Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:09 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Here is a first impression of the intra logistics concept of P1SIM. Fork lifts unload incoming trucks at the ramp. Every truck carries up to six crates. The crates are transported to a storage via fork lift. The next station of a crate is the input buffer of a production line. The crate runs through several production steps on a conveyor belt. After the last production step the crate is placed in the output buffer. A fork lift picks up the crate and takes it to the storage. A fork lift takes the crate from the storage and loads it into a waiting truck.

Attachment:
intralogistics.jpg
intralogistics.jpg [ 31.63 KiB | Viewed 6340 times ]

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:35 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
A simple warehouse. Access by trucks and trains. Note: The offices aren't eye candy. Later there will be rules like one office worker for 3 factory workers or something similar.

Attachment:
intralog2.jpg
intralog2.jpg [ 55.64 KiB | Viewed 6313 times ]

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2313
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Welcome to micromanaging hell :lol:

How does loading work when trains are longer than the warehouse? Will they move so all wagons eventually are loaded, or will they simply be loaded slower, similar to OTTD, or maybe not load additional wagons at all...?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:29 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Pyoro wrote:
Welcome to micromanaging hell :lol:

The term micromanaging doesn't fit here. You build up a factory/warehouse once and then it runs automatically. No micromanagement needed. If you don't even want to design the building you can just build a predefined warehouse/factory.

Pyoro wrote:
How does loading work when trains are longer than the warehouse? Will they move so all wagons eventually are loaded, or will they simply be loaded slower, similar to OTTD, or maybe not load additional wagons at all...?

Not finally decided yet. But if there are ramps for unloading the wagons, they represent the only position where a loading/unloading process takes place. Thus the answer to your question is: No, additional wagons wont be loaded at all.

I think there could be two possible options for "too long trains":

A) The train moves after having loaded the wagons which are currently positioned near the ramps so that other wagons can be loaded. Advantage: No shunting locomotives required.
B) A big train is split into smaller wagon groups which are moved by shunting locomotives. Advantage: You can serve multiple load ramp zones at the same time. Disadvantage: Shunting takes some time.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:47 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:14 pm
Posts: 393
Theoretically it could be interesting to have some playable options to optimize automated processes like intralogistics in industries for better productivity, but I've never seen a game which has done this in a really satisfying way. Capitalism 2 had a quite simple approach with different units for storage, productions and sale, which could be combined and optimized by training or investing money.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:55 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
robo wrote:
Theoretically it could be interesting to have some playable options to optimize automated processes like intralogistics in industries for better productivity, but I've never seen a game which has done this in a really satisfying way. Capitalism 2 had a quite simple approach with different units for storage, productions and sale, which could be combined and optimized by training or investing money.


Following the self given guide line "Only Visible Features Are Fun" there wont be any dialog boxes where you can pay some money for training and thus get faster employers. Only the (visible) layout of the factory, the timing of incoming and outgoing trains/trucks etc. as well as the timing of arriving and leaving employes decides the productivity of a factory in P1SIM.

(Side note: Of course the number of fork lifts is also influencing the productivity. But since every fork lift has a dedicated parking lot inside the factory, its enough to refer to the layout)

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:05 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:14 pm
Posts: 393
Yes, the interface in Capitalism2 is a nightmare, one reason why I always prefered a game like industry giant2, which is practically doing the same, but you see most necessary information on the screen without mouseclicking.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:05 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Attachment:
showcase_intralogistics_v3_preview.png
showcase_intralogistics_v3_preview.png [ 34.4 KiB | Viewed 6033 times ]


Attachments:
showcase_intralogistics_v3.png [313.47 KiB]
Downloaded 7 times

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:04 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:58 pm
Posts: 142
looks great so can be custom designed example large factory with different levels? because one image showed the tracks located on ground while the road bridge is above the factory is on ground level so i think elevators or stairways could be useful transporting goods up and down or workers

example a small walkway with stairs at either end to allow workers cross the tracks


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:33 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
rsdworker wrote:
looks great so can be custom designed example large factory with different levels?

The first P1SIM version will only support one level plus bridge level. The top down view isn't suitable for multiple levels. The isometric version could support multi-level factories. But Im not sure, if they would make the game better, since you cannot see all factory movements anymore. You would have to switch between the levels.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:58 pm
Posts: 142
smallfly wrote:
rsdworker wrote:
looks great so can be custom designed example large factory with different levels?

The first P1SIM version will only support one level plus bridge level. The top down view isn't suitable for multiple levels. The isometric version could support multi-level factories. But Im not sure, if they would make the game better, since you cannot see all factory movements anymore. You would have to switch between the levels.



that's true also i saw the tunnel as well

bridge level and ground level and tunnel - but sometimes if space limitions but with ideas

i think i give you idea - when you move camera down from ground - you will see nothing just earth so the movments of things are hidden called fog of war above - only revealed when you move down or up - once you placed underground bus stop with atrium allowing light down from ground - so once you back on ground - you see no trucks movement in basement but you can see movements of people passing through Basement atrium if the area above the atrium is open to air and not enclosed in solid tops - example Glass roofs which can see things inside

if the building has solid roof - which automaticlly hides the things inside for example you move away from factory that player built and its goes hidden - once you come back to same factory to expand - its unhides when you hover over it or using unhide button


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Intra Logistics
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:15 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
rsdworker wrote:
once you come back to same factory to expand - its unhides when you hover over it or using unhide button

i am already planning this feature for the isometric version of p1sim.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.