JGR's Patch Pack

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1287
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Snail »

Hi JGR,

I tried to download the most recent version of your patch (0.63.2) for MacOS, but sadly, I saw it doesn't work with OS 10.12 . I know it's an old system, but I'm still running it.
I downloaded the source code and tried to compile it myself, but I got this error during the configuration phase:

Code: Select all

-- The C compiler identification is AppleClang 9.0.0.9000039
-- The CXX compiler identification is AppleClang 9.0.0.9000039
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working C compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/cc - skipped
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/c++ - skipped
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Detecting Personal Data directory - Documents/OpenTTD
-- Detecting Shared Data directory - /Library/Application Support/OpenTTD
-- Detecting Global Data directory - (not set)
-- Check if the system is big endian
-- Searching 16 bit integer
-- Looking for sys/types.h
-- Looking for sys/types.h - found
-- Looking for stdint.h
-- Looking for stdint.h - found
-- Looking for stddef.h
-- Looking for stddef.h - found
-- Check size of unsigned short
-- Check size of unsigned short - done
-- Searching 16 bit integer - Using unsigned short
-- Check if the system is big endian - little endian
-- Performing Test NO_SSE4_FOUND
CMake Error in /roba/OpenTTD-patches-jgrpp-0.63.2/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp/CMakeLists.txt:
  Target "cmTC_c9c0d" requires the language dialect "CXX20" , but CMake does
  not know the compile flags to use to enable it.


CMake Error at /usr/local/share/cmake-3.19/Modules/Internal/CheckSourceCompiles.cmake:89 (try_compile):
  Failed to generate test project build system.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/local/share/cmake-3.19/Modules/Internal/CheckCompilerFlag.cmake:66 (cmake_check_source_compiles)
  /usr/local/share/cmake-3.19/Modules/CheckCXXCompilerFlag.cmake:40 (cmake_check_compiler_flag)
  cmake/CompileFlags.cmake:160 (check_cxx_compiler_flag)
  CMakeLists.txt:52 (compile_flags)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/roba/OpenTTD-patches-jgrpp-0.63.2/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
Is it because of the OS I'm running? Do you think it would still be possible to make your patch work with my system?
-EDIT- If it helps, the version of CMake I have is 3.19.2 .

Thanks in advance!
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here
User avatar
JGR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2598
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 13:46
Location: Ipswich

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by JGR »

Phx01 wrote: 17 Dec 2024 20:04 Usually I am on Linux and use a script to pull and compile the latest version (since I have neither Debian nor Ubuntu). This all works fine. However, recently I got myself a new M4 Mac and found downloading the macOS dmg results in "Version Mismatch" when trying to join the server. This is likely due to the Linux server using the latest nightly builds when compiling from source.

I am not really a developer, but would like to test building from source on my Mac in order to match the version. However, I am not sure what is needed. I have XCode installed, but am not sure if it would be the right tool for the job or if so, how it can be used. Any hints would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
It's probably worth having a look through this document here: https://github.com/JGRennison/OpenTTD-p ... MPILING.md
When compiling your Linux server, you can select which version you want to build instead of just the most recent commit. e.g. use git checkout [the tag you want].
Snail wrote: 22 Dec 2024 04:27 Hi JGR,

I tried to download the most recent version of your patch (0.63.2) for MacOS, but sadly, I saw it doesn't work with OS 10.12 . I know it's an old system, but I'm still running it.
I downloaded the source code and tried to compile it myself, but I got this error during the configuration phase:

Code: Select all

-- The C compiler identification is AppleClang 9.0.0.9000039
-- The CXX compiler identification is AppleClang 9.0.0.9000039
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working C compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/cc - skipped
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/c++ - skipped
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Detecting Personal Data directory - Documents/OpenTTD
-- Detecting Shared Data directory - /Library/Application Support/OpenTTD
-- Detecting Global Data directory - (not set)
-- Check if the system is big endian
-- Searching 16 bit integer
-- Looking for sys/types.h
-- Looking for sys/types.h - found
-- Looking for stdint.h
-- Looking for stdint.h - found
-- Looking for stddef.h
-- Looking for stddef.h - found
-- Check size of unsigned short
-- Check size of unsigned short - done
-- Searching 16 bit integer - Using unsigned short
-- Check if the system is big endian - little endian
-- Performing Test NO_SSE4_FOUND
CMake Error in /roba/OpenTTD-patches-jgrpp-0.63.2/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp/CMakeLists.txt:
  Target "cmTC_c9c0d" requires the language dialect "CXX20" , but CMake does
  not know the compile flags to use to enable it.


CMake Error at /usr/local/share/cmake-3.19/Modules/Internal/CheckSourceCompiles.cmake:89 (try_compile):
  Failed to generate test project build system.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/local/share/cmake-3.19/Modules/Internal/CheckCompilerFlag.cmake:66 (cmake_check_source_compiles)
  /usr/local/share/cmake-3.19/Modules/CheckCXXCompilerFlag.cmake:40 (cmake_check_compiler_flag)
  cmake/CompileFlags.cmake:160 (check_cxx_compiler_flag)
  CMakeLists.txt:52 (compile_flags)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/roba/OpenTTD-patches-jgrpp-0.63.2/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
Is it because of the OS I'm running? Do you think it would still be possible to make your patch work with my system?
-EDIT- If it helps, the version of CMake I have is 3.19.2 .

Thanks in advance!
You might need a newer version of xcode?
Currently vanilla OpenTTD and my branch both target 10.15 for builds.
It may be easier to use the Windows version and the mac-equivalent of WINE.
Ex TTDPatch Coder
Patch Pack, Github
User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1287
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Snail »

JGR wrote: 22 Dec 2024 12:03 You might need a newer version of xcode?
Currently vanilla OpenTTD and my branch both target 10.15 for builds.
It may be easier to use the Windows version and the mac-equivalent of WINE.
Bummer!! I just upgraded my system to 10.13 ... only to find out that your branch does require 10.15 to work.
My problem is that 10.15 (Catalina) has dropped support for 32-bit applications, and I'm still using an old version of GraphicConverter to draw my graphics. Unfortunately, the newer versions of that program have dropped support for indexed colors altogether, making them useless to draw OTTD graphics. And I tried Gimp, but I honestly found it unnecessarily complex for my needs.
Do you happen to know what's the latest version of your patchpack that supports 10.13?
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here
User avatar
JGR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2598
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 13:46
Location: Ipswich

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by JGR »

Snail wrote: 22 Dec 2024 19:06
JGR wrote: 22 Dec 2024 12:03 You might need a newer version of xcode?
Currently vanilla OpenTTD and my branch both target 10.15 for builds.
It may be easier to use the Windows version and the mac-equivalent of WINE.
Bummer!! I just upgraded my system to 10.13 ... only to find out that your branch does require 10.15 to work.
My problem is that 10.15 (Catalina) has dropped support for 32-bit applications, and I'm still using an old version of GraphicConverter to draw my graphics. Unfortunately, the newer versions of that program have dropped support for indexed colors altogether, making them useless to draw OTTD graphics. And I tried Gimp, but I honestly found it unnecessarily complex for my needs.
Do you happen to know what's the latest version of your patchpack that supports 10.13?
0.63.1 might work? Otherwise I'd suggest trying older ones until you find one that works.
I don't have any reasonable way of testing on MacOS.
Ex TTDPatch Coder
Patch Pack, Github
User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1287
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Snail »

JGR wrote: 22 Dec 2024 19:09 0.63.1 might work? Otherwise I'd suggest trying older ones until you find one that works.
I don't have any reasonable way of testing on MacOS.
Thanks. 0.62.0 seems to work. I wonder what changed in 0.63 that caused the drop in compatibility. :cry:
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here
dol422
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 327
Joined: 29 Dec 2015 20:06
Location: England

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by dol422 »

Never had this happen before. The crash happened after I searched for a plan that didn't exist then selected the 'new' tab. This was with 0.63.2.

This was on a new game. I didn't do anything, apart from looking around the map, except the above.
Attachments
crash-20241227T202841Z.png
(312.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
crash-20241227T202841Z.sav
(11.15 MiB) Downloaded 31 times
crash-20241227T202841Z.docx
(31.77 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Take a look at: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=74993
Why do it tomorrow when you can do it today
User avatar
JGR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2598
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 13:46
Location: Ipswich

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by JGR »

dol422 wrote: 27 Dec 2024 20:45 Never had this happen before. The crash happened after I searched for a plan that didn't exist then selected the 'new' tab. This was with 0.63.2.

This was on a new game. I didn't do anything, apart from looking around the map, except the above.
Thanks for letting me know, this will be fixed in the next release.
Ex TTDPatch Coder
Patch Pack, Github
0108daniel
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jan 2025 19:38

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by 0108daniel »

I installed the JGR's Patch Pack.
It seems that the pack is limited.
When I choose the 1048576x1048576 it says 'to many tiles in the map'
I was thinking that patch was able to play on big maps.
Here is a screenshot: https://i.ibb.co/Jq6hVwq/Tiles.jpg
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1784
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by peter1138 »

0108daniel wrote: 05 Jan 2025 19:40 I installed the JGR's Patch Pack.
It seems that the pack is limited.
When I choose the 1048576x1048576 it says 'to many tiles in the map'
I was thinking that patch was able to play on big maps.
A map that size would require 12 terabytes RAM, just for the map data alone.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
0108daniel
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jan 2025 19:38

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by 0108daniel »

It's the map from the openingspost JGR's Patch Pack.
I download it from github.
Auge
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 659
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 02:07
Location: Berlin

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Auge »

Hello
0108daniel wrote: 05 Jan 2025 23:03 It's the map from the openingspost JGR's Patch Pack.
I download it from github.
I don't see any link to a map in the opening posting. What I see is the maximum map size in the section "Limits". It's a maximum tile number of 256 million tiles. Your map size of 1048576x1048576 tiles is with a(n) (angloamerican) billion tiles four times as big as allowed.

Tschö, Auge
User avatar
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1840
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by jfs »

Try playing, just for two minutes, on a 1024x1024 sized map.
Then try to imagine a map that's a thousand times as long on both sides.

Personally I think 1024x1024 maps are already borderline too large for solo play.
ebla71
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 472
Joined: 14 Apr 2021 21:48
Location: Earth

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by ebla71 »

jfs wrote: 06 Jan 2025 09:08 Try playing, just for two minutes, on a 1024x1024 sized map.
Then try to imagine a map that's a thousand times as long on both sides.

Personally I think 1024x1024 maps are already borderline too large for solo play.
Depends on your style of gameplay :wink:

I'm currently working on a 16k x 16k map of Germany and the neighboring countries which I plan to play for the next couple of years when complete :lol:
hyckor
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 149
Joined: 13 Oct 2008 07:53

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by hyckor »

Hello,
I am playing a world-scale savegame more than 10 years on JGRennison (jgrpp) patches version 0.59. It is a simulation of real rail tracks, air routes, ship lines ..., The savegame contains more than 3000 airplanes of worldwide airlines, >800 vehicles, 200 trains and 200 ships. It is impossible to enable multiple newGRF engine sets = on, because there are too many vehicles to temporarilly remove them for enabling that funcion. Is there any trick to enable multiple newGRF in case there are too many vehicles to start from scratch? I am playing with GETS trains and Real vehicles, cars, semi-trucks, trucks and buses, however, they are conflicting on some items and I would play also Czech amazing sets and others, e.g. chinese .... Please, help. How to include more sets. Is it possible to include to the newest JGR patchpack? Thanx a lot.
hyckor
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 149
Joined: 13 Oct 2008 07:53

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by hyckor »

Moreover, is there any chance to include circumnavigation to the maps, e.g. for extra large maps simulating the world. It would be nice to have the function allowing, e.g. planes to disappear on the left edge of the map and appear on the right. The distance calculated by number of tiles could be a potential problem.
hpfx
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 55
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 00:19

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by hpfx »

Hello,
anyone can explain me how to build bridge with custom bridgehead ?
I have seen pictures of resulting bridge, but I couldn't find any video or tutorial neither explanation. I went to forum thread, but it's not clear how I should proceed to build one.
is there any special key binding ? shall I first build a normal bridge and perform a specific action ?

not: of course "customer bridge head" settings is enabled, I'm running lastest 0.63.3 JGR
dol422
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 327
Joined: 29 Dec 2015 20:06
Location: England

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by dol422 »

hpfx wrote: 01 Feb 2025 01:51 Hello,
anyone can explain me how to build bridge with custom bridgehead ?
I have seen pictures of resulting bridge, but I couldn't find any video or tutorial neither explanation. I went to forum thread, but it's not clear how I should proceed to build one.
is there any special key binding ? shall I first build a normal bridge and perform a specific action ?

not: of course "customer bridge head" settings is enabled, I'm running lastest 0.63.3 JGR
Select the end tile of the bridge, and build a junction as if its a normal road.
Take a look at: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=74993
Why do it tomorrow when you can do it today
hpfx
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 55
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 00:19

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by hpfx »

dol422 wrote: 01 Feb 2025 01:54 Select the end tile of the bridge, and build a junction as if its a normal road.
Thank you, it worked.
I discover so many usefull features, I can't go back to normal game.
maxucao
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Mar 2014 03:57

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by maxucao »

hi!!! anyone can guide or help me how do a more realistic simulation time?
i got Calendar timekeeping for default...so..i dont understand how slowing down the time...
thanks
User avatar
Walter Novotny
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 22
Joined: 20 Jun 2011 12:21

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Walter Novotny »

maxucao wrote: 14 Feb 2025 19:05 hi!!! anyone can guide or help me how do a more realistic simulation time?
i got Calendar timekeeping for default...so..i dont understand how slowing down the time...
thanks
Setting the number of ticks to 592 makes the train travel time realistic. Assuming 20 squares per kilometer, we get the travel time as in the real timetable. (I personally currently play on 296 ticks)
I have chosen the remaining settings experimentally, they allow for realistic acceleration of trains. This is necessary to obtain train travel times depending on the number of stops (expresses, suburban trains, etc.)

Image
Image
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Amazon [Bot] and 7 guests