Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 8:45 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
I would like to use this thread to discuss all railroad related topics. How to build up rail networks, how to do the signaling, set up timetables, pathfinding, shunting and so on.

At the moment there are following track modules available (also see following post showing the available switches). Do you miss any?

//edit: note to myself: add tunnels and bridges

Attachment:
tileset_trackcurves_v2_preview.png
tileset_trackcurves_v2_preview.png [ 45.19 KiB | Viewed 9652 times ]


Attachments:
tileset_trackcurves_v2.png [469.7 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Last edited by smallfly on Wed May 16, 2012 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 8:47 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Attachment:
tileset_trackswitches_v2_preview.png
tileset_trackswitches_v2_preview.png [ 55.18 KiB | Viewed 9650 times ]


Attachments:
tileset_trackswitches_v2.png [682.61 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 9:01 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:21 pm
Posts: 845
Location: Dresden (formerly Ruhr Area)
I know you're actually thinking about that, but...larger radii. 10 tiles for tracks at least, as a maximum. And will it be possible, to have curves starting with the largest radius going down to a smaller radius?

_________________
[REL] German n-Coaches
[REL] German n-Coaches "Silberlinge"
[REL] German Class 618 'Lirex' HQ REALLY GOOD!
[REL] Rhinegold coaches


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 10:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:24 pm
Posts: 49
Is there going to be diagonal track? Looks good so far

_________________
Hover Vehicles


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 12:55 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
LocoMH wrote:
I know you're actually thinking about that, but...larger radii. 10 tiles for tracks at least, as a maximum. And will it be possible, to have curves starting with the largest radius going down to a smaller radius?

Larger radii will be added later. But if I add 10 tiles radii I have to add 8 and 9 tile radii as well, since the user would expect to easily add more lanes to the curve, which only works if every possible radius is available (up to a certain minimum and maximum range).

Hazzard wrote:
Is there going to be diagonal track?

At the moment I don't plan to implement diagonal tracks. At first I just didn't like the diagonal look. But now I just don't find a way to create the modules. I will try to find a solution but I think there is none (solution = one or multiple diagonal track modules must fit between 45 degrees curves of any radius).
Attachment:
diagonal2.png
diagonal2.png [ 60.3 KiB | Viewed 9627 times ]

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 8:33 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
I have done some thinking about diagonal track sections for freerct; the corner from orthogonal to diagonal can't be a simple arc of a circle if it is going to line up with the grid lines. I did some calculations on this at some point, and I was planning to dig them up, would you be interested in them?

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 9:38 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Zephyris wrote:
the corner from orthogonal to diagonal can't be a simple arc of a circle if it is going to line up with the grid lines.

which makes the game loosing its (planned) intuitive handling. intuitive would be to have half of a normal curve (=45 degrees curve), adding some diagonal elements and putting the other half of the curve to the end. i think that is not possible.

if i would do some "calculation" i would surely find a way to implement diagonal tracks but the 45 degree curves wouldnt fit to 90 degree curves then :(

Zephyris wrote:
I did some calculations on this at some point, and I was planning to dig them up, would you be interested in them?

yeah, of course. im always interested in further thoughts on this topic.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 10:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
smallfly wrote:
Zephyris wrote:
I did some calculations on this at some point, and I was planning to dig them up, would you be interested in them?

yeah, of course. im always interested in further thoughts on this topic.
Cool, I will have a look for it when I am back from work.

It may be worth looking at the corner handling in RCT/Locomotion; the method of nesting corners of different radii is quite elegant. There is a radius 1 90 degree corner, radius 2 90 degree corner, radius 3 90 degree corner, then a radius [almost] 4 45 degree corner (and two of these make a radius 4 90 degree corner). To make a radius 5 corner you can use two radius [almost] 4 45 degree corners and one diagonal track piece. To make a radius 6 corner you can use two radius [almost] 4 45 degree corners and two diagonal track piece. etc.

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:08 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Zephyris wrote:
It may be worth looking at the corner handling in RCT/Locomotion; the method of nesting corners of different radii is quite elegant.


I installed locomotion to test it. I think it looks quite ugly since the gaps between the tracks are different.

Attachment:
comparison_locomotion_preview.png
comparison_locomotion_preview.png [ 64.01 KiB | Viewed 9589 times ]


Attachments:
comparison_locomotion.png [86.02 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Ugly but flexible... It is your call of course though!

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:34 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Zephyris wrote:
Ugly but flexible... It is your call of course though!

I will try to find a more beautiful way to solve it (if there is one...)

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 8:59 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:14 pm
Posts: 393
There are probably ways to solve it for topdown, but not for isometric view. Locomotion curvs and diagonal tracks were satiesfying for me,(it's even possible to build diagonal stations), but it could be better. Take a look at the demo wwww.trainplayer.com. I did a quick search on the web and found this: http://theory.stanford.edu/~amitp/game- ... roads.html
Maybe useful, although there are no vehicles on the roads.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:59 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
robo wrote:
There are probably ways to solve it for topdown, but not for isometric view. Locomotion curvs and diagonal tracks were satiesfying for me,(it's even possible to build diagonal stations), but it could be better. Take a look at the demo wwww.trainplayer.com. I did a quick search on the web and found this: http://theory.stanford.edu/~amitp/game- ... roads.html
Maybe useful, although there are no vehicles on the roads.

As soon as the top-down version of P1SIM is finished I will start developing the isometric version and want to take over as much features as possible. Thus I will only implement stuff that also works after switching to iso view.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:43 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:14 pm
Posts: 393
I have no idea how difficult this would be, but what about using a different, simcity-like perspective instead of the dimetric projection, because it looks better for diagonal tracks?


Attachments:
simcity social.jpg
simcity social.jpg [ 182.02 KiB | Viewed 8836 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:46 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
robo wrote:
I have no idea how difficult this would be, but what about using a different, simcity-like perspective instead of the dimetric projection, because it looks better for diagonal tracks?

your picture only shows streets and tracks parallel to the grid. can you please post a picture that shows 45 degree tracks/roads?

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:30 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:14 pm
Posts: 393
It's a browsergame (simcity social). As you can imagine browsercode isn't really efficient and the game is more about creative citybuilding than traffic. The perspective is the same as for simcity4.
http://community.simtropolis.com/topic/ ... railroads/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:35 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:46 pm
Posts: 9
Will have third rail and catenary electrified tracks? How will it be? Different paths? Paths with compatibility among themselves? Will have graphics for represent the electrification or by your "clean visual" philosophy you don't want to put it into the game?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:44 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
ClaudeS wrote:
Will have third rail and catenary electrified tracks? How will it be? Different paths? Paths with compatibility among themselves? Will have graphics for represent the electrification or by your "clean visual" philosophy you don't want to put it into the game?


There will probably be three track types. As you already mentioned: Third rail, catenary, and standard rail. The track gauge will be the same. Thus diesel rail vehicles can use all three types.

For the (non final) look of catenary tracks see here.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:43 am
Posts: 4
Have you thought about the possibility of laying multiple tracks at once? Double or maybe triple tracks? I know it sound kinda lazy with multiple tracks at once, but I have often had people building track right where I wanted them because of single track laying.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Tracks & Trains
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:42 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 858
Location: Germany
Nerok wrote:
Have you thought about the possibility of laying multiple tracks at once? Double or maybe triple tracks? I know it sound kinda lazy with multiple tracks at once, but I have often had people building track right where I wanted them because of single track laying.

there will be plenty of comfort building options like that. so the answer is yes.

_________________
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.