Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Mar 25, 2017 3:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2839
Location: Straya
---This set is deprecated. Please get the 2CC Trains In NML instead, it contains many vehicles from this set, but with better graphics. And freight wagons.---


Hi everybody,

After a long hiatus, you'll be glad to hear that development has restarted on this set. This involves an entire recoding of the set in NML (the old set was bodged together with GRFmaker and limited NFO knowledge) and also designed to go together with the Trains of Europe - Tracks set.
For more info, see the new development thread.



Original Post wrote:
Hi everybody,

I am proud to announce the first official public alpha release of my Generic European Train Set. It is also my first official GRF release ever. It contains various locomotives from all over mainland Europe, especially concentrating on ones that were common among morre than one railway company and/or were built in large amounts. The aim of this set is for you to be able to replicate the activities of European private railway companies that have been increasing in numbers lately. Also, it will provide vehicles from 1837 onwards (eventually :P ) for those early-start fans. It will therefore include locomotives from the Landerbahnen of the 19th and early 20th century.
There are no freight cats in this set; you will need to use the GEFC (Generic European Freight Cat Set) when it's done :P

I hope you enjoy this set as it is so far, please feel free to post critiques and ideas and bugs on the development thread. viewtopic.php?f=26&t=46765
I will have a little less time to work on my sets now because I am back at school now. However, expect some updates soonish! :D

Public Alpha 2 is here! It contains everything promised...
Still A few bugs though, I will fix these.
*Express DMU is weird in buy menu
*Diesel Railcar will also be available as double unit

Uploaded pa2.1:
*Fixed backwards depot sprites
*Improved vehicle prices
*Cat carrier now shows cats when loaded


To do:
1) Add remaining locos/MUs (~33) and wagons (2)
2) Fix running cost on some vehicles
3) add more livery variaions on some vehicles

Thanks,
Jake

(edit:) This should work in OpenTTD from 0.6 or so, but TTDPatch compatibility is untested, although it should work. Please report any problems. :)

(edit) It's on GRFCrawler now :wink:

There is a narrow gauge extension of this set in progress! See page 2 for further details. :D



Attachments:
File comment: Narrow Gauge Set Taster!
(see page 2 for info)

ng_set_taster.grf [6.39 KiB]
Downloaded 2349 times
File comment: Public Alpha 2.1. THIS IS STILL THE OLD VERSION!!!
ges_pa2.1.grf [116.69 KiB]
Downloaded 3320 times

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Last edited by Emperor Jake on Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:59 am, edited 10 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Pics please? Sounds good though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2839
Location: Straya
Wasila wrote:
Pics please?


Certainly :P

(edit: updated vehicle list)

Attachment:
File comment: The new and updated vehicle list.
vehlist.png
vehlist.png [ 18.46 KiB | Viewed 37221 times ]


Attachments:
File comment: Trains in action.
trains.png
trains.png [ 376.97 KiB | Viewed 39337 times ]

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Last edited by Emperor Jake on Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:21 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
This looks great, I can't wait to try it out later. If you need any help deciding which trains to add, or if you need help information gathering, I'm more than willing to help. Out of interest, how many of these loco's are Swiss?

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5009
jake.grimshaw wrote:
Out of interest, how many of these loco's are Swiss?


jake.grimshaw wrote:
Location: Saas-Fee, Switzerland
+switzerland
travel centre
SWISS TRAIN SET: Coders and drawers needed here!
MY SWISS SCENARIO


:mrgreen:

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
Did I miss something there Michael ? :)

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5009
jake.grimshaw wrote:
Did I miss something there Michael ? :)

Some knowledge about Swiss railways, despite your advertisements? I see only one, although not being linked to anything "Swiss". :cool:

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
Ahhhh I see. Yes I only saw one (the Krokodil), but I thought maybe there were a few more I didn't know about. Having now used to set, I have a few points of constructive critism for you Emperor Jake. I shall write them up in the Development thread.

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Why exactly is this release thread in the development forum and not in the release forum?

Other than that: good work on the set! :D

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
What UK vehicles are there? Also it looks like a lot of progress had been made... if I get a good Europe map game going then this will be very useful ;).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
Quote:
It contains various locomotives from all over mainland Europe

Quote:
What UK vehicles are there

None, Wasila :mrgreen:

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 5:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2839
Location: Straya
jake.grimshaw wrote:
Out of interest, how many of these loco's are Swiss?


Well, as you know, the Krokodil is Swiss, and modern locomotives such as the ES64F4 and the TRAXX are also used in Switzerland. Future versions will also include the Lok 2000 and the Be 4/6 ('cause it's one of my favourite loco's :P ) Also, the Panorama wagon is based on a Swiss type used on EuroCity trains. It's not really useful, just a gimmick to add variety to the game. I like variety. :D

FooBar wrote:
Why exactly is this release thread in the development forum and not in the release forum?


Drat! I know, but i don't know how to move it.
(edit:) Oh, it was moved already. Thanks, whoever! :D

Wasila wrote:
What UK vehicles are there? Also it looks like a lot of progress had been made... if I get a good Europe map game going then this will be very useful ;).


If you want to use this set together with UKRS, feel free. I strtongly support use of the engine pool.

Overall, thanks for the comments!
- Jake

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:07 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:17 am
Posts: 332
Skype: Aron Bogdan Silviu
Location: Torino, Italy
The engines and wagons in the list look awsome... can't wait to test them. is there any timetable to see what's coming up or that's all (and i'm not saing it's not enough :) )?

_________________
I was in:
Austria,Belgium,Brazil,China,France,Germany,Holland,Hungary,Italy,Luxemburg,Norway,Panamà,Poland,Romania,
Saudi Arabia,Slovenia,Spain,Switzerland,U.K.,Ukraine,U.S.A.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2839
Location: Straya
Emperor Jake wrote:
It's not done

Emperor Jake wrote:
it will provide vehicles from 1837 onwards (eventually :P )

Emperor Jake wrote:
Future versions will also include...

As I said, it's not done. So yes, there will be more.
I am currently working on a Prussian G10, of which almost 1500 were built from 1910 onwards and later used in railways in Austria, Germany, Italy, Poland, Czechoslovakia and Denmark.
Also there will be some futuristic locos from Siemens and Bombardier :mrgreen:

Thanks for the comments and for trying it out,
- Jake

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 5:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
jake.grimshaw wrote:
Quote:
It contains various locomotives from all over mainland Europe

Quote:
What UK vehicles are there

None, Wasila :mrgreen:


Humph I'm insulted.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:09 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 301
Wow, very nice one!
Good first work!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
Wasila wrote:
jake.grimshaw wrote:
Quote:
It contains various locomotives from all over mainland Europe

Quote:
What UK vehicles are there

None, Wasila :mrgreen:


Humph I'm insulted.


Why ?

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Don't worry, I'm joking.

But contrary to popular belief, UK is in Europe and therefore should be represented, but I suppose, like you said, you can run it with UKRS.

But like I said, I'm joking.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 2451
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Nice set, I'll definitely try this one out!

Also I have made M62 and 2M62 sprites for my set, if you would like to use them, just ask.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2839
Location: Straya
Killer 11 wrote:
Nice set, I'll definitely try this one out!

Also I have made M62 and 2M62 sprites for my set, if you would like to use them, just ask.


Thank you very much for the offer, but there is already an M62 in my set, in case you haven't noticed. :D

Wasila wrote:
Don't worry, I'm joking.

But contrary to popular belief, UK is in Europe and therefore should be represented, but I suppose, like you said, you can run it with UKRS.

But like I said, I'm joking.


Well, I'm not including (m)any UK locomotives because of their difference in loading gauge, and UK trains rarely travel to the mainland and vice versa. Although I am focusing on mainland Europe, I *might* include a Class 66, which is used by private railways around Germany.
Also, check out this picture of an Austrian Taurus pulling two Class 87's to an Eastern European country that bought them (can't remember which, it might have been Hungary or Romania) :P
http://www.bahnarchiv.net/gb-87012-kled ... 15-001.jpg

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.