Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Which feature would you want in development?

Old American Locomotives (1830-1900)
10
16%
Old European Locomotives (1830-1900)
12
19%
New American Locomotives (1900-2000)
15
24%
New European Locomotives (1900-2000)
10
16%
New American Aircraft (1905-2500)
6
10%
New European Aircraft (1915-2100)
9
15%
 
Total votes: 62

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 01 Jun 2014 21:01

Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:Why start a game in 1800...It's still a very nice idea and all. Why don't you just convert the trains you need for your mod and use them from 1900 and further ? I'm sure trains from that era can be found for MSTS, and with the program to convert them you can also change the costfactors and buying-prices. If you don't know how to do that, I'm sure that there are people here (like Walter1940) who are willing to help you...

I wish I could be of some assistance, but the last time I converted some trains was three years ago, and I lost track completely on how to do that. I must go back to school if I want to do that and study the whole progress again...But because I have a family and two young kids I don't have the time anymore to do those things.

I hope you can still complete your mod...even with the limited needs at your disposal. Like I said, it's still a nice idea !

(And by the way...I play a lot of RCT2 at the moment, and those locomotives from that game don't look that nice anyway. They look a lot more like toytrains instead of the real work...But that's my opinion ;) )

Good luck !!
I'm trying to make it look like the default vehicles in the game without having the looking exactly like them, and hand-made vehicles look out-of place for this game, and MSTS only looks "OK" when it's been put through a Team Fortress 2-type filter or made to look "realistic" by the creator, like trainman's sets.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 01 Jun 2014 21:07

glenjimen wrote:Well, since no one will really describe what this is, I downloaded it, tested it and will now give my opinion...The cost of things seems way to high. I was playing Pebble Smasher, the cost of the smallest loco was about $2 million in 1830..... locos don't even cost $1 million until 1950.
Sorry, still under construction, and inflation is HARD-WIRED INTO THE EXECUTABLE, to go from 1900 to 2100.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 02 Jun 2014 02:48

Zakos wrote:Is this all for show? I can't imagine that the game stats would allow practical use of a locomotive from the mid-19th century. I'd equate it to running a train line with trucks that weigh 100 times what they should.
To tell you the truth, that was the speed trains went back then. 50 MPH was about the fastest speed of a commercial rail vehicle, and I was actually doing it right because there was a slum in the early 1900's ,because of an automobile boom, a max speed decrease on trains from that era. And I didn't even know that was real! So if I seem wrong on all that, maybe I've just been loosing a little luster from my giant luster silo filled with compacted luster oil. And the freight cars were default to have existed since time itself began, so those were not edited.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 02 Jun 2014 21:20

And no, this was because every game (besides this one) made by Chris Sawyer has had an expansion pack that laid waste to the base game and its rules of playing the game.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

Ultor's Coal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 67
Joined: 02 Sep 2012 19:53
Location: Nuova Jersey

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Ultor's Coal » 03 Jun 2014 23:44

Would you use the Clipper as the starting boat in 1830? Or would you create another ship?
"Why? Why not! Its your adventure anyway man"
-Q FLSB 4/2013

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 12 Jun 2014 21:57

Ultor's Coal wrote:Would you use the Clipper as the starting boat in 1830? Or would you create another ship?
It seemed logical that if there was a boat already there that is fine, keep using that thing until it seems like it is conflicting with something else.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

Ultor's Coal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 67
Joined: 02 Sep 2012 19:53
Location: Nuova Jersey

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Ultor's Coal » 16 Jun 2014 23:07

While looking for Narrow Gauge trains on Walter's website, I found some earlier model ships (Steamships and a large sailboat)
Perhaps you could try to implement that
But of course you would need to ask the creator of those if you could(I believe they were all made by the same person)
Historically, the ship was the best way of transporting stuff back then, I might be wrong so don't quote me on that!
Trains weren't exactly strong or fast
Horse and buggies were slow
No aircraft
So you might want some more ships to choose from
"Why? Why not! Its your adventure anyway man"
-Q FLSB 4/2013

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 26 Jun 2014 19:15

[quote="Ultor's "Don't Quote Me On That" Coal"]While looking for Narrow Gauge trains on Walter's website, I found some earlier model ships (Steamships and a large sailboat)
Perhaps you could try to implement that
Trains weren't exactly strong or fast
Horse and buggies were slow
So you might want some more ships to choose from[/quote]

You are wrong, the [commercial] steam locomotive became much more efficient than the boat in just 25 years, or 1848 (to be exact), when the American 4-4-0 and the Crampton 4-2-0 were the ones to get you around, and were much cheaper and more widely available to the people who wanted to start a rail service in that time.
And by the way,
in the game the steamship comes in 1910, so I'll leave it at that.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 07 Jul 2014 00:00

This has new features, and no, not the airport, that's from a mod by Steve the Airport Overlord. Look close at the planes. That new feature will come soon.
Attachments
Screenshot7.png
This has a new-- I will say no more.
(485.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 07 Jul 2014 00:39

Zakos wrote:I would want some other boat there to space it out, perhaps just a different clipper (Thrillville109 already did that).
Do you ever see an AI use a boat often? Chris Sawyer didn't put many boats in to begin with, so why should I? If I did, it wouldn't be as productive as using a train or road vehicle. The only reason I am harsh is because I am tired of everyone wanting boats.

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 799
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Walter1940 » 07 Jul 2014 06:50

I've download your mod and have some questions.

- The 767, 777F and A300 is the same plane. Why?

- Some models do not fit with description. For example, the Camelback.

- I have the feeling that you've used some of the original vehicles. Is that right?

- The internal name is wrong
capture_07072014_082852.jpg
capture_07072014_082852.jpg (50.98 KiB) Viewed 2623 times
- A plane with rackrail? (I do not know if this is normal?)
capture_07072014_082046.jpg
capture_07072014_082046.jpg (48.55 KiB) Viewed 2623 times
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 07 Jul 2014 14:42

Walter1940 wrote:I've download your mod and have some questions.

- The 767, 777F and A300 is the same plane. Why?

- Some models do not fit with description. For example, the Camelback.

- I have the feeling that you've used some of the original vehicles. Is that right?

- The internal name is wrong
capture_07072014_082852.jpg
- A plane with rackrail? (I do not know if this is normal?)
capture_07072014_082046.jpg
Because the 777, the 777F, and the A300 (767 and A300 are getting new models) were hard to make look different back in the early beta, so yes, they are based off of the original vehicles. Simply because barely anything can replicate Locomotion's graphics quite like Photoshop (Which I didn't have when I began this project) and Wally (Which I figured out how to use when making the American 4-4-0) And I will fix what I can about the problems with the- Oh.... It has a severe illness where it will not read quotations quite right, at least in locotool. So don't worry about that. I'll fix the 377 rack-rail problem as soon as the 767 and A300 get the new models mentioned above finished. Thank you for your- what tool did you use to get the pics? Locotool doesn't have an interface.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 799
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Walter1940 » 07 Jul 2014 15:34

Thrillville109 wrote:what tool did you use to get the pics? Locotool doesn't have an interface.


I use the Loco Viewer from digidampfman

http://www.wisim-welt.de/filebase/index ... ce-Teil-1/

For viewing files it is the fastest and easiest way
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 07 Jul 2014 18:52

Thank you Walter1940. It doesn't have every angle of the vehicle and the animation button doesn't work, but it's OK.
On an Unrelated Note, The New Model For The 767 and A300 (Which are the same model) Are Ready for Use, but are not quite complete.
So, if something (besides takeoff) looks off, tell me. And the shadows, which I have fixed, but will not release until the next update.
Attachments
767.DAT
The Boeing 767 (Remade)
(150.42 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
A300.dat
The Airbus A300 (Remade)
(150.43 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 21 May 2016 23:38

The mod, as I first envisioned it, is dead. My hard drive has been wiped, and most progress I made during that time is gone. So... you can go home now. It's over. I still have a map of Japan and Manchuria I am working on, but otherwise, this is the end of the line for the mod.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 799
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Walter1940 » 22 May 2016 08:16

Too bad. But I had the same problems last year. This is extremely annoying.
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5645
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by lobster » 29 May 2016 15:10

s***, and here I am reading this thread through thinking "this looks really cool, wonder if it's gotten anywhere so far". Sad times.
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 29 Jul 2016 17:17

Don't fret, I'm still working on a few things, even a fully-fledged map of Japan and Manchuria. So don't think I've stopped working on new ideas for Locomotion just because the mod is dead. I might even work on it at a later date, or even reinvent it. So, maybe the mod is dead, but maybe it will return. Just keep on waiting and you may see some new content.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

User avatar
Walter1940
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 799
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 01:30
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Walter1940 » 29 Jul 2016 20:12

LOL :P ..... Since I have the permission of AeroSim I build on locomotives from Japan. 8) Maybe that's what for your map of Japan!?
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/

User avatar
Thrillville109
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 16:47

Re: Thrillville109's Locomotion Expanded

Post by Thrillville109 » 29 Oct 2016 21:21

I'm looking for something that fits Locomotion's current art style, and if you can manage a look similar to that, I'll be all for packaging the locomotives with the map I've created.
"If they don't believe you, set them on fire with your mind."
-Michael J. Nelson, Comedian

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest