Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 184 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 810 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
Andre_ wrote:
Hi! Thanks for the great addition to the game! Could you please implement cargo transportation possibilities? If you don't have enough time for the graphics, please just have one generic look for the cargo trailers, but having them would be awesome!


Emperor Jake wrote:
Yes, the Vactrain is limited to passengers and express cargos, and will probably remain that way. The reasoning is that in the future, something like coal (if it still exists, which it always will in OTTD) will still be transported by long and slow freight trains. In short, it's realism :twisted: However, if anyone really wants to carry the heavy cargoes, draw a cargo vactrain and I will gladly code it as an extension set. Or I might consider it when I have more time.

- Jake

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:36 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:41 pm
Posts: 53
So a quick question here. what GRF pack is this? The one posted on the first page

I'd love to get my hand on the station GRF

Now im thinking about it. I'd also like to get the trucks he has

Image


Can anyone name these? :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Which station grf? I see at least three.

The greyish curved roofs are NewStations. The monorail station is from OpenGFX. The one in between looks to be Japanese stations. The bit of park you see is from VAST I believe. The platforms with the yellow line may belong to anything, but I guess that's also Japanese.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:41 pm
Posts: 53
FooBar wrote:
Which station grf? I see at least three.

The greyish curved roofs are NewStations. The monorail station is from OpenGFX. The one in between looks to be Japanese stations. The bit of park you see is from VAST I believe. The platforms with the yellow line may belong to anything, but I guess that's also Japanese.


Neat, thanks!

What about the trucks/vehicles?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:37 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:50 pm
Posts: 158
Location: Moscow, Russia
lekkimsm2500 wrote:
What about the trucks/vehicles?


(e)GRVTS and Ikarus busses I believe.

_________________
Sorry for my ugly English.

My modest screenies.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:21 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:29 am
Posts: 114
I like it, but only one thing,
THE FACT THAT IVE STARTED A NEW GAME!!!! AND I CANT ADD IT INTO THAT GAME!! ARG!
:evil:
but anyway, nice GRF.


SSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:52 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 6:41 pm
Posts: 951
Location: Prague, Czech rep.
Just enter the debug mode to add the Vacuum Trains to an existing game. I did the same.

Btw, there is a discussion going on weather to make the trains available to carry other cargo as well or not. My opinion is, that this decision should be left on the player - to let him play the way he wants. I don't think it is necessary to draw all new types, just use the mail one default graphics and make it refitable to all cargo types.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
Colonel32 wrote:
Just enter the debug mode to add the Vacuum Trains to an existing game. I did the same.
Keep in mind that the second you enable the scenario developer mode, your game may become unstable to the point of not being playable, or being able to be shared with other users or in a multiplayer game.

Colonel32 wrote:
Btw, there is a discussion going on weather to make the trains available to carry other cargo as well or not. My opinion is, that this decision should be left on the player - to let him play the way he wants. I don't think it is necessary to draw all new types, just use the mail one default graphics and make it refitable to all cargo types.
Where is this "ongoing discussion"? Not in this thread, where the author made his stance clear nearly a year ago. Although, I suppose that if one wanted, one could make their own NewGRF which modifies Emperor Jake's work and enables all cargo in his vehicles.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 9:51 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 31
Andre_ wrote:
Hi!

Thanks for the great addition to the game!

Could you please implement cargo transportation possibilities? If you don't have enough time for the graphics, please just have one generic look for the cargo trailers, but having them would be awesome!


any luck on this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:27 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4505
Location: home
LordNokon wrote:
any luck on this?
Your question is already answered by nobody posting about it. If it were successful someone would have posted about it and/or created a new release with the feature.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:03 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 31
Alberth wrote:
LordNokon wrote:
any luck on this?
Your question is already answered by nobody posting about it. If it were successful someone would have posted about it and/or created a new release with the feature.


Its been a year since the author posted about an update. I was wondering if any other person who does coding maybe by any change made there own custom cargo vehicle which could be use with the Vacuum tube train set.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
I'm sure that if they had, they would have either posted it here, or in there own thread and had a pointer to it posted here.

Lots of talk from people who WANT this to change, but not enough want to actually make it happen.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 31
Question I think is how much more must one beg for someone just to complete that one cargo set.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:32 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9023
Location: Sol d
LordNokon wrote:
Question I think is how much more must one beg for someone just to complete that one cargo set.

Begging doesn't help usually.

Generally, iIf everyone waited or begged for someone to do what anyone could do, noone will do it.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1629
Location: Idaho, USA
You could learn how NML works and edit the set yourself, just change the refittable cargo classes so, say, the mail van can refit to any cargo.

The source code is here: http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/vac ... y/show/src

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
LordNokon wrote:
Question I think is how much more must one beg for someone just to complete that one cargo set.


An old phrase from where I come from, "You can want on one hand and [wish] on the other." :mrgreen:

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:25 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2888
Location: Straya
I realise there is a high demand for this set to support all cargo types, and I wouldn't mind implementing it now. However, since I started university I haven't had much time to work on my NewGRF projects. However, I'll have lots of free time over the end of year break (November to Febuary) so you might be able to expect some progress then :)

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:55 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 31
Emperor Jake wrote:
I realise there is a high demand for this set to support all cargo types, and I wouldn't mind implementing it now. However, since I started university I haven't had much time to work on my NewGRF projects. However, I'll have lots of free time over the end of year break (November to Febuary) so you might be able to expect some progress then :)


Thanks Emperor Jake that would be greatly appreciated :bow:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:47 am
Posts: 11008
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Emperor Jake wrote:
However, I'll have lots of free time over the end of year break (November to Febuary) so you might be able to expect some progress then

I hope that applies to the 2cc set too... hehehehe... :mrgreen:

_________________
Leon

Image Image Image Image
"... all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by..." - John Masefield


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 11:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:24 pm
Posts: 14
I love the set, its interesting, beautiful to look at, and rather fun to use. I just have a little constructive feedback.
I know you probably know this one allready but cargo cars would make this set complete and a step up from maglev in everyway.
I dont know if it was a bug with another patch but building costs for track, and running costs for engines where huge. single tile track pieces where 3.5 million and growing every year, engines running 6 million running cost a year. if this was intentional please consider lowering, Maglev engines at 2054 had just broken the 1 mill a year running cost mark depending on the engine.
Consider adding your own bridge, with no custom other modded bridges, the highest speed bridge I have is 380 MPH, compaired to the 1500MPH of the slowest engine offered, its actually more effecent speed and time wise to build around lakes and rivers or level them, then to build a bridge.
Other then these things which arent a true problem just nitpicking on my part, I love the mod and the idea, and from what iv seen your off to a awesome start and a memorable mod.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 184 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 810 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.