Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu May 25, 2017 2:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 10:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
UK Towns Set
UK style houses, terraces, shops, flats, offices, churches, warehouses, and a couple of special buildings... Full temperate, sub-arctic and sub-tropical graphics (including snowy buildings) in OpenGFX style for seamless integration.

Set the first parameter to 0 (ie. default) to disable all default houses except the parks and statues, set it to 1 to enable default houses. Should function fairly gracefully with other town building sets. Fully compatible with major industry sets.

Find development discussion here...


Attachments:
File comment: Download also available on BaNaNaS
ukts_v2.grf [2.78 MiB]
Downloaded 1175 times
Temperate_UKTS.png
Temperate_UKTS.png [ 99.49 KiB | Viewed 16844 times ]
ukts_2.1.grf [2.79 MiB]
Downloaded 810 times

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Last edited by Zephyris on Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 10:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Screenshots!


Attachments:
Sub-Arctic_UKTS.png
Sub-Arctic_UKTS.png [ 157.33 KiB | Viewed 16843 times ]
Sub-Tropical_UKTS.png
Sub-Tropical_UKTS.png [ 97.67 KiB | Viewed 16843 times ]
InUse_Temperate_UKTS.png
InUse_Temperate_UKTS.png [ 164.25 KiB | Viewed 16606 times ]

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 10:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:37 am
Posts: 72
OMG OMG OMG!
This is amazing! Thank you and excellent work :D! I love it :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 10:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Thank you :D

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 12:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:18 pm
Posts: 1005
Skype: hectobar
Location: The countryside, South UK
Brlliant. I must applaude you for your efforts

_________________
I'm leaning on a lamp.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 12:39 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 37
Looks fantastic, think I'll give it a try asap.

Well done.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:31 pm
Posts: 2089
Location: Wisconsin, USA
I played with this set. Looks rather well done. I use it in a OTTD graphics preset with the UKRS. Very nice!

_________________
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2362
Location: Location, Location
lots of people wrote:
congratulations, etc.

what they said :D
it blends in so perfectly with OpenGFX as well!
:bow: :bow:
(but then, you did draw quite a lot for that i believe)

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:24 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Railwaymodeler wrote:
Looks rather well done.
Thank you! :D
Lord Aro wrote:
it blends in so perfectly with OpenGFX as well!
:bow: :bow:
(but then, you did draw quite a lot for that i believe)
Yeah, when you have drawn the roads, the terrain tiles, the roads and most of the town buildings it is quite easy to make more graphics in a perfectly matching style! You can probably see the same thing with eGRVTS and the OpenGFX default vehicles :)

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:51 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9010
Location: Sol d
Hehe. Very much so. And this is a very fine NewGRF :-) We surely shall feature it soon on our servers :-)

Only I'm a bit sad about the NC clause in the license. That doesn't allow to use the sprites in GPL-based projects :-(

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
planetmaker wrote:
Only I'm a bit sad about the NC clause in the license. That doesn't allow to use the sprites in GPL-based projects :-(
All you have to do is ask :) What do you want to use it for under the GPL?

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:33 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:00 pm
Posts: 17
Hello!

The UK Towns Set is really great, but I've got a problem:

In newer OpenTTD-versions (version 1.0.4 and newer nightlies) most of the 2x2 tilesize buildings (school, college) never appear, except the stadium. By the way it's the same problem with the Town and Industry - UK Houses Beta 0.2: houses with more than 1x1 tile groundsize never appear, no matter in which combination these two sets are used with other (building) grf's... :(

Maybe you know a reason and a solution for this problem?

Thanks, regards,

verdennis.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
If it is happening in a particular OpenTTD version across multiple grf sets it is most likely a bug in OpenTTD. Have you checked the bug tracker to see if it has been reported?

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:02 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9010
Location: Sol d
It might just as well be that the 2x2 (and maybe also 2x1 and 1x2) houses don't use an appropriate fall-back house of the same size. As of some recent revision (EDIT: r20796 / r20797) in the nightlies OpenTTD checks for this and disables the houses, if they have a fallback house of different size. That was (is?) for example an issue with TAI house set.

As not fixing this may lead to crashes this has been backported, so 1.0.4 disables those houses then, too.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 1:53 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5182
Location: The Moon
Indeed, this was a problem with the TaI houses too, which I have successfully fixed locally.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
hmmm, I will have to check the coding at some point... though I am sure the larger buildings were coded to replace suitably sized default buildings...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:25 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
PikkaBird wrote:
Indeed, this was a problem with the TaI houses too, which I have successfully fixed locally.


Hi Pikka,

sorry for continuing the OT, but what exactly has to be done to fix this issue? As I haven't coded any houses so far, I'm not getting it to work... and I don't like playing without TaI :)

Greetz and Thanks
Regiovogel


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:38 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 209
Never realized that before.. but now as I'm reading it... I have no houses with more than 1x1 tile size, too in my TaI Houses Set...

_________________
DACH Train Set
My Screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Version 2.1 now available, see the first post. This fixes the issues with 2x2 building appearing in the recent versions of OpenTTD.

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: UK Towns Set
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Version 2.2 now available, get it through BaNaNaS!

This update adds two new building types for big cities to make them feel even bigger:
Tall office blocks: For towns/cities with a population over 2500. Available after 1970.
Skyscrapers: For towns/cities with a population over 5000. Available after 1970.


Attachments:
Great Parfingford Transport, 28th Oct 1973.png [741.64 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times
Tinnbridge Transport, 27th Jun 1972.png [774.61 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BW89 and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.