American Bridge Replacement Set [0.4.0 Released 4-30-19]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Supercheese
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1660
Joined: 16 Dec 2007 22:24
Location: Idaho, USA

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Supercheese » 01 Oct 2016 23:47

oftcrash wrote:I like the dark. It helps separate it from the dirt road.
As do I.
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton

luxtram
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 333
Joined: 10 May 2016 19:09

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by luxtram » 01 Oct 2016 23:49

oftcrash wrote:I like the dark. It helps separate it from the dirt road.
I like the light, as it does not separate too much from the dirt road... Well, I know an easy way out. Make it configurable.
California City Sets viewtopic.php?t=76786
1000 building set viewtopic.php?t=75250

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by NekoMaster » 02 Oct 2016 02:07

Depend on what we want here, do we want a newer looking wooden bridge? Or a older dirty one? (The dark wood)

Too bad you couldn't have it so that the wood bridge turns dark over time like how American and TTRS roads change over time (after reloading a save or reloading your GRF in game)
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 » 02 Oct 2016 08:53

NekoMaster wrote:Too bad you couldn't have it so that the wood bridge turns dark over time like how American and TTRS roads change over time (after reloading a save or reloading your GRF in game)
That's easy to do actually. Whether it's worth it is another thing though. Its unlikely anyone would even notice such a change after playing for a long time, and it would mean all bridges would make the change even if they had just been built, somewhat defeating the premise of 'aging'.

In any case, ARRS depicts 'well-used' roads, so in the sake of consistency I suppose an 'older' looking bridge is more appropriate anyway. Thank you for your opinions. :) I think I'll go with the darker one for now, it can always be changed later if needed.

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 » 03 Oct 2016 06:32

One bridge type complete :)
woodencomplete.png
woodencomplete.png (53.83 KiB) Viewed 4155 times
A few graphical adjustments and a few more bridge heads and I suppose I can release a preview version for everyone to play with :)

Nikari
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Aug 2016 01:43

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Nikari » 03 Oct 2016 14:45

The style of the roads can vary. I'd suggest going with the colors that make the bridge look it's best.

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

User avatar
Opan
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 856
Joined: 06 Mar 2010 22:34

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Opan » 04 Oct 2016 04:45

Looks beautiful Andrew, cant wait to play around with them! :)

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by NekoMaster » 04 Oct 2016 07:36

I can't wait to use those concrete and plate girder bridges :) I rarely if ever touch wood unless I'm broke in game.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
ISA
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3379
Joined: 17 Oct 2005 20:56
Location: Estonia

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by ISA » 04 Oct 2016 09:31

Andrew350 wrote:Only thing I can't decide on is whether to use the light shading or the dark. I like both, the lighter one seems more 'cheerful', but the darker one stands out more against the road, so I'm leaning towards the dark. What do you think?
I like the light one. As for all gravely road and bridges, some dirt will pass onto the bridge over time and paint the blanks the same color.

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 » 09 Oct 2016 07:51

Rainy day today, decided to draw a stone arch rail bridge. :)
Minfingburg Transport, Sep 17th, 2079.png
Minfingburg Transport, Sep 17th, 2079.png (141.13 KiB) Viewed 3996 times
Needs some work, but stone bridge is basically done, moving on to steel girder bridge. :)

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by NekoMaster » 09 Oct 2016 09:23

Andrew350 wrote:Rainy day today, decided to draw a stone arch rail bridge. :)

Minfingburg Transport, Sep 17th, 2079.png

Needs some work, but stone bridge is basically done, moving on to steel girder bridge. :)
looking good
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by SimYouLater » 11 Dec 2016 21:48

No progress since October? Is this set abandoned or is it just IRL issues?
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 » 12 Dec 2016 04:57

Definitely not abandoned, just real life getting in the way. Once I'm not working 60+ hours a week and the holidays are over I should have time to get back to this :)

User avatar
CMircea
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 876
Joined: 29 Dec 2006 14:05

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by CMircea » 19 Apr 2018 10:30

Any updates on your bridge set Andrew? It'd be a shame to lose the graphics to the depths of time, they are beautiful :)

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 » 23 Apr 2018 05:03

Unfortunately no updates at the moment :(

I did finally recently come into some more free time however, and have been poking through some of my NewGRF stuff late at night.... :wink:

(Disclaimer: I have no idea how long it's going to last, so don't get too excited!)

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 » 30 Apr 2018 09:14

Hello everyone :)

After a lot of delay, I finally have a 'taster' version of the American Bridge Replacement Set ready for release! The set currently includes the bridges seen in the preview pics posted earlier, with the exception of the concrete bridge; that one is coming later. A few things of note:

- The four bridges included so far are Wooden, Stone, Covered, and Steel Truss, all shown before.

- Only road and rail are supported so far; monorail and maglev are left stock. The covered bridge is road-only for now, but a rail version is in the works.

- It is not perfect. I've done a lot of QA but some imperfections remain, such as mismatched bridge heads when building a bridge of length 0. These problems are minor though and will be addressed later.

- All bridges are unrestricted in length, with the exception of the steel truss bridge which requires a length of 2 or greater.

It has been a long time coming, I'm sorry for the wait after saying it was close to a release over a year ago, but life :twisted: As usual, the set is released under the GPL v2, and don't expect forward compatibility with future releases.

Enjoy :)
Attachments
american_bridges.tar
(96 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
american_bridges_source_0.1.0.zip
(175.52 KiB) Downloaded 52 times

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5273
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [0.1.0 Released 4-30-18]

Post by michael blunck » 30 Apr 2018 09:41

Andrew350 wrote: "Let's see if I can figure out NFO..."
nfo bridge code is just cruel. Did you see this one?
viewtopic.php?p=1203281#p1203281

As a proof of concept, I had recoded almost all of thgergo´s bridges from his set.

regards
Michael
Image

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5576
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]

Post by wallyweb » 30 Apr 2018 11:43

Nice, :D
Andrew350 wrote: - It is not perfect. I've done a lot of QA but some imperfections remain, such as mismatched bridge heads when building a bridge of length 0. These problems are minor though and will be addressed later.
My tile grid tool might be able to help with that. Just place the grids in a square around the abutments, then zoom in and adjust to taste. You'll quickly see if its an alignment or a sprite issue. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 503
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [0.1.0 Released 4-30-18]

Post by Andrew350 » 06 May 2018 19:27

wallyweb wrote:My tile grid tool might be able to help with that. Just place the grids in a square around the abutments, then zoom in and adjust to taste. You'll quickly see if its an alignment or a sprite issue. :mrgreen:
Definitely a sprite issue in this case, bridge heads were a little offset from each other when drawn. That could be a nifty tool though, I'll check it out :)
michael blunck wrote:
Andrew350 wrote: "Let's see if I can figure out NFO..."
nfo bridge code is just cruel. Did you see this one?
viewtopic.php?p=1203281#p1203281

As a proof of concept, I had recoded almost all of thgergo´s bridges from his set.

regards
Michael
I didn't see that, no, but I did have a good look through m4nfo when scouring the deep corners of the internet trying to figure out how to code bridges originally. To be honest, I didn't think m4nfo looked any easier :P I eventually decided it would be best to try learning plain NFO before trying to dive into anything else, at least that way I have a basic understanding of what I'm doing first (sort of).

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5273
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: American Bridge Replacement Set [0.1.0 Released 4-30-18]

Post by michael blunck » 30 May 2018 07:14

[sorry, late reply]
Andrew350 wrote: To be honest, I didn't think m4nfo looked any easier :p
Well,

1. You won´t need to allocate sprites (and/or recolour sprites) manually:

Code: Select all

    //this reserves some sprites into temp. params
    5 * 9	 0D 00 \D= \DR FE FF 08 18 00 //this "main" param is used to allocate all of the graphics via the following action 6
    6 * 9	 0D 01 \D+ 00 FF 01 00 00 00 //each sprite then gets its own param # to use in the final action 6's which determine placement
    7 * 9	 0D 02 \D+ 00 FF 02 00 00 00
    8 * 9	 0D 03 \D+ 00 FF 03 00 00 00
[...]
   27 * 9	 0D 16 \D+ 00 FF 16 00 00 00
   28 * 9	 0D 17 \D+ 00 FF 17 00 00 00

	//this allocates the following graphics (realsprites) into the sprites which were reserved earlier (in the order they are defined below)
   29 * 5	 06 00 02 03 FF 
	//sprite number 00 00 (the first sprite below) now gets changed to whatever number the grm picked for the first of the reserved sprites, then each subsequent sprite
	//is allocated that number + 1 (which corresponds to the number of the param above)
   30 * 5	 0A 01 18 00 00 
//rail
   31 sprites/wooden_trestle_rail.png  8bpp  1       1    42   30  -20   -3 normal //flat back x 00
   32 sprites/wooden_trestle_rail.png  8bpp  48      1    42   30  -20   -3 normal //flat back y 01
[...]
   53 sprites/wooden_trestle_road.png  8bpp  1      45    57   31  -27   -4 normal //back x 16
   54 sprites/wooden_trestle_road.png  8bpp  63     45    57   31  -28   -4 normal //back y 17
In m4nfo this boils down to:

Code: Select all

spriteblock(ALLOCATE,
    set(
	sprite(wooden_trestle_rail.png 1 1 42 30 -20 -3) //flat back x 00
	sprite(wooden_trestle_rail.png 48 1 42 30 -20 -3) //flat back y 01
[...]
	sprite(wooden_trestle_rail.png 1 45 57 31 -27 -4) //back x 16
	sprite(wooden_trestle_rail.png 63 45 57 31 -28 -4) //back y 17
    )
)

spriteset(0)
2. Then, you don´t have to manually "overwrite" (counting bytes, by action6) your bridge tables:

Code: Select all

   //and finally these action 6's tell where to place each of the reserved sprites (organized by table layout for easier viewing)
   //Ack, I had to split them up individually because there aren't enough hex ids to do all in one
   55 * 14	 06
			 0A 02 08    //rail x (part 0 should probably never have pillars set)
			 0B 02 18    //rail y
			 16 02 28    //road x
			 17 02 38    //road y
			     //mono x
			     //mono y
			     //mlev x
			     //mlev y
			 FF

//Wooden Bridge (00)
   56 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 00 01 //action 00 bridges(06), 01 property, 01 ID, ID 00, prop 0D, tableID 00, 01 tables
//table 00 - offset starts at 08, add 16 for each row
00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 //rail X: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0 //08, 0C, 10, 14
00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 //rail Y: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0 //18, 1C, 20, 24
00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 //Road X: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0 //28, 2C, 30, 34
00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 //Road Y: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0 //38, 3C, 40, 44...
09 11 00 00  F6 09 00 00  F8 09 00 00  00 00 00 00 //Mono X: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0
08 11 00 00  F5 09 00 00  F7 09 00 00  00 00 00 00 //Mono Y: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0
31 11 00 00  F6 09 00 00  F8 09 00 00  00 00 00 00 //Mlev X: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0
30 11 00 00  F5 09 00 00  F7 09 00 00  00 00 00 00 //Mlev Y: Back&Floor, Front, Pillars, 0 //78, 7C, 80, 84
[...]
You´d just define the tables directly:

Code: Select all

define({table_0},{
	segment(
		railbridge(front(2, 3), back(0, 1), pillar(NONE, NONE))
		roadbridge(front(14, 15), back(12, 13), pillar(NONE, NONE))
		monobridge(front(0x9F6, 0x9F5), back(0x1109, 0x1108), pillar(0x9F8, 0x9F7))
		mlevbridge(front(0x9F6, 0x9F5), back(0x1131, 0x1130), pillar(0x9F8, 0x9F7))
	)}
)
3. Since all tables for this bridge are the same, you don´t need to specify them explicitly multiple times:

Code: Select all

//table 01
   58 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 01 01
[...]
//table 02
   60 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 02 01
[...]
//table 03
   62 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 03 01
[...]
//table 04
   64 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 04 01
[...]
//table 05
   66 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 05 01
[...]
//table 06
   68 * 136	 00 06 01 01 00 0D 06 01
[...]
Instead, it´ll boil down to:

Code: Select all

layout(WOODEN,0,
	table_0()
	table_0()
	table_0()
	table_0()
	table_0()
	table_0()
	table_0()
)
C´est-ça.
Andrew350 wrote: [...] it would be best to try learning plain NFO before trying to dive into anything else, at least that way I have a basic understanding
Having a good idea of the underlying plain nfo is indispensable, especially for the more advanced projects, be it for m4nfo or for any other abstraction layer.

regards
Michael
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests