Add control to move the screen

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
Mr.Killer
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 146
Joined: 31 May 2005 10:41
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Add control to move the screen

Post by Mr.Killer »

Please consider the movement of the screen to the 'AWSD' keys. Almost all games are using these keys, and it is a bit confusing using the arrow keys, as they are on the other side of the keyboard.

I hope you will implement this, it makes moving, building and controlling the game much better.

Thanks
Bla bla, and may the force be with you!
Never knew I was gonna say that! ;-)
skc
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 17 Sep 2022 02:02

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by skc »

Mr.Killer wrote: 18 Jan 2024 11:07 Please consider the movement of the screen to the 'AWSD' keys. Almost all games are using these keys, and it is a bit confusing using the arrow keys, as they are on the other side of the keyboard.

I hope you will implement this, it makes moving, building and controlling the game much better.

Thanks
I know that there's a hotkeys.cfg but looking through it just now, there isn't a way to set the viewport movement keys.

However, right-click+drag on a PC works.
Mr.Killer
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 146
Joined: 31 May 2005 10:41
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by Mr.Killer »

I know, and even that moves in the opposite direction of 'feel' this also could be changed. It is like steering your car to the right when turning the steeringwheel left, it feels akward!
Bla bla, and may the force be with you!
Never knew I was gonna say that! ;-)
skc
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 17 Sep 2022 02:02

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by skc »

Mr.Killer wrote: 18 Jan 2024 12:45 I know, and even that moves in the opposite direction of 'feel' this also could be changed. It is like steering your car to the right when turning the steeringwheel left, it feels akward!
There's a setting to change that though.
It's at: Interface->Viewports->Viewport scroll behaviour.
Changes to this setting take effect immediately.
Mr.Killer
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 146
Joined: 31 May 2005 10:41
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by Mr.Killer »

its been over 5 years that I played Ottd, I knew there are settings, but did not had the time to find them, this helped a bit. Now the AWSD for keyboard control..
Bla bla, and may the force be with you!
Never knew I was gonna say that! ;-)
User avatar
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1737
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by jfs »

Changing the keyboard binds would also upset a lot of long-time players, who may be used to using QWE to raise/lower/level land, D to demolish, R to remove, etc.
Personally I strongly prefer right-click-drag to move the world around over both keyboard scrolling and mouse-edge-scrolling in this style of games, probably because I grew up with Transport Tycoon :)
skc
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 17 Sep 2022 02:02

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by skc »

Mr.Killer wrote: 18 Jan 2024 14:14 its been over 5 years that I played Ottd, I knew there are settings, but did not had the time to find them, this helped a bit. Now the AWSD for keyboard control..
The current default allocations for the WASD keys:
A is for auto-direction rail placement
D is for demolish.
S is for signal placement (when the rail toolbar is open), possibly other operations at other times.
W is for lower terrain (with Q for raising, and E for levelling)

In my opinion, there's only two things missing in relation to keyboard controls:
1) including the current shortcut key(s) in the tooltip for each operation
2) including a GUI to change the contents of hotkeys.cfg.
Mr.Killer
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 146
Joined: 31 May 2005 10:41
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by Mr.Killer »

Almost every other game uses these keys, and I know certain 'handy' actions are now under certain keys, but think about it, your mind has to switch to another state, and after a few years coming back to see how's development goes, I struggled the first hours. That is why I thought of this. Maybe the devs are willing to switch-board the keys through an unused switch (example: press TAB once, get the direction keys AWSD, press TAB again, the original setting is present.) It is even within one hands' reach to switch, fast and efficient.
That's all... :bow:
Bla bla, and may the force be with you!
Never knew I was gonna say that! ;-)
lukasz1985
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 429
Joined: 27 Mar 2013 08:58
Location: Strumien
Contact:

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by lukasz1985 »

This is not a first person shooter. Your arguments are invalid.
User avatar
odisseus
Director
Director
Posts: 547
Joined: 01 Nov 2017 21:19

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by odisseus »

I agree that scrolling with WASD keys would be much more convenient than with arrow keys, especially on laptop keyboards where arrow keys often have reduced size. As for existing bindings for those keys, I never bothered to learn them; however, I understand that other players may find them useful.

Perhaps we could have a setting to toggle the function of WASD keys?
dol422
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 310
Joined: 29 Dec 2015 20:06
Location: England

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by dol422 »

odisseus wrote: 22 Jan 2024 09:12Perhaps we could have a setting to toggle the function of WASD keys?
Is it feasible to do that.
Take a look at: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=74993
Why do it tomorrow when you can do it today
User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Skype: Discord: Emperor Jake #4106
Location: Not Actually Japan
Contact:

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by Emperor Jake »

WASD has expanded beyond just first-person shooter games in the last decade. Factorio, Cities Skylines and Transport Fever are all games that are in some ways similar to OpenTTD and they use WASD movement. It has also been added to other retro games that have been cloned or remade, such as Caesar 3/Augustus. It's basically the standard for all modern games at this point.

I think it's worth considering a WASD-based control scheme as an alternative to the traditional one, that way players can choose their preference.
Last edited by Emperor Jake on 22 Jan 2024 09:42, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1737
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by jfs »

We don't have an in-game way to define keyboard binds right now, but if one is made it could be an idea to have two buttons to reset to either "classic defaults" or to "modern defaults".
skc
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 17 Sep 2022 02:02

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by skc »

kamnet wrote: 22 Jan 2024 10:22 Caps lock key to turn it on or off? :)
But that would have effects outside of the game, albeit very minor.
How about using the ALT key to toggle the WASD movement?
lukasz1985
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 429
Joined: 27 Mar 2013 08:58
Location: Strumien
Contact:

Re: Add control to move the screen

Post by lukasz1985 »

AWSD movement keys originated from FPS games, and that is place where they should be kept - thats my opinion.
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests