Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Feb 25, 2017 7:00 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: pathing buggy?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:04 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all. Old time TTDLX fan and iOS fan, was excited to see it come to iPhone :).

I recently started playing a bit more, and I typically start my games with simple bus routes. As the number of people waiting grows, I build more buses. Every time I start to get 20 or so buses between 5-10 cities, they seem to get lost or stuck. I've been using bus stops, but just realized there is a bus terminus as well. I don't know what the difference is, but the terminus does not seem to help my problem.

To try and simplify the issue, I started a new game and just put 2 bus stops in the same city. It works fine with 2-4 buses, but the more I have, the more they get lost/stuck. They drive on both sides of the road, and when one runs into another one, it turns around and wanders for a while. When the station already has a bus, other buses turn around and wander or get lost/stuck. It seems like they should wait till the bus leaves the terminal, and form a line.

Anyway, I must be doing something wrong, because the game seems to have very good ratings. For me it is unplayable.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: pathing buggy?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 6:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 4933
Location: Canada
This goes back a bit in time, but if I recall properly, Transport Tycoon Deluxe had a similar issue which was corrected via TTDPatch.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: pathing buggy?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 7:14 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:04 pm
Posts: 2
wallyweb wrote:
This goes back a bit in time, but if I recall properly, Transport Tycoon Deluxe had a similar issue which was corrected via TTDPatch.



Just wanted to make sure you know I am talking about iPhone version, yes?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: pathing buggy?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 7:36 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3639
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Does the turning around issue happen with both stops and termini? If only stops then it could be a bug but I remember locomotion having the same problem. Also have you looked at the official Transport Tycoon Mobile forum?

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy and roboboy. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: pathing buggy?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 7:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 4933
Location: Canada
grandpixel wrote:
Just wanted to make sure you know I am talking about iPhone version, yes?
No question. It is interesting though to find that something old was carried over into something new. Might be worth posting over in the iOS version's forum.

roboboy wrote:
... I remember locomotion having the same problem.
Perhaps CS has an aversion to standing in line in a queue and he considers this to be a feature :lol:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: pathing buggy?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3582
Location: IL, USA
Unfortunately, that's an issue that's (as stated above) prevalent in Locomotion and TTM.

Road pathfinding is never perfect, and when a particular section of road is frequented by too many vehicles, some of them will stray away. I think that's actually in the code as a realistic way to prevent jams; it causes buses and trucks to go in circles if there is no other way to go, however.

Waypoints will help, but when the street is too busy then they become useless as well.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.