have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Talk about the sequel to the original TT, Transport Tycoon Deluxe.
andreasaspenberg
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 May 2020 18:33

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by andreasaspenberg »

yes, that is correct.
User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5996
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by wallyweb »

andreasaspenberg wrote: 02 Jun 2020 11:00 yes, that is correct.
Good. Do TTDLOADW.OVL and GameGFX.exe exist in that folder?
andreasaspenberg
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 May 2020 18:33

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by andreasaspenberg »

gamegfx was always there, tddload.ovl was not there to begin with but created by the patch.
User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5996
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by wallyweb »

andreasaspenberg wrote: 02 Jun 2020 15:34 gamegfx was always there, tddload.ovl was not there to begin with but created by the patch.
Good. I'm sure you meant ttdloadw.ovl. Correct?.
That w is very important. Its use prevents a lot of confusion.
Now, lets see if we can point ttdpatchw to your CD drive.
1. Open ttdpatchw.cfg with your text editor.
2. Copy the first two lines and paste them in your reply.
User avatar
fridaemon
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 463
Joined: 27 Oct 2019 21:06
Location: Czech Republic

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by fridaemon »

Hi ;)
I tried to install old Transport Tycoon but it doesn't work in my Windows 10.
It has one reason - I'd like to get this blue skyscraper. I loved it decades ago and I miss it in game. Could be someone so kind and do screenshot with this building? Nothing around, just this building? :bow:
Image
Image
Beach Objects * Shopping Centres * Skyscrapers * Garage Entrances
Modular Warehouses * Trucks & Buses Parking Lots * Bus Depots * Bus Terminals

Winner of the Screenshot of 09/20, 11/20, 02/21, 06/21 and 07/21:twisted:
Timberwolf
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 311
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by Timberwolf »

fridaemon wrote: 26 Jan 2021 11:25 Hi ;)
I tried to install old Transport Tycoon but it doesn't work in my Windows 10.
It has one reason - I'd like to get this blue skyscraper. I loved it decades ago and I miss it in game. Could be someone so kind and do screenshot with this building? Nothing around, just this building? :bow:
Image
This is just a normal subtropical building from the original graphics set, if you use `original_windows` or `original_dos` as the baseset in OpenTTD it'll show up in later years in subtropic games.

If you already have a game disc it should be possible to extract the TR*.GRF files from that and use them with OpenTTD.

(FWIW, the screenshot is OpenTTD - I spot a custom building set, custom bridges with extra height enabled, OpenGFX coastal tiles and what looks like one of George's Long Vehicles on the bottom left)
andreasaspenberg
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 157
Joined: 26 May 2020 18:33

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by andreasaspenberg »

in order to use the original windows graphics, you need to install the windows version first. then you need to install openttd and then point its installer to where you installed the original game. that will install the graphics set from the original windows version.
User avatar
fridaemon
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 463
Joined: 27 Oct 2019 21:06
Location: Czech Republic

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by fridaemon »

thanks a lot to all ;) I used grf encoder and I have it!
Image
This is just a normal subtropical building from the original graphics set, if you use `original_windows` or `original_dos` as the baseset in OpenTTD it'll show up in later years in subtropic games.
It's not included in openttd, really ;)
Image
Beach Objects * Shopping Centres * Skyscrapers * Garage Entrances
Modular Warehouses * Trucks & Buses Parking Lots * Bus Depots * Bus Terminals

Winner of the Screenshot of 09/20, 11/20, 02/21, 06/21 and 07/21:twisted:
User avatar
luk3Z
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 180
Joined: 25 Dec 2005 17:42
Location: Kielce, Poland (Mars sometimes)

Re: have anybody gotten the game working in windows 10?

Post by luk3Z »

If someone have TTD v3.02.011 from here: http://www.tt-ms.de/downloads/ and have Win7 like me then to run it without CD & registry editing you need a:
1. TTDPatch nighty r2366 (2011) or r2384 (2013) - https://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/ or http://nightly.ttdpatch.net/latest/
2. TTD Registry Editor (ttdreg.zip) - https://users.tt-forums.net/shadow/download/
On WinXP you don't need a TTD Registry Editor coz TTconfig.EXE working fine and you may install TTD without any problems.
Find new graphics easier:
GRFCrawler -> http://grfcrawler.tt-forums.net
BaNaNaS -> https://bananas.openttd.org/
32 bit gfx in OTTD (32bpp) -> https://wiki.openttd.org/en/Community/N ... 20graphics
TTDPatch 2.6 -> viewtopic.php?f=19&t=67694
How to subtract tax from income (workaround) -> viewtopic.php?t=89763&start=20
How to ban distance from income -> Simple Cargo Decay Override
Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon Deluxe”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests