FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.12 released 18th February 2019

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Sensation Lover
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 334
Joined: 26 Feb 2009 09:17
Skype: Aron Bogdan Silviu
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by Sensation Lover » 21 Jan 2019 21:30

Hello,

FIRSt of all I would like to thank you for this set. It is a really nice work!

It has been a while I didn't play Ottd and now that I've started, I had encountered a small bug. Sorry if it was already reported, but I couldn't found any sollutions.
I'm playing Europe v1.0 scenario. I edited it deleting all the (default) industries for using FIRS, but i found out that a couple of FIRS industries are having some graphic issues and I can't understand why.
I've attached some pics and the scn.

thank you.
Attachments
bug.PNG
The graphic issue bug. Left is Iron ore mine and Right is Oil Raffinery.
(334.85 KiB) Not downloaded yet
scn.PNG
The scenario that I've download and edited.
scn.PNG (32.79 KiB) Viewed 4839 times
EU_noIndustries.scn
The edited scn.
(4.5 MiB) Downloaded 99 times
I was in:
Austria,Belgium,Brazil,China,France,Germany,Hungary,Indonesia,Italy,Luxemburg,Malaysia,Netherlands,Norway,Panamà,Poland,Romania,
Saudi Arabia,Singapore,Slovenia,Spain,Switzerland,Thailand,U.K.,Ukraine,U.S.A.

Argus
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 16 Oct 2018 08:31

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by Argus » 21 Jan 2019 23:03

Changing graphics is generally not recommended....viewtopic.php?f=29&t=53881&start=40

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by kamnet » 22 Jan 2019 03:10

Sensation Lover wrote:I edited it deleting all the (default) industries for using FIRS, but i found out that a couple of FIRS industries are having some graphic issues and I can't understand why.
Once a scenario is created, you cannot change the industries without corrupting the scenario, which is what ha happened in your case. Your only solution is to export the heightmap and re-create the scenario from scratch, loading all the NewGRFs you want to include first before starting the scenario editor and importing the heightmap.

Argus
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 16 Oct 2018 08:31

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by Argus » 22 Jan 2019 09:30

Not just a kosher solution, but a more functional one is to start the game from the scenario and simply add FIRS .... Look, it also makes trouble. But you do not destroy the scenario :) I do not recommend changing the older FIRS for a new one, just making a mess and making it unplayable. The only truly functional solution is that written by Kamnet ....

User avatar
Sensation Lover
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 334
Joined: 26 Feb 2009 09:17
Skype: Aron Bogdan Silviu
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by Sensation Lover » 23 Jan 2019 17:44

I've taken notes... thank you guys!
I was in:
Austria,Belgium,Brazil,China,France,Germany,Hungary,Indonesia,Italy,Luxemburg,Malaysia,Netherlands,Norway,Panamà,Poland,Romania,
Saudi Arabia,Singapore,Slovenia,Spain,Switzerland,Thailand,U.K.,Ukraine,U.S.A.

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3942
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by NekoMaster » 24 Jan 2019 22:23

Sensation Lover wrote:I've taken notes... thank you guys!
It does suck to have to "remake" a scenario, especially if it has some nice rivers and lakes, but at least that lets you do things your way with your own GRF's. You could even make a larger version of the scenario like I did with the USA-Canada 4K Scenario. I still have yet to upload a North american Industries version of it (which is built on FIRS 3.0.10 code)
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

misha.nut
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jan 2019 11:03

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by misha.nut » 31 Jan 2019 12:24

Hello! I already asked in Script theme but...

I have a question. How can I get familiar FIRS 30.0.10 & Goal Based City Growth script? I've read a lot, tried to fix cargo list by using cargo.nut and Debug mode, tried onother Renewed_City_Growth and Simple_City_Builder... Still "cargoes don't match the list etc.".
May be someone have the right cargo.nut and can upload it... It's my favorite way to play OTTD so far
Do I something wrong?

Anyway thank you for amazing work! I play OTTD & FIRS for years :bow:

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3057
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by Emperor Jake » 11 Feb 2019 12:57

Hi, I'm trying to compile FIRS 3.0.10 but it spits out this error:

Code: Select all

nmlc ERROR: nmlc: An internal error has occurred:
nmlc-version: 0.4.4
Error:    (IndexError) "pop from empty list".
Command:  ['/usr/bin/nmlc', '-c', '-l', 'generated/lang', '--grf=generated/firs.grf', 'generated/firs.nml']
Location: File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/nml/actions/action4.py", line 168, in get_string_action4s

Makefile:93: recipe for target 'generated/firs.grf' failed
make: *** [generated/firs.grf] Error 1
Any clues as to what's wrong? :)
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9282
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by planetmaker » 11 Feb 2019 14:05

I'm pretty sure your NML is too old. You need NML 0.4.5 or newer.

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3057
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by Emperor Jake » 12 Feb 2019 04:52

planetmaker wrote:I'm pretty sure your NML is too old. You need NML 0.4.5 or newer.
Thanks, that worked :)

although in this case the documentation should be updated since it lists NML 0.4 or newer
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

lekkimsm2500
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 55
Joined: 23 May 2007 14:41

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by lekkimsm2500 » 14 Feb 2019 17:05

lekkimsm2500 wrote:Coming in here, to ask if it would be possible to have all cargo types and industries enabled, and just having read a handful of the last posts about a cargo limitation, am i then correctly understanding that wont be possible then?
SilverSurferZzZ wrote:It's impossible today. 32 cargoes is the limit, nothing more.

Maybe in a distant future....
I am not going to lie. I find this update very pleasing.

Code: Select all

OpenTTD 1.9.0-beta2

Some highlights are:

- Support for up to 64 simultaneous rail types and cargo types;

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.10 released 1st July 2018

Post by kamnet » 14 Feb 2019 22:55

As deep and complex as FIRS already is, I don't have any expectation of a cargo free-for-all. You already have that with Extreme setting, and I can't even imagine trying to cram more cargo into that. As evidence, I'll point you down the road to the recent development in AuzInd trying to do just that, and it's hitting all sorts of issues.

Having cargo is one thing. Trying to figure out how to make it all flow into a game, how to make it all work together, that's a lot harder.

If anything were to change in FIRS, it might be using the existing cargo but taking advantage of the new feature that industries can accept or produce up to 16 items. It's still going to be a challenge to make that useful without it becoming unmanageable, it would definitely make a person thing about just how they're going to set up their network.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4925
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Set - 3.0.12 released 18th February 2019

Post by andythenorth » 18 Feb 2019 18:49

FIRS 3.0.12 now released (bananas or http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/firs/releases/)

* translations updated (thanks translators)
* note that nml 0.4.5 is needed for compiling FIRS (thanks planetmaker, Emperor Jake)

There was a 3.0.11, but for some reason I never put it on bananas. Water under the bridge eh? :)

Might be the last v3 release...

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests