Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
audigex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1948
Joined: 09 Dec 2007 21:28
Contact:

Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by audigex »

I'm sure it used to be possible, as I remember the "Are you sure? This might break things!" warning but I can't find an option anywhere now - has it been removed entirely?

I've got a VERY long running game (2 years old) that I'd like to add an extra train set to, and I'm completely happy to take the risks of it braking (I'll take a copy first), but there isn't a chance in hell I'm restarting this save game just to add one train set.

Is there any way to make it happen? I'm okay with hacking the save file if necessary
Jon
User avatar
Andrew350
Director
Director
Posts: 605
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by Andrew350 »

audigex wrote: 02 Sep 2020 02:56 I'm sure it used to be possible, as I remember the "Are you sure? This might break things!" warning but I can't find an option anywhere now - has it been removed entirely?
It was moved out of sight to prevent people from complaining about broken games because they couldn't read, but it is still there :) Open the console (~) and type set newgrf_developer_tools = 1 to re-enable it.
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7530
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by Eddi »

please don't go around telling people this, the correct answer in this situation is

Code: Select all

set scenario_developer=1
the (much more powerful) newgrf developer tools have waaay too many ways to destroy your game, if used incorrectly
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
audigex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1948
Joined: 09 Dec 2007 21:28
Contact:

Re: Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by audigex »

Perfect, thanks guys - I went with the scenario developer option to give me less things to mess up, and it worked a treat (I edited in the scenario editor, I'm not sure if that was required)

Now I have all the beautiful modern UK MU's to add to my massive UK save game - I'd started it a few years ago and the various new rolling stock and changes to franchises in the UK had really messed up my colour schemes

Kinda makes me want to go draw some updated liveries for the BR Trains set - my Class 390 needs an Avanti livery!
Jon
User avatar
Andrew350
Director
Director
Posts: 605
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by Andrew350 »

Eddi wrote: 02 Sep 2020 09:53 please don't go around telling people this, the correct answer in this situation is

Code: Select all

set scenario_developer=1
the (much more powerful) newgrf developer tools have waaay too many ways to destroy your game, if used incorrectly
Ah right, forgot about scenario_developer. That is indeed better here :)

Though if you are going to be doing some NewGRF work in the future the extra abilities are very handy, so it might be good to remember the option for later :)
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7530
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by Eddi »

audigex wrote: 02 Sep 2020 15:50(I edited in the scenario editor, I'm not sure if that was required)
no, that is not required, and probably not helping in any way.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
audigex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1948
Joined: 09 Dec 2007 21:28
Contact:

Re: Is there any way to change NewGRF in an existing save game?

Post by audigex »

Andrew350 wrote: 02 Sep 2020 20:01
Eddi wrote: 02 Sep 2020 09:53 please don't go around telling people this, the correct answer in this situation is

Code: Select all

set scenario_developer=1
the (much more powerful) newgrf developer tools have waaay too many ways to destroy your game, if used incorrectly
Ah right, forgot about scenario_developer. That is indeed better here :)

Though if you are going to be doing some NewGRF work in the future the extra abilities are very handy, so it might be good to remember the option for later :)
I have a page full of NML open on my screen right now, so it'll definitely be helpful if I don't decide against it (still getting my head around it)
Jon
Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests