French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.1: Release Thread

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 697
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by Gwyd » 18 Jan 2019 16:35

I love it when people say this for two reasons.
1) Do they mean 32bpp, or extra zoom?
2) Do they realise how much harder doing either of those are?

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6771
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by kamnet » 19 Jan 2019 01:53

Gwyd wrote:I love it when people say this for two reasons.
1) Do they mean 32bpp, or extra zoom?
2) Do they realise how much harder doing either of those are?
1) They probably mean Blender-style "3D" rendered graphics
2) No, they don't realize how hard any of it is. :)

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by Snail » 19 Jan 2019 12:49

goremaniac wrote:Just one question, not 32bpp graphics ? The set would look even more amazing.
I can either do that, or I can work on the standard gauge French set. Can't do both and keep my day job :lol:
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by acs121 » 19 Jan 2019 19:39

Standard gauge ! Standard gauge please !

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3943
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by NekoMaster » 19 Jan 2019 20:08

Snail wrote:
goremaniac wrote:Just one question, not 32bpp graphics ? The set would look even more amazing.
I can either do that, or I can work on the standard gauge French set. Can't do both and keep my day job :lol:
Standard gauge would be nice, even if I'm Canadian I still would enjoy having a french train set.

I even recently worked on a 4K Europe map and included your French Narrow Gauge train set. I would upload the scenario but its not really mine, I just improved it.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 28 Jan 2019 01:08

Hello,

I'm not sure, but it looks like I experience a problem with this set.

I started the game in 1882, and now it's 1896 but I still have only the 030T engine.
According to the documentation, the basic set should introduce some new trains in 1888 and 1892.

What is wrong ?

I'm playing with JGR patch pack 0.29.0
Temperate climate
Parameters for the train set : 2 2 2 2 2 0
Version 1.0.02

Not using any other train set.

Oh, and I have another issue with accents... It looks like they produce some strange things... Rainbow colors... May be my problem is a side effect ?
bug.png
bug.png (83.22 KiB) Viewed 2607 times

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by Snail » 28 Jan 2019 04:03

MagicBuzz wrote:Hello,

I'm not sure, but it looks like I experience a problem with this set.

I started the game in 1882, and now it's 1896 but I still have only the 030T engine.
According to the documentation, the basic set should introduce some new trains in 1888 and 1892.

What is wrong ?

I'm playing with JGR patch pack 0.29.0
Temperate climate
Parameters for the train set : 2 2 2 2 2 0
Version 1.0.02
Hmm. It looks like you placed the set in "Toy mode", since not only you're getting only one engine, but all the vehicles are in company colors.
Have you double-checked the "Set mode" parameter? If it's in anything else than "Toy mode", it could be a compatibility issue with JGR's patch.
MagicBuzz wrote:Oh, and I have another issue with accents... It looks like they produce some strange things... Rainbow colors... May be my problem is a side effect ?
Thanks for reporting this. Not sure what's going on here, I'll have a look into it.
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 28 Jan 2019 06:32

I have "default, basic, alpine & toy" in the "set mode".
I tried with English (US) GUI and I still have the issue, so it's not related with the accents problem.

Could you try with JGR to check if it comes from the patch pack ?
I'm using the x64 version found in the JGR thread forum.

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 28 Jan 2019 09:16

I downloaded the 27/01/2019 nightly build of standard OTTD.
Disabled any NewGRF except the two files from you.

But I still have the problem : I still have only 030T in company color livery.

Can some game settings affect the newgrf ?
By exemple I play with breakdowns disabled.

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by Snail » 28 Jan 2019 13:36

MagicBuzz wrote:I have "default, basic, alpine & toy" in the "set mode".
Hmm. Not sure what you mean by that... The NewGRF settings GUI allows you to choose only one of these options:
frset_mode_choice.png
frset_mode_choice.png (20.29 KiB) Viewed 2400 times
What do you see on your settings? To get more engines than the 030T, you need to see anything other than "Toy" here.
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 28 Jan 2019 17:48

[french]
Arf, on est français tous les deux et pas foutus de se comprendre ^^


J'ai bien "default" de sélectionné. J'ai choisi aussi "base", mais ça ne change rien.
[/french]

Yes I don't have "toy"

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5271
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by michael blunck » 28 Jan 2019 18:05

Snail wrote:
MagicBuzz wrote:Oh, and I have another issue with accents... It looks like they produce some strange things... Rainbow colors... May be my problem is a side effect ?
Thanks for reporting this. Not sure what's going on here, I'll have a look into it.
Looks like an UTF8 glitch in that particular string.

regards
Michael
Image

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by acs121 » 28 Jan 2019 21:14

MagicBuzz wrote:Oh, and I have another issue with accents... It looks like they produce some strange things... Rainbow colors... May be my problem is a side effect ?
bug.png
[french]

Rappelez-vous qu'on est quand même 3 français ici.

[/french]

As Michael said, this is an UTF-8 issue. Often many games or programs won't allow more characters than the 26 ones from the English latin alphabet (a bit like names in California), although generally OpenTTD accepts most other characters, such as ä, ø, or æ.

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 28 Jan 2019 23:11

acs121 wrote:OpenTTD accepts most other characters, such as ä, ø, or æ.
Characters producing those errors are é, è and à.
I would say the 3 most used accents in french :D

Anyway.
My main problem here is about the trainset itself.
I can't understand why it falls back to toy mode despite my parameter (default or basic while playing temperate climate)

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by Snail » 29 Jan 2019 04:02

MagicBuzz wrote:
acs121 wrote:OpenTTD accepts most other characters, such as ä, ø, or æ.
Characters producing those errors are é, è and à.
I would say the 3 most used accents in french :D
Ok, at least one issue is solved. You may download an updated version of the Rails Set, which fixes the issue of the accents. You can find it in the zipfile of the first post (the trainset is unchanged).
The problem was me not saving the source file in the UTF8 form :oops: Désolé.

There is still one pending issue, i.e. the high-speed tracks being available since the beginning. They should be introduced in 1970 instead. I'll think about a solution...
MagicBuzz wrote: Anyway.
My main problem here is about the trainset itself.
I can't understand why it falls back to toy mode despite my parameter (default or basic while playing temperate climate)
This seems to be trickier. Could you please add a screenshot of all your other parameter settings?
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 29 Jan 2019 13:02

Better than a print screen, here is a video :)

https://youtu.be/u5A07M2V5ac

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by Snail » 29 Jan 2019 13:24

Thanks for this!
Ok, so there seems to be even more interference among the parameters, similar to what was discovered earlier (see previous page).
Playing with "automatic livery change on" seems to engage Toy mode if Default or Basic was chosen initially. Alpine, though, seems to still work fine.
Disabling "automatic livery change" allows to use the Basic set mode.

I understand this is not acceptable and I'm working with Michael to find a solution for this. Stay tuned...
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1160
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by MagicBuzz » 29 Jan 2019 14:00

Thank you :)
You're right, when I disable "automatic livery change" it works.

goremaniac
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 24
Joined: 25 Aug 2008 08:00

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by goremaniac » 30 Jan 2019 11:26

Gwyd wrote:I love it when people say this for two reasons.
1) Do they mean 32bpp, or extra zoom?
2) Do they realise how much harder doing either of those are?

Hmm... confused.
I mean the way it is done in "8/32bpp Extra Zoom 2CC" train set version (available via Bananas) - (text as mentioned in the grf description)

So I am assuming it means both ? correct me if I am wrong.

Off-course, French Standard gauge set will have way higher preference. :)

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: French Trains Set - Narrow Gauge v1.0: Release Thread

Post by acs121 » 30 Jan 2019 18:51

MagicBuzz wrote:
acs121 wrote:OpenTTD accepts most other characters, such as ä, ø, or æ.
Characters producing those errors are é, è and à.
I would say the 3 most used accents in french :D

Anyway.
My main problem here is about the trainset itself.
I can't understand why it falls back to toy mode despite my parameter (default or basic while playing temperate climate)
Yeah, but I don't have a french keyboard, so I used these letters instead.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests