UK Renewal Train Set [1.4 release 4/12]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

UK Renewal Train Set [1.4 release 4/12]

Post by PikkaBird » 21 Apr 2005 08:02

Thread out of date - please see the new thread
Last edited by PikkaBird on 01 Feb 2006 07:57, edited 30 times in total.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 21 Apr 2005 08:08

Hi all,

I've just come back to TTDP after a year or so away. The game is as wonderful as it ever was, even more so now with the pathfinding through junctions, and the wagon speedlimits and realistic T/E.

Over the last few days, I've put together a few new locomotives (mainly by editing the existing graphics, little if any of this is original). I thought I could flesh out the default BR set a tad, as it's the British Stock (plus Michael Blunck's awesome Cargo Set) I want to play with.

The new set has 3 more locomotives (plus two tenders) and one more freight wagon than the original set, as well as passenger carriage replacements for the DMUs, so some replacements will have to be worked out. I'd like this set to be compatible with the above mentioned Cargo Set.

I have all graphics completed, and all the stats (including lifespans, speed power and TE, and costs) worked out... all I really need is someone to help me put it all together. :)

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn » 21 Apr 2005 09:52

Is number 3 Bulleid's Leader?

Number 6 a class 91?

Number 1 a 20?

7 a 37?
Last edited by Born Acorn on 21 Apr 2005 12:29, edited 1 time in total.

Singaporekid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1966
Joined: 21 May 2004 07:39
Location: Singapore

Post by Singaporekid » 21 Apr 2005 10:36

I'd say the one in the centre is a class 86/87
I'd like to see the full set though :P
Regarding the GRF's, maybe you can ask Szappy for Grfmaker?
It does almost evrything
<+Raichase> ugh, I just ate some of my beard D:

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 21 Apr 2005 11:13

1st on the left top corner is Class 20
3rd on the left bottom corner is Class 37(thats already in TTD btw..)

Singaporekid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1966
Joined: 21 May 2004 07:39
Location: Singapore

Post by Singaporekid » 21 Apr 2005 11:20

One thing to say about these locos is that they all look as if they've all been done by Simon Foster himself, they all look like the original TTD locos :)
<+Raichase> ugh, I just ate some of my beard D:

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir » 21 Apr 2005 12:08

I know... I kinda like the style change.
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3608
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 21 Apr 2005 14:30

Pikkabird, you might want to try having a little look at this topic. Feel free to skip the first 60-odd pages. ;-) There's a nice little list of things we have and haven't got, however, we're in the process of updating it with anything that's been drowned out over the months.

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 21 Apr 2005 14:46

ChrisCF wrote:Pikkabird, you might want to try having a little look at this topic. Feel free to skip the first 60-odd pages. ;-) There's a nice little list of things we have and haven't got, however, we're in the process of updating it with anything that's been drowned out over the months.
He wants to revise some of the TTD stock, not do a whole full blown set afaik.

btw Pikkabird if your revising any of the TTD's electric locomotives, add em a pantograph..(if they got one in real life).

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3608
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 21 Apr 2005 14:52

Akalamanaia wrote:He wants to revise some of the TTD stock, not do a whole full blown set afaik.
... which, as we all know, is illegal ;-)

Either way, it makes more sense to have the effort concentrated on one set rather than two.

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 21 Apr 2005 14:55

ChrisCF wrote:
Akalamanaia wrote:He wants to revise some of the TTD stock, not do a whole full blown set afaik.
... which, as we all know, is illegal ;-)

Either way, it makes more sense to have the effort concentrated on one set rather than two.
Errr no its not..his revising the stock of TTD, and using them inside TTD. Eitherway, you can't use em without TTD Or a good clone of TTD. So its all legal.

and his making a mini-set, not a full blown set.
and atm, yours is not using company colours, his is.
his fits with rest of the TTD Stock, most of yours doesn't.

Let him do his mini-set if he wants, stop trying to recruit everyone to your BR Set cause they want to revise TTD stock or add new stock, but with same style as TTD.

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3608
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 21 Apr 2005 16:09

Akalamanaia wrote:Let him do his mini-set if he wants, stop trying to recruit everyone to your BR Set cause they want to revise TTD stock or add new stock, but with same style as TTD.
Jeez, no need to be rude :roll:

User avatar
Oracle
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2138
Joined: 22 May 2003 09:59

Post by Oracle » 21 Apr 2005 16:35

You can use my Action 0/4/8 creator spreadsheet if you want (attached) although it has got some (minor) bugs because I never really finished it.
Apart from that, you really need to read the vehicle bits of newgrf.txt and use the example nfo at the bottom. You can, of course, modify or take bits of the US Set if you would like to use them, as it is under GPL, and replace your graphics with some of those.
IDs of vehicles so that you replace the correct ones can be found on the Wiki in http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php?page=VehicleIDs .

I think you should consider allowing your graphics to be used in the BR set, though, as there is a lack of progress there at the moment.

Anyway, I will give you advice if you want but I can't do any coding for you as I am continually busy (or so it seems).
Attachments
Action 0 4 8 creator spreadsheet.xls
Slightly buggy actions 0/4/8 creator in Excel.
(41.5 KiB) Downloaded 538 times

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 21 Apr 2005 17:53

I must say, ver nice graphics :!:
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 21 Apr 2005 18:47

I might get in touch with Szappy, and see if I can work out the coding myself. I wouldn't want to draw too many resources from the other BR set, and I'm always up for a challenge. ;)

The locos in the pic are:

Class 20, 47, 66
Class 25, 86, 91
Class 37, 310, 92

Oracle, I'll give you a shout if I get stuck - I guess the trickiest things will be the tenders for the steam locos.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Well...

Post by PikkaBird » 22 Apr 2005 22:34

The Steamers are done. 8)

I have no idea how to attach the tenders though. Reading about callbacks makes my brain hurt.

Anyone want to talk me through it?

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 22 Apr 2005 23:42

I made the decision to ignore callbacks the first time through too.

The articulated engine callback is callback 16. This means that, when coding a Var.02, variable 0C will have the value 16 for this callback. First, ensure that bit 4 (0x10) is set in prop 1E for the engine.

The engine's action 3 should point to a Var.02 that checks to see if variable 0C==0x16. If it is not, return the graphics, as normal. If it is, return the ID of another Var02 that checks variable 10. Unlike normal Var.02s this var 02 needs to have the high byte of the ID-word (the one that is normally "00") set to "FF". Return <Tender-ID> if variable 10 == 0x01, and FF in all other cases:
The action2s will look something like this:

Code: Select all

-1*14 02 00 10 81 10 00 FF 01 <Tender-ID> FF 01 01 FF FF
*1*14 02 00 11 81 0C 00 FF 01 10 00 16 16 <GFX CargoID> 00
Then point the engine's action 3 to CargoID 11.

If you need different lengths for the different tenders, that's callback 11, so do something similar to:

Code: Select all

-1*14 02 00 12 81 0C 00 FF 01 <length> FF 11 11 <GFX CargoID> 00
and point the override 3 to CargoID 12.
Note that there is no need to check any other variable here; you always want to be the same length when following this engine. For this to work, you'll need to set bit 1 (value 0x02) in the *tender*'s properties.

Hope this helped.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 23 Apr 2005 01:00

DaleStan wrote:Hope this helped.
It certainly did, thankyou! :D Tenders now show up on locos, although they don't show in the purchasing list...

That's next, along with livery changes (some locos are black, some are CC, and they need appropriately coloured tenders), and getting the tenders showing properly in the depot/info window (they're too close to the loco at the moment).

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 23 Apr 2005 03:21

I worked out the override for the tender graphic. :) Now, to get it to show in the purchase list, and to get it to position properly in the depot window? I can't find any references to these anywhere.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 23 Apr 2005 05:17

The purchase list is cargo type FF in the corresponding action 3; for an example, see the Zeppelins, although most people use a 8-sprite set and just use "-1*1 00" for all sprites except the east-bound one.

To fix the vertical offset problem, use an Action D to write to variable 8E. You might find a sample in one of the trainsets. If I'm reading the wiki right, this should work:
-1*9 0D 8E 00 FF 00 <offset> 00 00 00
*checks USSet* Oracle set <offset> to 02. (It's sprite 74 in v0.85, BTW)
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GarryG and 12 guests