How do I upload an update to my NewGRF?

Discussions about the technical aspects of graphics development, including NewGRF tools and utilities.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Donald Duck
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 24 Apr 2020 07:05

How do I upload an update to my NewGRF?

Post by Donald Duck »

I'm trying to upload an update to my NewGRF using https://bananas.openttd.org/manager, but after filling out all form and submitting it, I get the error:
There is already an entry with the same md5sum-partial for this package; this most likely means you are uploading the exact same content.
Obviously the content is very similar to the one I've uploaded before since it's a new version of the same NewGRF, but it's not the exact same content since I've changed the graphics a bit.

How do I fix this error?
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7627
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: How do I upload an update to my NewGRF?

Post by Eddi »

if it's the same md5sum, it IS the exact same. (*)


(*) there's a known attack where you can reproduce an md5sum with a specially crafted data tail, but we're not after cryptographic security here
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
Michi_cc
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 605
Joined: 14 Jun 2004 23:27
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: How do I upload an update to my NewGRF?

Post by Michi_cc »

The md5sum for NewGRFs is only done over the data part and not the sprite part. This should not be a problem as it's prudent to update the version entry in the Action 14 so the game knows which version to load.
Post Reply

Return to “NewGRF Technical Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest