Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1472 posts ]  Go to page Previous 169 70 71 72 73 74 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:30 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:05 pm
Posts: 10
Is there anyway that industries can except different cargoes after a certain date? Most coal fired power stations these days are being refitted to burn biomass. Power stations could except timber (wood chips) and plant fibres after, say, 2010. Just a thought...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:43 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4506
Location: home
Not really, it would make mess everywhere.

The best you can do is to make a new version of an industry, which can be build after some date. I also think this is the least confusing to players.
Afaik FIRS does that here and there.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 6:47 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 684
Location: Bærum, Norway
Why is 2.1.1 still the latest version on Bananas?

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 7:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: Standing by the jams
Fixed, 2.1.2 uploaded ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:10 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:05 pm
Posts: 10
I think I've found a bug. I recently had an oil refinery and for every 8000L of oil I was getting 6000L of chemicals AND 6000L of petroleum fuels. that's a yield of 150%! I have openttd 1.6.1 and FIRS 2.1.2 and was using the extreme economy.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:47 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:27 am
Posts: 342
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland
Diesel Power wrote:
... for every 8000L of oil I was getting 6000L of chemicals AND 6000L of petroleum fuels. that's a yield of 150%!

That's incorrect. When you beat egg whites, you don't have a 300 % yield in the end. Actually you don't calculate a yield with volumes, as reactants and products presumably have different densities. Yields are obtained with masses.
But it's true that the quantity of products seems a little high. Well, maybe the "chemicals" have an exceptionally low density...

In game, I think the FIRS refineries are supposed to product that much, that's not a bug. But maybe they should only produce 3000L of each cargo.

_________________
Some screenshots of mine...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 8:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:05 pm
Posts: 10
Okay, so my terminology was a little out, but the production bit was accurate. When you deliver 8 tonnes of metal to a smithy forge or a machine shop, you get 4 crates of engineering supplies and 4 crates of farm supplies. They state 8 crates for every 8t of metal, so it stands to reason that when the the oil refinery states 6000l for every 8000l of oil, its good assumption that you should get 3000l of each cargo. This is currently not the case, i'm getting 6000l of each cargo.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:02 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:41 pm
Posts: 53
Is it a bug to have the default forests in the temperate basic setting, and they no longer produce anything, along with the sawmill, despite it can't produce goods without the wood?

EDIT

Aha ... The forests are disappearing, which i can guess is a measure deployed since they don't serve a purpose, or are severely bugged?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: Standing by the jams
Diesel Power wrote:
I recently had an oil refinery and for every 8000L of oil I was getting 6000L of chemicals AND 6000L of petroleum fuels.

Yup that's a bug :twisted:

I'll find a fix, cheers.

lekkimsm2500 wrote:
Is it a bug to have the default forests in the temperate basic setting, and they no longer produce anything?

You have another industry set loaded, something like OpenGFX or maybe another one. Check your newgrf list :wink:

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: Standing by the jams
FIRS 2.1.3 is now on Bananas ;)

--------------
2.1.3 Release
--------------

*Fixes*

- wrong output in some economies for secondary industries with two output cargos

*Translations*

- multiple languages updated

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: Standing by the jams
FIRS 2.1.4 now on Bananas.

Updated translations for Luxembourgish and Norwegian bokmål

Translator credits: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/firs/rel ... redits.txt

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: Standing by the jams
FIRS 2.1.5 now on bananas.

--------------
2.1.5 Release
--------------

*Translations*

- updated
- translator credits: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/firs/rel ... redits.txt

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:52 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 684
Location: Bærum, Norway
Andy, thank you for the update. I wasn't quite finished with the Norwegian translation last time, but now it seems like the wrinkles have been ironed out.

I have been struggling with the "manufacturing supplies" concept. I did tentatively translate it with "emballasje", that is packaging. In most cases, that seems to apply. But I've come to realise that the term "manufacturing supplies" must cover a wider concept; eg. in a furniture factory you may consider both glass, metal, and even cardboard as components of the products. The original Norwegian translation was "manufakturtilbehør" which I feel is overly long. The current "produksjonsutstyr" is hardly much better, but it falls in line with the current "gårdsutstyr" and "anleggsutstyr" for farm supplies and engineering supplies respectively. If anyone has better ideas, please let me know.

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 11:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2891
Location: Straya
Not sure if this is a known bug or not, but when using FIRS 2.1.x and Japan Set Landscape together it causes some funny ground tiles in the fruit plantation. It seems the Japanese field sprite has CC blue in it which causes those pixels to recolour to the farm truck's colour.

Image


Attachments:
fruitfarms.PNG [104 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: Standing by the jams
Ha, yes someone's redrawn the base set tile with CC in it :)

FIRS can't fix that, short of me drawing dedicated ground tiles for these industries, which could be done, but eh, I'd rather not ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:08 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 937
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
Emperor Jake wrote:
Not sure if this is a known bug or not, but when using FIRS 2.1.x and Japan Set Landscape together it causes some funny ground tiles in the fruit plantation. It seems the Japanese field sprite has CC blue in it which causes those pixels to recolour to the farm truck's colour.

Image


Probably best if firs uses base set tiles where possible to blend in with whatever you choose to use - Best course of action would be to take it up with Japan Set people. You still end up with flooded orchards I guess...

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2204
Location: Virgo Supercluster
andythenorth wrote:
FIRS can't fix that, short of me drawing dedicated ground tiles for these industries, which could be done, but eh, I'd rather not ;)

Why not use 4183 onwards? Makes the ground a tad greener I suppose (TTD, not sure I can tell the difference with OpenGFX ^^), but gives one for the Japanese set that probably is still supposed to be some sort of rice-thing, but looks green/overgrown enough that it works as grass, I think ^^;


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 11:01 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:31 pm
Posts: 304
Hi Andy.
After see your last work in this set, I have a small suggestion...
The cargo of explosives need a extra cargo class: CC_HAZARDOUS.

Is a dangerous cargo and CC_HAZARDOUS is the best option for this. Think about it and when you take the final decision, say me for a final inclusion in the wiki.

_________________
NewGRFs__
City names: Naruto City Names | Planets City Names | Lovers City Names | Halloween City Names
Vehicles: Famous Cars | Super Cars | Racing Cars | Cars Cars | Improved M Cars


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:20 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all,

I'm realy enjoying FIRS since the very first hours (something in the 0.6 range) but how do i lower production (yeah, lower production.

After A LOT of years of "max moneys" i'm now gradually more casual player, but still wanting a challenge instead of efficiency i'm now looking at a more reasonable production. With like 7-8 oil rig's in the north sea, and a small train line around Holland (on europe map,2048x2048) i'm allready needing 30 trains that are waiting for each other most of the time, and still can't fully empty all oil from the harbour station. Its littarly making me millions each year for some basic oil processing in a refinery.

Now i want to try and lower that production by like 90% default, and the normal rating still configurable (120% and 150% for me)

Is this possible within firs? I dont mind editing some lua files or something, but i haven't found it yet, and i'm not realy into newGRF files...

if anybody could help me out that would be great, or maybe a new parameter in config for "default production *vs vanilla*"


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
Deliver fewer supplies, make fewer runs. Eventually production will ramp down.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1472 posts ]  Go to page Previous 169 70 71 72 73 74 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Walter Novotny and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.