text strings, that contain sub-text strings and I have other .grf's (like Newstatsw.grf or the new industrial station grf) loaded after the .grf in question. Now when clicking on a wagon, the game crashes. If I move those .grf's above mine, everything is ok. It looks to me, as if the text strings are looked up in other .grf's but the one where they actually have been defined.

I'll get back on that, once I'm sure it is not my fault.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4290
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
OzTransLtd wrote:
Try to put the .grf in question (what .grf is it anyway ?) last in the newgrf.cfg. If that fixes the problem, then other .grf's do interfere when it comes to text-strings.
I've got this problem in the CanSet with text strings, that contain sub-text strings and I have other .grf's (like Newstatsw.grf or the new industrial station grf) loaded after the .grf in question. Now when clicking on a wagon, the game crashes. If I move those .grf's above mine, everything is ok. It looks to me, as if the text strings are looked up in other .grf's but the one where they actually have been defined.
I'll get back on that, once I'm sure it is not my fault.
For me changing the order of files does not help. Some combinations of grfs crash, some not. But no single grf causes the crash :(

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 11:28 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:40 pm
Posts: 429
to Patchman; understood :)

to OzTransLtd; the grf in question is already at the end in the cfg. :)

_________________
------------------------

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1491
hovering teacup wrote:
... the grf in question is already at the end in the cfg.

Well, let's wait for a68 then, and see what that brings.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 4:52 pm
Posts: 4357
Location: Ven-Zelderheide, The Netherlands
I have some problems with the trams.
Normal busses don't stop, or better can't find the tramstation anymore.
They did before with Stevenh's version of A67.
And clicking on the tramstation with the query tool gives me the following crashlog.

I posted my game and config file just yesterday here, if you need it.


Attachments:
CRASH005.TXT [1.54 KiB]
Downloaded 87 times

_________________
Wie zich gelukkig voelt met het geluk van anderen, bezit een rijkdom zonder grenzen. (F.Daels)
Image
Still the best OS around
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 9:59 am
Posts: 2138
I seem to have found a (reproducible) crash in a68, probably related to autoslope. When lowering the point marked in the image (go basically due north of where the game loads), TTD crashes every time. This didn't happen in a67. Savegame, ttdpatch.cfg, newgrfw.cfg and crashlogs attached.


Attachments:
File comment: Relevant files.
loweringcrasha68.zip [159.66 KiB]
Downloaded 57 times
crashwhenloweringpoint.png
crashwhenloweringpoint.png [ 21.59 KiB | Viewed 1446 times ]

_________________
US Train Set v0.87.1 now released: viewtopic.php?t=8754
Don't forget to read the manual: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php?page=Manual
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:13 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 12:47 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands
I just downloaded a68.
Busses can no longer go to a roadstop.
Every bus turns around at a roadstop.

I've tested it in a new game.


Attachments:
File comment: My cfg file
ttdpatch.cfg [32.43 KiB]
Downloaded 74 times
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 2:25 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:23 am
Posts: 205
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Patch version alpha 68 and just added the new trams graphics. I noticed an empty patch of ground in a city next to my bus station and went to check for information using the button in the upper right hand corner (?) when the game crashed back to the desktop and a small notice about an error with the TTDLOADW.OVL file appeared, asking if I wanted to send the information to Microsoft. Reloading a game and clicking upon the same spot will reproduce the crash - same log information.

Any other information needed, just ask.


Attachments:
CRASH000.TXT [1.54 KiB]
Downloaded 76 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1651 posts ]  Go to page Previous 165 66 67 68 6983 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.