Improved Town Industries

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

KeepinItRail
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Sep 2020 15:14

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by KeepinItRail »

I’m trying out the new waste collection and am messing up somewhere :( I’m in the early 1900s and am collecting waste with a truck from a stop in the city and am bringing it to a coal plant. The coal plant stop does say it accepts waste but the truck doesn’t unload so my truck going back and forth but never gets rid of the waste it has and both stops are accumulating waste now and no deliveries being made. Is it because the coal plant stop also generates waste or what orders should I be giving the truck?

User avatar
2TallTyler
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 166
Joined: 11 Aug 2019 18:15
Contact:

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by 2TallTyler »

KeepinItRail wrote:
08 Sep 2020 08:04
I’m trying out the new waste collection and am messing up somewhere :( I’m in the early 1900s and am collecting waste with a truck from a stop in the city and am bringing it to a coal plant. The coal plant stop does say it accepts waste but the truck doesn’t unload so my truck going back and forth but never gets rid of the waste it has and both stops are accumulating waste now and no deliveries being made. Is it because the coal plant stop also generates waste or what orders should I be giving the truck?
If your Power Plant truck stop has houses in its catchment area, the truck will pick up waste even though there's nowhere to transport it but right back to the same station. This is a limitation of the base game, but you can solve it by giving the truck an "Unload and Leave Empty" order at the Power Plant station. Let me know if that doesn't solve the problem.

KeepinItRail
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Sep 2020 15:14

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by KeepinItRail »

2TallTyler wrote:
08 Sep 2020 14:37

If your Power Plant truck stop has houses in its catchment area, the truck will pick up waste even though there's nowhere to transport it but right back to the same station. This is a limitation of the base game, but you can solve it by giving the truck an "Unload and Leave Empty" order at the Power Plant station. Let me know if that doesn't solve the problem.
That worked!

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 101
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by Darthrafael »

So, I've been playing around with this set quite a bit lately, quite enjoying it's relative simplicity compared to some other industry sets, but I've encountered a bit of an issue when it comes to using it alongside house sets (tested with JapanSet, Swedish Houses, and TTRS) besides Improved Town Layouts. Namely, no houses seem to accept food from Improved Town Industries (1.5.1), while happily accepting food from sets like XIS and FIRS. Any chance for this to be fixed?
Hi~

User avatar
2TallTyler
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 166
Joined: 11 Aug 2019 18:15
Contact:

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by 2TallTyler »

Darthrafael wrote:
21 Sep 2020 20:18
So, I've been playing around with this set quite a bit lately, quite enjoying it's relative simplicity compared to some other industry sets, but I've encountered a bit of an issue when it comes to using it alongside house sets (tested with JapanSet, Swedish Houses, and TTRS) besides Improved Town Layouts. Namely, no houses seem to accept food from Improved Town Industries (1.5.1), while happily accepting food from sets like XIS and FIRS. Any chance for this to be fixed?
Thanks for the report. Those house sets must be hard-coded to accept food with its ID, 0x0B, instead of a the modern cargo label FOOD. I can change food to its original cargo ID and fix this in the next update, probably sometime in October.

In the meantime, factories accept food and convert it into goods (canning, baking, brewing?), so there is a place to ship it no matter the house set.

stb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 36
Joined: 20 Sep 2013 20:26

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by stb »

Hi there,

Any plans about adding stockpiling behaviour to ITI?

User avatar
2TallTyler
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 166
Joined: 11 Aug 2019 18:15
Contact:

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by 2TallTyler »

stb wrote:
21 Sep 2020 22:29
Hi there,

Any plans about adding stockpiling behaviour to ITI?
Nope. Stockpiling doesn't fit with my vision for the set. But anyone is welcome to fork the project into something else, or add stockpiling as an option in parameters and submit a pull request. Just wait until after the 1.6.0 update next month, since there are some major changes under the hood. :)

User avatar
astralmati
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Feb 2020 20:24
Location: Poland

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by astralmati »

It will be very nice to see some animated smoke for extra industrial feeling :mrgreen: or even different look? i really like how FIRS or ECS industries look.
In ECS power plant changes look dependent on era, which is super cool feature in my opinion. :mrgreen:

User avatar
2TallTyler
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 166
Joined: 11 Aug 2019 18:15
Contact:

Re: Improved Town Industries

Post by 2TallTyler »

astralmati wrote:
22 Sep 2020 16:08
It will be very nice to see some animated smoke for extra industrial feeling :mrgreen:
Good idea. I'll see what I can do in the next update.
astralmati wrote:
22 Sep 2020 16:08
or even different look? i really like how FIRS or ECS industries look.
In ECS power plant changes look dependent on era, which is super cool feature in my opinion. :mrgreen:
New sprites are out of scope for this project, but I'm open to building a new industry set in the future using new graphics and lessons learned from ITI. I am also interested in sprites changing by era.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests