Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:23 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:55 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:10 am
Posts: 262
wallyweb wrote:
Andrew350 wrote:
At least in the case of the ARRS version of TBRS I've thought about adding the dirt versions.
Having driven across bridges all over the US and Canada, I have yet to encounter a deck made of dirt. It would seem that a stiff surface such as wood, metal or concrete is the material of choice. 8)


I didn't picture actual dirt on the bridges, what I imagine would more like this
Attachment:
cobblestone bridge.png
cobblestone bridge.png [ 22.5 KiB | Viewed 2886 times ]


since this looks totally wrong
Attachment:
bridge of the future.png
bridge of the future.png [ 36.7 KiB | Viewed 2886 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Canada
Eddy Arfik wrote:
I didn't picture actual dirt on the bridges, what I imagine would more like this [cobblestone bridge]
Yes. That works. Put it on the early bridges such as the wooden bridge.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:42 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 434
Location: Washington State, USA
Yeah sorry, I worded that weirdly :mrgreen: I would likely just use the same sett pavement as already used for city streets (and which I'm fairly certain I used for the standard bridges too). Perhaps wood decking or something could be used on an older bridge as well.

But all of that is moot until I work out the mechanics of how to make the graphics switch work like it does in ARRS...

I've got some test bridges drawn up already for my experimental set, so perhaps when I get back to work on that I'll mess around with some NFO and try to figure it out. :)


Attachments:
testbridges.png
testbridges.png [ 121.42 KiB | Viewed 2788 times ]

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3375
Location: Estonia
What nice peace of art!

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:58 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:27 am
Posts: 377
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland
The wooden bridge is indeed really nice!

_________________
Some screenshots of mine...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:08 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 726
Location: Bærum, Norway
In my 18th century games with ARRS/TBRS, I've missed the old rickety wooden bridge. The stone bridge isn't always a realistic option. And please keep the original speed limit of 32 km/h :)

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:34 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 274
Those bridges are really nice. If you ever release those as a set, I'd love to feature them in a Let's PLay :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:33 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 910
Location: Beer
Nice work but I think you should try to use a LOT brighter pixels at some points to define the shape better. The middle bridge is really great in it's shapes, I like it a lot, but falls into the "flat feeling" of OpenGFX - cause you are using like half of the grayscale shades there are in the pallette. At least 2 more shades would help a ton in highlights! Not everywhere, just spots of them.

The wooden bridge is barely visible and blends with the land under it way too much. Again the same - adding some bright/very bright pixels to highlights/specular would help you define the shape. In case of the wooden bridge I would also darken the opposite sides. I know it is "flat planks", but it should look more plastic IMO.

The brightest (leftmost) concrete bridge looks alright to me, but the bridge heads have some wrong shape (do not follow the slope).

Good efforts though, keep them coming!

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:26 am
Posts: 25
This appears to be coming along nicely - keep up the good work!

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
I havne't been able to find any info about the asphalt change.

The parameter is set to 1940, but I still have dirt roads in 1970.
How does it work? ?( :?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:05 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 726
Location: Bærum, Norway
Krutzelpuntz wrote:
I havne't been able to find any info about the asphalt change.

The parameter is set to 1940, but I still have dirt roads in 1970.
How does it work? ?( :?


The easiest way is to save and reload the game.

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
leifbk wrote:
The easiest way is to save and reload the game.


Works like a charm, thank you very much! :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:36 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:22 am
Posts: 33
Location: Bogotá
Is ARRS Objects already in development? If it is, may I suggest adding in a further version 5 and/or 6 lane motorways? It would be in order to create highways with 4 functional lanes per side without using space between same side lanes (next post).


Attachments:
File comment: First Intent
Elorza Transport, 2 Nov 2000.png
Elorza Transport, 2 Nov 2000.png [ 45.07 KiB | Viewed 1534 times ]
File comment: (more or less) wanted result
Elorza Transport, 19 Nov 2000.png
Elorza Transport, 19 Nov 2000.png [ 45.33 KiB | Viewed 1534 times ]
File comment: (more or less) wanted result, actual layout
Elorza Transport, 14 Dic 2000.png
Elorza Transport, 14 Dic 2000.png [ 48.81 KiB | Viewed 1534 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:22 am
Posts: 33
Location: Bogotá
I would be really grateful if it were added to the grf. However, I'm sorry if this were a bad suggestion or if I couldn't express it in the most appropiate way.


Attachments:
File comment: best approach
Elorza Transport, 22 Dic 2000.png [65.75 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
File comment: road layout
Elorza Transport, 3 Ene 2001.png [69.9 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:30 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 434
Location: Washington State, USA
einsteinyh wrote:
I would be really grateful if it were added to the grf. However, I'm sorry if this were a bad suggestion or if I couldn't express it in the most appropiate way.


Hello einsteinyh, no need to apologize for making suggestions :) I think your idea is a good one, and I will definitely look into it. I'm currently busy working on another NewGRF set however and I have no idea when I'll get back to this one. But, when I do, adding your suggestion in is no problem. :)

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Canada
leifbk wrote:
Krutzelpuntz wrote:
I havne't been able to find any info about the asphalt change.

The parameter is set to 1940, but I still have dirt roads in 1970.
How does it work? ?( :?


The easiest way is to save and reload the game.
Or you can simply open the NewGRF Settings window and click on the "Apply Changes" button. 8)

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:38 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 726
Location: Bærum, Norway
wallyweb wrote:
leifbk wrote:
Krutzelpuntz wrote:
I havne't been able to find any info about the asphalt change.

The parameter is set to 1940, but I still have dirt roads in 1970.
How does it work? ?( :?


The easiest way is to save and reload the game.
Or you can simply open the NewGRF Settings window and click on the "Apply Changes" button. 8)

Only if you have the scenario_editor setting enabled, which it isn't by default.

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Canada
leifbk wrote:
Only if you have the scenario_editor setting enabled, which it isn't by default.
Good point.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:36 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:20 pm
Posts: 293
Location: New England, USA
Open the console and type "reloadnewgrfs" works too.

_________________
My NewGRFS:
VACE: VTOL AirCraft for Everyone | Martian Industries | Martian Town Names | Experiments and One-Offs


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 3:02 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:44 am
Posts: 2
Is there a way for the roads to switch to asphalt in games that had a starting year before 1940 when they are loaded in multiplayer? I can load save files that use this mod in single player and see asphalt roads if the year is after 1940, but I will see dirt roads that are there prior to 1940 if I load the same save files in multiplayer regardless of what the in-game year is.

I'm using version 2.0.0 of this set with OpenTTD version 1.6.1.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.