Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:47 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:09 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
Here I present NewGRFs from my magic workshop. These ones affect only graphics.

No Grid Land
NoGridLand
Makes edges of all landtiles smooth, so no grids appear. Done for all climates. Could interfere with another graphics set which changes tiles, so experiment with newgrf order to achieve the desired look. No parametres.

Arctic remove snow
ArcticRemoveSnow
For those who dont like shiny arctic snow. Subtitutes all snow graphic with temperate one. If another newgrf with snow sprites loaded (e.g. some cargo set with new snowy factories), it will of course show the snowy graphics. No parametres.

New Trees
NewTree
Is something like sequel from Stolen Trees set. I like that very much, so I make it slightly better by rescaling trees, so now they grow from smallest to full bloom. No parametres.

Check these screenshots:
Attachment:
File comment: Temperate with no grids and new trees
temp.png [320.22 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Attachment:
File comment: Arctic with no grids
snow.png [308.38 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

Attachment:
File comment: Desert with no grids
desert.png [218.43 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times


Last edited by Honza_ on Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:47 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9012
Location: Sol d
Honza_ wrote:
Arctic remove snow
ArcticRemoveSnow
For those who dont like shiny arctic snow. Subtitutes all snow graphic with temperate one.

I don't understand the reason for this newgrf. It's easy as pie to set the snowline height to something higher than what can occur ingame... care to elaborate more / post a screenshot of that and what would be the difference to a normal arctic scenario without snow?

And please attach the screenshots to this forum. External sites are slow and your image sizes break the page layout.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
planetmaker wrote:
I don't understand the reason for this newgrf. It's easy as pie to set the snowline height to something higher than what can occur ingame


Dear planetmaker,
because as stated on wiki:
"WARNING: Some code in TTD assumes that the snow line will remain constant: Some industries are built only above/below snowline and assume that the snow line won't move when they're already built. Similarly, snowy houses on arctic will still appear snowy even when the snow disappears around them. If you want to use this feature, make sure to counter these effects by overriding arctic houses and industries with snow-aware versions."

This newgrf only substitutes graphics and is mainly considered to be ran as static grf (e.g. if you join a server with some settings, Remove Snow will still apply). Moving with snowline would cause problems with industries or servers settings, or it will overwrite one of these, so no remove of snow would happen. At least this is how I thought it works.
It is a fact that arctic without snow is sad thing, but there are people who dont like shiny snow because their eyes get hurt.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:31 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9012
Location: Sol d
Honza_ wrote:
This newgrf only substitutes graphics and is mainly considered to be ran as static grf (e.g. if you join a server with some settings, Remove Snow will still apply).
It is a fact that arctic without snow is sad thing, but there are people who dont like shiny snow because their eyes get hurt.


Right. Using it as a static newgrf on a server which actually runs a (partially) snowy landscape makes sense. I didn't think of that - especially as I always though removing snow from arctic is a sad thing ;-)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 10:21 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 5:42 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Poland
No Grid Land + New Trees = cool :)

_________________
Find new graphics easier:
GRFCrawler -> http://grfcrawler.tt-forums.net
BaNaNaS -> http://bananas.openttd.org/en/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
include a newtree for artic? testw.grf already does that, since you based on the other stolen tree set, why not add that in?

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 10
Why NoGridLand don't use OpenGFX's sea/lakes graphics... It looks great. But with this grf sea/lakes look like classic TTD :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 1265
Location: Here and there, sometime or another
There is OpenGFX+ Landscape, though it's still at an early stage of development.

_________________
--- Licenses: GNU LGPL, version 2 or newer, code and graphics. CC-By-SA, graphics, alternatively. If you're using any, I'd like to hear about it --- Call them "track types" ---
--- Mostly inactive developer for: NuTracks - Central European Train Set --- Running/compiling for: Linux (x86) - Android - Windows (32/64 bit) ---

--- Need a file packer? 7-Zip --- BOINC - use your computing power to benefit science --- Block trackers, not ads --- Unix in dispersible pellets, the formula for the future. ---


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:29 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:17 am
Posts: 332
Skype: Aron Bogdan Silviu
Location: Torino, Italy
Honza, Good work! and Thanks!

_________________
I was in:
Austria,Belgium,Brazil,China,France,Germany,Holland,Hungary,Italy,Luxemburg,Norway,Panamà,Poland,Romania,
Saudi Arabia,Slovenia,Spain,Switzerland,U.K.,Ukraine,U.S.A.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:47 am
Posts: 10951
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Nice! Great job! :D

_________________
Leon

Image Image Image Image
"... all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by..." - John Masefield


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:54 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:09 am
Posts: 882
Location: Northeastern USA
Attachment:
Jones & Co., 29th Aug 1951.png [243.54 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times
:bow: We're not worthy! We're not worthy!

Will post a nice screenshot when I get a chance with NoGridLand, NewTree, and my eclectic mix of North American style GRFs. 8)

I actually caught myself just sitting back and watching the trains run the other day. NARS 2 late steam and early diesel, '50s buses and trucks from eGRVTS (mine and th AIs') running around, and street traffic courtesy of Town Cars.

Edit: Here's a nice one. Train 1 with a brand-new Baldwin "Sharknose" RF-16 on the point unloads wood and loads lumber at Cedar Rapids Valley. Train 2 (the MacKellar switcher) has just been given a former EMD F7 road unit, as the Alco S2 was underpowered for the job. Just behind the station, Budd RDC #4 is loading passengers for Cedar Rapids.



luk3Z wrote:
No Grid Land + New Trees = cool :)

_________________
Who is John Galt?


Last edited by ostlandr on Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:51 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 4969
Location: Canada
/me wonders why there are two exactly, identical, same, twin screenshots ... :roll:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:25 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:09 am
Posts: 882
Location: Northeastern USA
Me wonders, too- and wonders even more why when I tried to delete one, they both went. . . :?:

wallyweb wrote:
/me wonders why there are two exactly, identical, same, twin screenshots ... :roll:

_________________
Who is John Galt?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.