Iron Horse! 2.2.1 Released 1st December 2019

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Kerbiter
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 29 May 2015 16:27

Re: Iron Horse! 1.7.0 Released 14th June 2015

Post by Kerbiter » 19 Jun 2015 16:11

Oh, new version oh IH! Very good! :)
My English is bad, so please PM me about my mistakes :roll:

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.7.0 Released 14th June 2015

Post by andythenorth » 02 Feb 2016 22:01

New Horse! Notably, many translations updated. Thanks translators!

-------------
1.8.0 Release
-------------

Not savegame compatible with previous versions of Iron Horse.

*Features*

- add Aberdare 2-6-0 freight engine
- rebalanced power of early freight engines (previously for many routes it made more sense to use the equivalent express engine, as it had more power)
- re-balanced Cargo Sprinter for express freight
- lower power, but with very low costs
- with no wagons attached, Cargo Sprinter will reach top speed quickly
- 1 or 2 wagons can be hauled per Cargo Sprinter, but acceleration will be slower
- add as many Cargo Sprinters to the consist as you need, they're affordable
- add vehicle transporter car (no cargo graphics yet)
- covered hoppers now refit to rubber cargo
- refit support for FIRS Cassava, Edible Oil, Nuts and Vehicles cargos
- refit and cargo graphics for FIRS Phosphate

*Fixes*

- improved offsets for vehicles longer than 8/8
- Cargo Sprinter refits didn't match intermodal cars

*Language Updates*

- many languages
- translator credits http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/iron-hor ... redits.txt

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17209
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2015

Post by Dave » 04 Feb 2016 00:23

It has taken two days for me to spot this but the thres title reads 2015.

Looking fancy, mind!
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2015

Post by andythenorth » 04 Feb 2016 07:51

Dave wrote:It has taken two days for me to spot this but the thres title reads 2015.
Fixed, thanks :)

Meanwhile...plans for Iron Horse...

Brit roster is mostly done.
- likely to add one or two pre-1865 engines
- possibly an earlier generation of wagons
- possibly add a second generation of narrow gauge wagons
- add more cargo graphics

Other
- future train type, maglev or similar, but current maglev tracks are ugly ugly ugly
- more rosters, not saying what, but we have plans :D

Screenshots posted here always help motivate more work.

Also feedback - positive or even negative (if presented usefully). ;)

kulacskarcsi
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Feb 2016 19:53

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by kulacskarcsi » 06 Feb 2016 20:07

Very nice set! The game with this set was so much fun!

One thing that seems odd to me is that there is no 3rd gen tanker wagon for chemicals. Are you planning to include one?

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by andythenorth » 07 Feb 2016 09:27

kulacskarcsi wrote:One thing that seems odd to me is that there is no 3rd gen tanker wagon for chemicals. Are you planning to include one?
Currently that's by design, there are a few of cargos (Oil / Chemicals, Livestock) for which there are 'speed limits', so no 3rd gen tanker or livestock wagons. :wink:

I could add a 3rd gen tanker. Is it really missed?

kulacskarcsi
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Feb 2016 19:53

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by kulacskarcsi » 07 Feb 2016 11:23

Now that I made some research on the topic it seems to me that it is reasonable to have speed limits on tanker wagons. I wouldn't mind having a 3rd gen tanker wagon, though.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5400
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by PikkaBird » 08 Feb 2016 23:43

Too much "realism" by half. ;)


Oakman
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Jul 2016 20:26

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by Oakman » 15 Jul 2016 20:32

Great set!. The only thing that is missing is at least one modern High-Speed Train (like TGV or ICE).


Oakman
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Jul 2016 20:26

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by Oakman » 24 Jul 2016 12:37

andythenorth wrote:Screamer not enough? :)

(is 155mph, 6400hp)

Originally the plan was to add maglev for high speed, but that hasn't quite happened ;)
Well the ICE goes about 200mph, the TGV is even a little bit faster. From 155mph it's more or less 33% difference.

Nazdakka
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Jul 2016 18:00

Re: Iron Horse! 1.8.0 Released 2nd February 2016

Post by Nazdakka » 02 Aug 2016 21:19

andythenorth wrote:Screamer not enough? :)

(is 155mph, 6400hp)

Originally the plan was to add maglev for high speed, but that hasn't quite happened ;)
A high speed Pax/goods maglev would make me a very happy bunny.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.0 Released 6th August 2016

Post by andythenorth » 06 Aug 2016 12:45

Iron Horse 1.9.0 now on Bananas

-------------
1.9.0 Release
-------------

*Features*

- rename the 'Brit' roster to 'Iron Pony'
- added 'Longwater', 'Tyburn' and 'Tidewater' metro freight units
- removed 'Mole' metro locomotive and metro freight car
- covered hoppers now refit to sand cargo

*Fixes*

- correct offsets for some vehicles at 4/8 and 6/8 lengths
- some sprites out of place for passenger metros

*Codechanges*

- removed incremental compile support
- sped up the compile in a few places
- support for compiling a single roster using a compile-time parameter
- random sprites now use random bits from lead unit of articulated-consist, not per-unit, allowing the whole vehicle to use the same randomly chosen set of sprites

*Language Updates*

- translator credits http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/iron-hor ... redits.txt

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.1 Released 29th October 2016

Post by andythenorth » 29 Oct 2016 20:50

1.9.1 now on bananas.

-------------
1.9.1 Release
-------------

*Fixes*

- weight was too high for Slammer and Tin Rocket, now reduced
- Tin Rocket HP reduced in line with reduced weight

User avatar
sevenfm
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 73
Joined: 25 Jul 2016 23:44
Location: Soviet Russia

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.1 Released 29th October 2016

Post by sevenfm » 16 Jan 2017 12:29

How to make it work correctly with Nutracks?
It doesn't recognize metro or narrow gauge rails.
Thermite is ok to use but it would be good to have more variety in speed/cost for rails and better graphics than default one.
Thank you.
I like trains. They are soothing.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.1 Released 29th October 2016

Post by andythenorth » 16 Jan 2017 12:49

sevenfm wrote:How to make it work correctly with Nutracks?
I don't know :) I tested with Nutracks r247 and got the same result as you - no metro, no narrow gauge.

It's a mystery eh? :)

EDIT: in the Nutracks parameters, try:
- 'automatic train set detection' off
- 'force..' on for all third rail and narrow gauge track types

That got me narrow gauge trains on narrow gauge, and metro trains on 3rd rail.

Someone who uses Nutracks might know a better way. ;)

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.1 Released 29th October 2016

Post by NekoMaster » 16 Jan 2017 20:00

andythenorth wrote:
sevenfm wrote:How to make it work correctly with Nutracks?
I don't know :) I tested with Nutracks r247 and got the same result as you - no metro, no narrow gauge.

It's a mystery eh? :)

EDIT: in the Nutracks parameters, try:
- 'automatic train set detection' off
- 'force..' on for all third rail and narrow gauge track types

That got me narrow gauge trains on narrow gauge, and metro trains on 3rd rail.

Someone who uses Nutracks might know a better way. ;)
I keep automatic train detection on and just force enable Metro and narrow gauge if needed.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
sevenfm
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 73
Joined: 25 Jul 2016 23:44
Location: Soviet Russia

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.1 Released 29th October 2016

Post by sevenfm » 16 Jan 2017 20:04

NekoMaster wrote:I keep automatic train detection on and just force enable Metro and narrow gauge if needed.
Forcing metro tracks allows bulding both metro trains and regular trains on metro tracks in Nutracks.
When using thermite tracks metro and regular trains are separated.
I like trains. They are soothing.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5035
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Iron Horse! 1.9.1 Released 29th October 2016

Post by andythenorth » 16 Jan 2017 20:50

sevenfm wrote:Forcing metro tracks allows bulding both metro trains and regular trains on metro tracks in Nutracks.
When using thermite tracks metro and regular trains are separated.
This behaviour of the trains is controlled by the railtype newgrf, not by the train newgrf :)

According to newgrf documentation here, NuTracks should have MTRO support. https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/RailtypeLabels However NuTracks code on devzone doesn't appear to have the MTRO label.

So what NuTracks actually does with MTRO, I don't know. :) There is a NuTracks thread here viewtopic.php?f=26&t=47347

If anyone who knows NuTracks better wants to comment...Iron Horse railtypes are below ;)

Code: Select all

railtypetable {
RAIL,
ELRL,
MGLV,
METRO: [MTRO, "3RDR", ELRL],
NG: [NAAN, NGRL, NLOW, NAAE, NBAN, ENLW, ENHI, ELNG],
ELNG: [NAAE, ENLW, ENHI, ELNG]
}

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests