projective stations <-- stations in tunnels and on bridges

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
TopTechDreamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 72
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 12:21
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

projective stations <-- stations in tunnels and on bridges

Post by TopTechDreamer »

Implemented: projective stations (v.1.0) :
Station tiles under some bridge or above some tunnel make that certain part of these bridge or tunnel become a part of the platform of that station (if it has facility to be a railroad station).
It was implemented earlier that some tunnel or bridge can be a part of a platform of some station.

This release continues TopTechDreams patch pack (to v.2.0) from previous release + crossing bridges v.01.2 ( viewtopic.php?p=1236895#p1236895 ) Please, check this exe with your antivirus program before open this exe. My old antivirus says this exe is OK.
Note: This .exe file will not work alone - it needs all the other files usual for openttd.exe to work. So user needs to place this modified .exe file to the same folder, where openttd.exe (v. 1.9.1 stable) and all its support files are.
There is no need to delete the original openttd.exe from its main folder - it's enough just to put there the modified exe file,
and then You can run the original exe or the modified one.
Please, try run the original (official) openttd.exe (of version 1.9.1 stable, of course) from that folder. Does it work normally?
If the original openttd.exe works normally, then the modified one should do the same.

Modified source files ( *.cpp ) and saved games for example ( .sav ) are in There are some restrictions and some known "bugs".
- Projective stations are implemented for trains only - I don't know if it is possible to make such possibility for road vehicles. ;)
- The program (this release) can not insert projective stations as implicit orders into the list of orders of any train. (Just don't use implicit orders.)
- The pathfinder algorithm and pbs path reservation functions are not changed yet. (Waypoints will help. And I think the pathfinder gives better results with railroad station tiles. And... It's better to use "far end" stop location for orders with projective stations.)

New changes in source code to implement this features are marked with labels (comments) :

Code: Select all

//  for Projective stations in tunnels and on bridges
// Begin for Projective stations in tunnels and on bridges
Happy Christmas. :)
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#1.png
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#1.png (233.85 KiB) Viewed 2406 times
Image
Last edited by TopTechDreamer on 22 May 2022 22:38, edited 1 time in total.
TopTechDreamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 72
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 12:21
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Fw: projective stations

Post by TopTechDreamer »

more screenshots:
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#0.png
Image
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#0.png
Image
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#1.png
Image
Attachments
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#0.png
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2064-03-01#0.png (356.61 KiB) Viewed 2406 times
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2066-07-12#0.png
(492.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2066-07-12#1.png
(538.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by TopTechDreamer on 28 Dec 2021 06:14, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2642
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: projective stations

Post by Quast65 »

Does this require an actual station on the track that the train travels?
So, is this station always needed for this to work?:
Example696.png
Example696.png (51.29 KiB) Viewed 4971 times
Or is it enough to just place a station under (in case of bridge) or over (in case of tunnel) a track that the train travels?
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
TopTechDreamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 72
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 12:21
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: projective stations

Post by TopTechDreamer »

Quast65 wrote: 26 Dec 2021 09:47 (A) Does this require an actual station on the track that the train travels?
So, is this station always needed for this to work?:
Example696.png
Or (B) is it enough to just place a station under (in case of bridge) or over (in case of tunnel) a track that the train travels?
Not A, but B (or build a bridge over or a tunnel under existing station tiles - sequence of construction doesn't matter) - see screenshots of Brussels: there are 2 projective stations on (under) every (of 2) bridges: Brussels + Brussels Transfer for northern bridge and Brussels Central + Brussels East - all without "actual" station tiles (all station tiles are under these bridges).
The actual station tile in Example696.png is needed to combine (connect) 2 bridges into 1 (13-tiles-long) projective platform, because ends of these bridges are not directly adjacent. The longer is platform - the more smooth is slowing of a train at it... more precisely - the length of the way of slowing (this example of slowing is just beautiful). And for testing purposes (to see how combined platforms work [there still some tasks to do]).
The length of a projective platform includes the length of both bridges and 1-tile of the actual (usual) platform,
but the length of the way of slowing is shorter ( = 13 tiles) - from road bus station tile under the 1st bridge to the last rail station tile under the 2nd bridge near the Oil Wells (because in this test all the ends of bridges are not "station tiles"/"platform tiles" (are not converted - to test)).

// Boldly building what others only dare to dream... :) (C) #openttdcoop
Last edited by TopTechDreamer on 28 Dec 2021 06:19, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2642
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: projective stations

Post by Quast65 »

Interesting!
Would this patch then be together with a patch that disables (or very much reduces) the loading-time penalty for trains that are longer than the platform?

Because I envisage this patch to be very helpfull in making underground (metro) rail networks, as you now not need to waste space with tunnel entrances/exits.
Placing a non-track stationtile (for example with metro-entrance graphics), or a bus/truck-stop above a tunnel would then be enough.
That saves a great amount of space in cities, but trains/metro's could be too long for just one tile and would then get the loading-time penalty...
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
TopTechDreamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 72
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 12:21
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: projective stations

Post by TopTechDreamer »

It is already: the length of the platform is not 1 tile - it is >= the length of the bridge (or the tunnel) (with both of its ends), which is using for the projective platform.
There are some reasons to create projective platforms with at least 2 station tiles: 1 for the beginning + 1 for the end of the slowing way of a train.
This will make the train to slow smoothly. And this will increase the coverage area of the station.
(For example, stations "Brussels", "Brussels Transfer" and "Brussels East" on the screenshot "projective stations v.1.0 - test43, 2066-07-12#0.png" from viewtopic.php?p=1250555#p1250555 are made with 3 tiles of lorry loading area + 1 tile of bus station (to north-east and to south-west from these lorry loading areas). It makes the length of slowing way for the train = 9 tiles.)

Maybe, You could begin to play with Your projective metro stations? (No signals in tunnels or on bridges yet. Sorry.)
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests