Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:14 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 11:07 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
OpenGFX+ Trains 0.2.5

A new version is available from bananas or the DevZone. It brings a small bug fix to the existing version. As I plan to do some internal re-factoring before adding any new major features, I better release this before venturing any depths into not-so-visible changes :-):

Code:
- Fix: Asiastar and TIM were truncated in height in the horizontal view

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 12:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 965
Location: Birmingham, England
I'm going to try this trainset with the OGFX industries grf. A quick check shows all the available cargos have wagons (temperate with copper/water/fruit/food added).


Last edited by 3iff on Tue May 24, 2011 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 6:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 965
Location: Birmingham, England
Works fine with one graphics glitch (so far). I'm using version 0.2.5.

Container goods wagons change colour when the train reverses after loading in a station.
The containers appear on the train as it's loading and might be green, green, red, red. Once the train loads up, it reverses direction to leave the station and suddenly the containers are blue, green, red, pink. If they exited a ro-ro station then this doesn't happen.

It's a bit disconcerting but doesn't otherwise cause any problems.

Oh, and I'm strongly in favour of mixed designs/colours of wagons and tankers if that's something you're looking to do.

Oh, also, carrying fruit in bulk wagons? (just askiing...)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 7:14 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
3iff wrote:
Works fine with one graphics glitch (so far). I'm using version 0.2.5.

Container goods wagons change colour when the train reverses after loading in a station.
The containers appear on the train as it's loading and might be green, green, red, red. Once the train loads up, it reverses direction to leave the station and suddenly the containers are blue, green, red, pink. If they exited a ro-ro station then this doesn't happen.

It's a bit disconcerting but doesn't otherwise cause any problems.

Oh, and I'm strongly in favour of mixed designs/colours of wagons and tankers if that's something you're looking to do.

Oh, also, carrying fruit in bulk wagons? (just askiing...)

I'll look into the container issue. Once loaded they should not change, thanks for the report.

Probably a language issue on my side: what exactly do you mean with "mixed designs/ colours of wagons and tankers"?

Wrt fruit it may seem odd - for most types of fruits. It may seem right for vegitales (like potatoes, turnips,...) but possibly also for things havested from fruit plantations: oranges? How are apples transported (if they're supposed to be turned into juice anyway)? Do you count (coco) nuts as fruit? What about cocoa or coffee? With these questions in mind I chose to offer the liberty to use the bulk wagon as fruit (& vegetables) transporter. Players of course may choose to not transport fruits in it and rather use the piece goods or even refrigerator wagon :-)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 9:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 965
Location: Birmingham, England
Fruit in bulk wagons. I was just wondering whether it was an error/bug or a deliberate choice on your part. I'm perfectly happy with that...it just seemed a bit odd at first. I'm all for extended choices.

"mixed designs/ colours of wagons and tankers"
What I'm trying to express...in my own mangled way... Someone recently commented about how bulk wagons change design after some years. I was saying that I really like different wagon designs and prefer to have a number of different colours/livery in a similar way to how the goods containers appear.

I think the canadian train set does that and maybe some of the other sets. I'm not a fan of freight trains looking identical.

If you're not planning to do this sort of thing then it's not a problem.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 9:45 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
3iff wrote:
Fruit in bulk wagons. I was just wondering whether it was an error/bug or a deliberate choice on your part. I'm perfectly happy with that...it just seemed a bit odd at first. I'm all for extended choices.


Also note that in the default vehicles, the fruit wagon is a bulk wagon. Since OpenGFX+ Trains extends the default trains, it makes sense to transport fruit in bulk wagons. There is an even stranger bulk cargo in OpenGFX+ Trains (it is carried in a bulk wagon in the TTD graphics, but IIRC not in OpenGFX), but I'll let you find that one :)

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 10:23 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
3iff wrote:
Fruit in bulk wagons. I was just wondering whether it was an error/bug or a deliberate choice on your part. I'm perfectly happy with that...it just seemed a bit odd at first. I'm all for extended choices.

"mixed designs/ colours of wagons and tankers"
What I'm trying to express...in my own mangled way... Someone recently commented about how bulk wagons change design after some years. I was saying that I really like different wagon designs and prefer to have a number of different colours/livery in a similar way to how the goods containers appear.

I think the canadian train set does that and maybe some of the other sets. I'm not a fan of freight trains looking identical.

If you're not planning to do this sort of thing then it's not a problem.

Ah, right. Yes, IIRC currently only the coal wagon changes its look over time, but not yet any other wagon nor the bulk wagon when refit to another cargo. This is supposed to change, thus that more wagons change their look depending on time (or maybe offer additional looks for refit, not sure yet), but I cannot guarantee when this will be added :-)

Cheers,
pm

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 12:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 965
Location: Birmingham, England
If it's being considered then I'm delighted. I wouldn't expect anything anytime soon...

I have seen water as a cargo for bulk wagons I think, can't remember which set I might have seen it. I suspect I'd have problems trying to run TTD now as I've been on OpenTTD for some years.

Anyway, I'll keep looking for bugs just in case one slips in. Great work.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:20 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 3
I have one feature request (probably very simple to implement): could you implement a new value 'All but Toyland' for the 'Engine climate selection'? The Toyland engines are childish and I think most players do not want them in their games...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:03 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
Romanujan wrote:
I have one feature request (probably very simple to implement): could you implement a new value 'All but Toyland' for the 'Engine climate selection'? The Toyland engines are childish and I think most players do not want them in their games...


The whole concept of 'playing' is childish ;-) - but fun.

check it out

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:47 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:16 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:09 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Seattle
Really though, just because an engine shows up as available, you don't have to use it. :p

_________________
You gotta enjoy the little things. - Zombieland


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:48 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:48 am
Posts: 120
Below is my translation into Russian (russian.lng with BOM, revision 251). File is missing in set.
Attachment:
russian.lng [6.34 KiB]
Downloaded 69 times

Enjoy.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:48 am
Posts: 120
Updated Russian translation, r253.
Attachment:
russian.lng [6.33 KiB]
Downloaded 65 times


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:11 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
akasoft wrote:
Updated Russian translation, r253.

Thank you. It's applied in r254 and will be included in todays nightly built.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2646
planetmaker wrote:
Romanujan wrote:
I have one feature request (probably very simple to implement): could you implement a new value 'All but Toyland' for the 'Engine climate selection'? The Toyland engines are childish and I think most players do not want them in their games...


The whole concept of 'playing' is childish ;-) - but fun.

check it out


I have a suggestion, that is a bit like this one:
The option to en/disable a certain type of trains (no electric or only Maglev for example). I use the Dutch Train Set, which disables Monorail and Maglev, but I do want to have an occasional Maglev crossing the screen.

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:06 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
Transportman wrote:
I have a suggestion, that is a bit like this one:
The option to en/disable a certain type of trains (no electric or only Maglev for example). I use the Dutch Train Set, which disables Monorail and Maglev, but I do want to have an occasional Maglev crossing the screen.


That's a good suggestion. I made a note on it, so that I'll remember to include it :-)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Transportman wrote:
I use the Dutch Train Set, which disables Monorail and Maglev,


It does? Sounds odd, though I never tried it myself. I guess it could behave like this because we needed the Vehicle IDs of the original Monorail and Maglev vehicles. Though I guess, that method is quite outdated nowadays.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2646
Purno wrote:
Transportman wrote:
I use the Dutch Train Set, which disables Monorail and Maglev,


It does? Sounds odd, though I never tried it myself. I guess it could behave like this because we needed the Vehicle IDs of the original Monorail and Maglev vehicles. Though I guess, that method is quite outdated nowadays.


It does. I have added it to the Dutch Train Set bug tracker (and two other bugs I found).

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenGFX+ Trains
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13177
Location: The Netherlands
Please saty on-topic guys. There's a mighty fine Dutch Trainset topic if you like to discuss the maglev matter more.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.