Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:15 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:46 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:16 pm
Posts: 4
I could do with some pointers for this one please. I've tried a few different approaches now:

Staring with buses, then trams to build slush fund, then rail for Ore, but it was just way too expensive building in the mountains and ran out of time. A 'Profitability' graph would help a bit.

Similar approach but trains for Oil down by Albuquerque - okay this was my fault because I got the load/un-load orders back to front. I thought I would have gotten a 'zero profit for train' warning like in OpenTTD... Oh and then the plant shut down through lack of delivery.

Same approach but order the right way around, Oil well ran dry just as I got 3 trains running :( Is this random for resource levels?

Same approach but with 2 Oil Wells, trains got lost and caused a collision on a 1 way semaphore :( I had a few vehicles not path finding correctly now, on very simple systems like two towns with a single road connecting, and the bus in just in circles at one end of town.

Same approach 3 trains bigger Oil Well, but just ran out of time (35% goal)

My typical train is loco + 5 Tanker Wagons, and 6 length station, is this reasonable? In TTD it was a bit more clear if trains struggled with power, but here they seem fine.

It would be nice to have Sandbox for learning all this! Or I wish the game was closer to TTD or even better OpenTTD... :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3615
Location: IL, USA
Well it sounds like you've just had rotten luck with industries. Their closing date is random, and usually is not within 5 years of the game's starting date. Lack of delivery does not cause an industry to shut down.


Another thing: Don't start building costly train lines until you have established several easy delivery lines. By easy I mean rail routes on flat land. Buses and trams will not be a good enough cushion for expensive projects.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5239
Location: Canada
Connect a coal mine to a power plant. That'll give you a steady income. Then work on some passenger stuff between a couple of your larger towns. After that, go for broke! Serve the other resources and get goods and food for your towns. Stay the heck out of Donner's Pass. :wink:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:16 pm
Posts: 4
Well I finally got past this one, and no thanks to trains... It seems to only way to get a sensible profit vs running cost is to use trams. So I'm a bit disappointed now with the game, since the trains are my favorite part of TTD. On top of that, the train junctions are just a nightmare to edit as soon as you get more than a few lines coming together. The routing is also very strange, and the calculation for which train has priority needs some attention. Shame because the game was holding great promise for me. Now I can only hope that OpenTTD will one day make it over to iOS. I would at this point consider that prospect to be more the 'definitive TTD' game.

edit - just to add the above solution only worked if I was borrowing to the max nearly the whole time too. Just in case anyone else tries the conservative approach of buying what you can afford :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 2:41 pm
Posts: 1091
Location: Toronto
whitehexagon wrote:
Now I can only hope that OpenTTD will one day make it over to iOS. I would at this point consider that prospect to be more the 'definitive TTD' game.


It happened, and got removed from the App Store by Apple.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=61180 if you want to know about it.

There is a port of Simutrans on the App Store, but it's almost impossible to use without a stylus.

_________________
Image
"(Locomotion is) one of the best-playing games of its type." -Chris Sawyer

Northeast Corridor - South Wales & the Southwest


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.