cargo_types and making specific "recipes"

Discussions about the technical aspects of graphics development, including NewGRF tools and utilities.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Erato
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

cargo_types and making specific "recipes"

Post by Erato »

Hey guys!

I'm working on a challenge scenario for OpenTTD with custom industry and some custom vehicles. The goal of the scenario would be to deliver 1 X to a certain industry before a certain date. I'm new to industries so I'm not quite sure how I'd get this to work:
In the NML documentation it mentions that, in the cargo_types array, the following code

Code: Select all

accept_cargo("IORE", produce_cargo("STEL", 1), produce_cargo("SLAG", 0.25))
would produce 4 STEL and 1 SLAG for every 4 IORE delivered. Is it also possible to make it so it would produce 1 IORE, for every 4 STEL and 1 SLAG you deliver? Would excess be ignored. i.e. if I were to deliver 9 STEL and 3 SLAG would you leave with 2 IORE, with 1 STEL and 1 SLAG remaining in the industry?
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: cargo_types and making specific "recipes"

Post by jfs »

If you want to make rules that require two cargo types to both be delivered before any production happens, you need to use the production callbacks, the default production rules are not enough.

Production callbacks require a bit of planning and deciding which kind of rules you want exactly. There's two production callbacks, "on delivery" and "on production tick". The "on delivery" one happens every time the industry receives a cargo delivery from a station, the "on production tick" one happens every 256 ticks (approx. 3.5 days).
You also need to figure out how you want to handle the "both cargo types delivered" condition, whether to use the built-in stockpiling mechanic, or keep track of some variables yourself.
Erato
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Post by Erato »