[GS] Villages Is Villages

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Timberwolf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by Timberwolf »

What is mods32.grf? OpenTTD can't seem to find that on BaNaNaS...

Stanley Cooper
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 11:46
Location: Russia

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by Stanley Cooper »

Sorry, my fault. I've download it here viewtopic.php?t=76780

LaChupacabra
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 101
Joined: 08 Nov 2019 23:54

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by LaChupacabra »

Ok, I downloaded, checked and... you have no highways.
But anyway this is still a road problem. In this case, CZ Roads. The script doesn't matter here.

Quick test without script
CZ Roads bug.PNG
(642.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
The problem concerns the option that prevents buildings from being built near some (selected) roads. The mistake is that the player should not be able to rebuild city roads into this type of road.
Edit: or actually even build or rebuild this type of road even own roads when there is a building next to it
I am sorry for may English. I know is bed.

Timberwolf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by Timberwolf »

LaChupacabra wrote:
09 May 2020 00:19
Stanley Cooper wrote:
07 May 2020 19:22
...and cities started to die slowly.
Without downloading Your saves, I guess You have rebuilt city roads into highways. :)
This is a good guess - I've taken a look at the game and it seems to be a road type problem. If I convert all the roads to the cobbled type which has houses alongside it even in the shrunken cities, they start growing again.

Stanley Cooper
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 11:46
Location: Russia

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by Stanley Cooper »

Timberwolf wrote:
09 May 2020 15:38
LaChupacabra wrote:
09 May 2020 00:19
Stanley Cooper wrote:
07 May 2020 19:22
...and cities started to die slowly.
Without downloading Your saves, I guess You have rebuilt city roads into highways. :)
This is a good guess - I've taken a look at the game and it seems to be a road type problem. If I convert all the roads to the cobbled type which has houses alongside it even in the shrunken cities, they start growing again.
Thank both of you for your help and clarification, the problem was in CZTR road set, definitely. I turned off/on it and upgraded all roads to one of those insane numbers of road type and now all the cities started to grow again as its should.

Timberwolf, Last updates were great! (economic part) I hope you will keep bringing more features in the future.
Thank you one more time.

d0mi3l
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 18:04
Location: Poland

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by d0mi3l »

Problem with your script, when I load game.
Attachments
TraGo, 1705-01-24.png
(771.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Timberwolf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by Timberwolf »

What size map are you using, and what industry/town density? Do you have a save game I could look at?

d0mi3l
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 18:04
Location: Poland

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by d0mi3l »

I play on Huge map 8kx2k. ECS 1.2 with some others GRF. JGRPP pack 0.34.4.
Attachments
TraGo, 1705-01-24.sav
(12.66 MiB) Downloaded 9 times

Timberwolf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by Timberwolf »

Well, I found the problem. I haven't tested a file with that many towns recently, and it was taking too long trying to load them all.

I've split things up so initialising town processing takes place during the game rather than when Villages is trying to load. This means there might be a slight delay when loading a huge map before towns start getting processed, but not noticeable in most cases. Version 14 with the fix is now on BaNaNaS.

d0mi3l
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 18:04
Location: Poland

Re: [GS] Villages Is Villages

Post by d0mi3l »

:bow:
Save works now.
THX bro.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD AIs and Game Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests