[OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

KasperVld
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1879
Joined: 21 Jan 2012 18:59
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by KasperVld »

FooBar wrote:
KasperVld wrote:absolutely love this set, nice job with the latest update too! I did however find a bug, although I'm not sure where the problem lies. It's present in both 0.5.1 and 0.6.0


To recreate the problem, start editting a scenario (doesn't really matter which), build a town and put a highway right through it, like this

http://i.imgur.com/UmOh3.png

Then, click the town's 'expand' button, which will result in the objects being removed by the town to build new houses, as such

http://i.imgur.com/AxW6f.jpg

The problem gets even worse if you have entries/exits to the highway, because then it also replaces the central divider

http://i.imgur.com/bJb1e.jpg
I've done some testing, and I think the problem is that you had the magic bulldozer enabled. As long as you don't have that enabled, towns will leave the objects as they are.
I was using the scenario editor, not a cheat :P
Je suis le patron et je vous emmerde!

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by FooBar »

Oh, then I misunderstood and tested the wrong thing...

Anyways, then it appears that "expand town" has the same magic bulldozer privileges.
Time for an OpenTTD bugreport I guess.

KasperVld
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1879
Joined: 21 Jan 2012 18:59
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by KasperVld »

[23842] 7 minutes rubidium -Change [FS#5001, FS#5002]: do not let towns (ever) remove objects

:)
Je suis le patron et je vous emmerde!

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Leanden »

Problem solved :D

Now if only i could get CPP patched to 1.2 i could actually use this GRF in my UK game :P
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by FooBar »

jor[D]1 wrote:See attachment for example where opposite hard shoulder endings are needed. Because there they don't turn automatically.
As of the current nightly the shoulder end pieces now recognize all other relevant objects for turning. You can get that here: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/dutchroa ... es/LATEST/

Also due to the issue KasperVld reported with the towns removing objects in the scenario editor, this set now requires OpenTTD r23842. OpenTTD 1.2.0-beta3 is slightly older than that, so you will not be able to use that.

Because of this very tight game restriction I will not be releasing this as 0.6.1 at this time. For that I'll wait until the next release of the next OpenTTD beta/RC, so that more users will be able to get this set from the content download. After all it's not really broken, it's just missing some features.

arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 404
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by arikover »

Good work for this set! As for the UK roads support, hooray!

I was wondering where could I find Total Bridges Renewal Set for UK roads, though. I saw these bridges on the screenshot on the first message of this thread, but I can't manage to find the set. Is it a private grf edition?

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1663
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Quast65 »

Yeah, I altered that GRF for personal use.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by PaulC »

Quast65 wrote:Yeah, I altered that GRF for personal use.
Any chance you could see about getting permission to release it? I'm sure people would find that grf useful. :)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1663
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Quast65 »

I think it's better to ask the developers of the Total Bridge renewal to make their GRF UK roadtype aware, I'll put my sprites in that thread.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
STD
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1758
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 14:53
Location: Russia, Samara

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by STD »

Good day :) ! And will be the continuation of the Dutch Road Furniture? This set me very much :) . With pleasure used in the game: to build the motorway. What do you want to add in the future in this set?
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by FooBar »

STD wrote:What do you want to add in the future in this set?
See http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/dut ... ure/issues

I don't know when I will continue this set.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Purno »

When I used this set for a lovely screenshot competition, I noticed I couldn't find a way to make one long gantry sign which overlaps a highway in its full width (both directions). Did I overlook something here or is this indeed not a possibility this set offers? :P
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1663
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Quast65 »

It does have that option, you have to place a gantry on the other side too and it will connect automatically.
EDIT: like this
PurnoRoad.png
PurnoRoad.png (35.71 KiB) Viewed 3613 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

ZxBiohazardZx
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1534
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 12:46
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by ZxBiohazardZx »

this might sound stupid, but could you make a (seperate?) set that creates overlapping tiles for the highways? i usually hate the -> markers, and overlay tiles like this would cover it nicely....

will also fix the 1 px gap in screenshot above

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by FooBar »

You mean overlapping the one way arrows? That would also overlap any vehicle on the road...

The 1px gap should be fixed in the existing sprites. However I only support the OpenGFX roads. For other road sets I purely rely on contributions by others (and consequently don't care if the sprites aren't perfect).

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1663
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Quast65 »

ZxBiohazardZx wrote:this might sound stupid, but could you make a (seperate?) set that creates overlapping tiles for the highways? i usually hate the -> markers, and overlay tiles like this would cover it nicely....
Do you place the arrow markers along the entire highway? Because that is not necessary, you only have to place them at the on- and off-ramps of your highway. Once a vehicle has chosen it's direction, it won't change it untill it reaches for example a T-crossing.
FooBar wrote:You mean overlapping the one way arrows? That would also overlap any vehicle on the road...
It depends where the overlapping takes place, see my ISR-style objects. That has overlapping parts that only cover up the road-graphics (the graphics at 0 pixel hight so to say), everything higher will be visible (so vehicles will be perfectly visible). But that will have the problem of glitching and in this case you would need overlapping parts that might be a couple of tiles wide and that will cause very heavy glitching.

You are better off asking the developers of the roadset that you use to make the arrows less noticable (or do that alteration yourself, should not be that difficult)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

ZxBiohazardZx
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1534
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 12:46
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by ZxBiohazardZx »

Quast65 wrote:
ZxBiohazardZx wrote:this might sound stupid, but could you make a (seperate?) set that creates overlapping tiles for the highways? i usually hate the -> markers, and overlay tiles like this would cover it nicely....
Do you place the arrow markers along the entire highway? Because that is not necessary, you only have to place them at the on- and off-ramps of your highway. Once a vehicle has chosen it's direction, it won't change it untill it reaches for example a T-crossing.
FooBar wrote:You mean overlapping the one way arrows? That would also overlap any vehicle on the road...
It depends where the overlapping takes place, see my ISR-style objects. That has overlapping parts that only cover up the road-graphics (the graphics at 0 pixel hight so to say), everything higher will be visible (so vehicles will be perfectly visible). But that will have the problem of glitching and in this case you would need overlapping parts that might be a couple of tiles wide and that will cause very heavy glitching.

You are better off asking the developers of the roadset that you use to make the arrows less noticable (or do that alteration yourself, should not be that difficult)
if you dont put them all the way then overtaking is strange, if you put them all the way then they use both lanes better afaik

i mean overlap as in hte ISR tiles that can be driven over, i see no reason for that to not work here as well, but as mentioned, maybe a disable arrows or hide arrows would fit

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1663
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by Quast65 »

AFAIK rv's overtake in the same manner one-way road or normal road. I'd say test it out with two stretches of highway, one with one-way and one without. Put same vehicles on both and let them start at the same time.
The only strange behavour I have noticed is that when you have two articulated vehicles behind each other (the first with slower speed than the second, so they are really close to each other), that non-articulated vehicles can't overtake them, because there is no gap between them. But that is the same for one-way or normal road. I don't think that vehicles see one-way roads as two seperate lanes.
allthough I might be wrong, maybe there is a pathfinder out there that does do that (in that case, which one)

Regarding the overlapping tiles, it could work (still danger of heavy glitching). But you would have to make tiles with different roadtypes on them (if this set is compatible with a couple of roadtypes) and you will need a heck of a lot of tiles for all the different ways that the overlapping is needed.

But if you want to stick to oneway roads, I recommend looking at this little GRF: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=35787
Should be easy to alter the graphics of that and you could contact the original author to ask permission to use his code and graphics for a public release.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
shampie
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 120
Joined: 13 Feb 2005 01:13
Location: Eindhoven - Netherlands Ottawa - Canada

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by shampie »

Excellent addition to Transport tycoon! Would love to see this work on bridges too!
To express moral judgments about good and evil, you must posit that good and evil exist
If good and evil exist, you must posit a moral law by which we can distinguish between good and evil
If a moral law exists, a moral law giver must exist.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Dutch Road Furniture 0.6.0 (2012/01/19)

Post by FooBar »

shampie wrote:Would love to see this work on bridges too!
Me too! Unfortunately NML doesn't do bridges yet.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests