Released! Purchase links here.

Talk about the new mobile version of Transport Tycoon (for iOS and Android) released in 2013.
User avatar
jonty-comp
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2544
Joined: 22 Oct 2005 16:05
Location: Chesterfield, England
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by jonty-comp » 03 Oct 2013 18:09

Sorry, I haven't had much chance to play since I got it this morning. Will have a good fiddle later.

bokkie
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 326
Joined: 19 Jan 2007 19:26

Re: Released!

Post by bokkie » 03 Oct 2013 21:04

kamnet wrote:
bokkie wrote:The mail says that there's no version for Android phones yet


There's not?
You seem to imply I said it is not for Android. I did not.

The mail says: (*Android Phone support is being introduced as we speak)

wanderer28
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 23:47

Re: Released!

Post by wanderer28 » 03 Oct 2013 23:19

Maybe he meant the lowering of specifications? Id est, "Android phone support for weaker versions"?

In which case leaves me in a dilemma... I haven't really tried playing my games on a tablet/phone, and I don't mind trying...

vinaximus
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 135
Joined: 23 Sep 2004 12:10
Location: Nepal, Kathmandu

Re: Released!

Post by vinaximus » 04 Oct 2013 02:20

I purchased tt13 and ran it on nexus 10.
The animations were extremely choppy. However the 31x said that it will be fixed.
-No pbs unfortunately
Good day building rails

User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by Zhall » 04 Oct 2013 03:46

Even an Galaxy S4 (quad core processor), cant run it?

What they should have said, is its arriving on Tablets, which aren't that far off from laptops, so no PC version is pretty lame.

User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2658
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Released!

Post by ChillCore » 04 Oct 2013 05:46

What they are saying is this:
latest newsletter sent out yesterday wrote: TRANSPORT TYCOON
Available now for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch and Android Tablets*!

*snip*

(*Android Phone support is being introduced as we speak)

*snip *
If you had taken the time to read to some topics here you would have noticed that there is no mention of a pc port yet, or are you really expecting them to drop everthing they are doing right now (see the * part) and do a port so you can make a youtube tutorial that is already provided ingame?
I will send them a message right now(**) to tell them they are doing it wrong, OK?


(**) Yes they do reply and it is not some standard automated pre-crafted message.
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6807
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by kamnet » 04 Oct 2013 05:50

Well, the Android port is not getting rave reviews so far. Nearly everybody complaining about lag and slow frame rates.

User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2658
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Released!

Post by ChillCore » 04 Oct 2013 06:00

I understand Kamnet and I am sure that me telling you that it runs flawlessly on the iPad 4 is not going to help much to make you feel better at this point in time.

What they have released is a full fledged game and not a slimmed down version of what it could have been.
I am pretty sure they will do their utter best to make things better but they need a bit more time?
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.

User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by Zhall » 04 Oct 2013 06:31

Lol 2.6 stars, what a great start.

Chillcore u know me too well.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6807
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by kamnet » 04 Oct 2013 06:41

ChillCore wrote:I understand Kamnet and I am sure that me telling you that it runs flawlessly on the iPad 4 is not going to help much to make you feel better at this point in time.

What they have released is a full fledged game and not a slimmed down version of what it could have been.
I am pretty sure they will do their utter best to make things better but they need a bit more time?


Clearly from the reviews sofar the iOS version is good, so why not just go with that? Like I mentioned earlier, it seemed odd that they only ran the beta tests for a few weeks, and apparently didn't beta test the Android version at all, instead just launched it same date. I'm just kinda surprised, why put out the Android version at all if it wasn't ready? Makes no sense to me.

Then again, now that I've seen the screen shots of the product, I'm also baffled as to why Sawyer would continue to use the 15 year-old dirty, grainy graphics compared to the nice, crisp, clean UI graphics.

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5271
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by michael blunck » 04 Oct 2013 07:11

kamnet wrote: Then again, now that I've seen the screen shots of the product, I'm also baffled as to why Sawyer would continue to use the 15 year-old dirty, grainy graphics compared to the nice, crisp, clean UI graphics.
It was a nice and relatively cheap bargain to resell Locomotion to a new market and probably to a new audience.

regards
Michael
Image

bokkie
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 326
Joined: 19 Jan 2007 19:26

Re: Released!

Post by bokkie » 04 Oct 2013 07:22

Regarding Android phone support: I haven't seen any phone being aupported. Did anybody?

User avatar
jonty-comp
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2544
Joined: 22 Oct 2005 16:05
Location: Chesterfield, England
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by jonty-comp » 04 Oct 2013 08:14

Impressions so far: (android version)
- it does take a while to load. However, my tablet does have rather cheap flash memory so I'm used to this. Some sort of progress bar would be nice, however.
- it does occasionally get a bit sluggish but it always speeds back up again and I generally attribute this to my tablet doing other things in the background.
- a clone vehicle button would be reeeeeally nice, instead of having to build another from scratch and copy/paste the orders.
- I only seem to be able to zoom between 1:1 and 2:1 pixel mapping, the latter of which looks kinda hideous. I daresay they've probably limited the zoom range so as not to have too many sprites on the screen at once.

Other than that however, the interface is lovely and the gameplay is...well, it's Locomotion!

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by WWTBAM » 04 Oct 2013 11:21

LocoRoller wrote:I couldn't agree more on the cloning button; that's something I've wanted in Locomotion for ages. I'm not sure if anything was changed at all. I haven't encountered any bugs yet, though.

The nice thing about this being an app is the fact that instead of complaining about the same issue for 10 years on the forums, a simple update may fix it.
That is the good thing. They were pretty good with bug reports on their private beta forums. If you give them a good bug report via their email address, with details of how to reproduce, I reccon you will likely get it fixed. I was just happy with the clone orders button but can see why a clone vehicle button would be nice.
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by Zhall » 06 Oct 2013 03:34

Pretty ficken slow on a phone, I highly doubt recording it will be anything worth while doing... Theres $7 wasted (I downloaded it and was going to return it, but I got away from my phone for longer than 15 minutes.)

Time to void the warranty! :D

EDIT: I actually might be pretty close to emulating it :D

User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Re: Released!

Post by Zhall » 29 Dec 2013 04:40

I was digging...

And I found this.

Seems fitting.

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=644

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Re: Released! Purchase links here.

Post by WWTBAM » 11 Feb 2014 04:30

Is it time to change the description for this forum to indicate that it is released :?: :P
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24029
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Released! Purchase links here.

Post by orudge » 12 Feb 2014 14:29

Consider it fixed. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon (2013)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests