Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:03 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 185 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 10 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:20 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:19 pm
Posts: 14
Would it be possible to get the script to write a comment in the debug screen when it has finished its monthly updates so i can see how long it takes please?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:44 am
Posts: 8
If you turn on the Debug-Log (GS-Settings > Log level: 3) you can see how many Ticks something takes and a bunch of other useful information.

As for 'script took too long to save'; I took a look at the source-code and Google to find out what's going on:
- Scripts have a very limited amount of time to do their save-routine and RCG simply exceeds this limit.
- The number of towns this happens at is not dependent on map-size or processor speed, but on the number of operations in the source code.
- This problem can be circumvented by pre-caching the town save-data (the Neighbours-GS had a similar problem/solution).
- RCG does that with r127 (but not with v5), but still recollects all the data on save again anyway, ignoring the cache and causing the crash.
- I believe this to be an oversight (the existing cache should be valid and exceptions to it can be found otherwise), but I am not 100% certain.
- If fixed, you should be able to save 10k towns and more :)

Also, I found one more bug:
- If you load from an auto-save, RCG will skip this month's calculations.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 1:09 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
Lafiir wrote:
If you turn on the Debug-Log (GS-Settings > Log level: 3) you can see how many Ticks something takes and a bunch of other useful information.

As for 'script took too long to save'; I took a look at the source-code and Google to find out what's going on:
- Scripts have a very limited amount of time to do their save-routine and RCG simply exceeds this limit.
- The number of towns this happens at is not dependent on map-size or processor speed, but on the number of operations in the source code.
- This problem can be circumvented by pre-caching the town save-data (the Neighbours-GS had a similar problem/solution).
- RCG does that with r127 (but not with v5), but still recollects all the data on save again anyway, ignoring the cache and causing the crash.
- I believe this to be an oversight (the existing cache should be valid and exceptions to it can be found otherwise), but I am not 100% certain.
- If fixed, you should be able to save 10k towns and more :)

Also, I found one more bug:
- If you load from an auto-save, RCG will skip this month's calculations.


Mmh... You have a good sight on the code and your comments are very useful. ;)

For the "too long to save" problem (which I never had but which was already reported at least once), it is, indeed, dependent on the number of operations in the source code, but since the operations are (about) the same for all towns, as first thought I consider it is dependent on the number of towns.

Going to watch on all of this.

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 5:08 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Oh dear.
Attachment:
RCG Error.JPG
RCG Error.JPG [ 51.63 KiB | Viewed 3481 times ]

I reloaded one of my earlier savegames, but it always crashes on the dot of 01/05/1973


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 6:36 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
I am going to have to switch to another game script, because this bug reoccurs again and again and again across multiple savegames

It says that the cargo set doesn't match the config, even though I am using Full FIRS and have configured it as such. Apparently my savegame is too large to post and test whether it works for you or not.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 10:57 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1074
bvoice360 wrote:
It says that the cargo set doesn't match the config, even though I am using Full FIRS and have configured it as such.

Maybe you are using nopt only FIRS but also other industry, or just NARS or other vehicle set with additional GEAR cargo?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 5:52 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Only using FIRS, though the vehicle/train sets I use are compatible with ECS/YETI as well, but cannot be refitted unless the mods are installed. This has only been a problem since I updated to 1.5, so I may downdate to my more familiar and seemingly bug-free 1.4.4, though perhaps updating from FIRS v1.3 to v1.4.4 would solve the problem, as possibly it would not recognise a possibly antiquated version of FIRS.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2015 10:38 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:58 am
Posts: 10
Hello,

Just to let you know I am also having the "took to long to save" error. I don't know how to count the number of towns so I am going to give an estimation.

map size is 4096x4096
Number of towns was set to Low
Total Population is 1,139,889
Largest town is 1000
Median town looks about 350

Thus number of towns > 1,139
Based on median number of towns approx. 3256

For now I will start a new game with number of towns set to very low. I would be really very happy to see a bug fix.

I have included a save file but had to doctor the files so they would upload. I have split it into 2 with 7 zip to keep under the 10 meg rule and renamed them as the forum doesnt like the .001 extension.
Rename "Antaguana Global Transport, 1840-01-01-1.zip" to "Antaguana Global Transport, 1840-01-01.zip.001" and "Antaguana Global Transport, 1840-01-01-2.zip" to "Antaguana Global Transport, 1840-01-01.zip.002"


Attachments:
File comment: save game with "too long to save" crash part1
Antaguana Global Transport, 1840-01-01-1.zip [10 MiB]
Downloaded 52 times
File comment: save game with "too long to save" crash part2
Antaguana Global Transport, 1840-01-01-2.zip [5.42 MiB]
Downloaded 53 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 6:05 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Nope, even updating FIRS and reinstalling the game script does not help and it STILL says 'cargo set does not match'-what is going on???


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 6:34 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
bvoice360 wrote:
Nope, even updating FIRS and reinstalling the game script does not help and it STILL says 'cargo set does not match'-what is going on???

FIRS is not at fault. The script isn't new enough to keep up with the NewGRF.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 6:39 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Do I need to downdate or something, then? FIRS worked fine with the script in 1.4.4, but it kept cutting off at a certain point every game.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 12:13 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:44 am
Posts: 8
bvoice360 wrote:
Oh dear.

- Have you tried using the latest version of RCG? Your screenshot shows V4, but current stable version is V5!
- Your image doesn't show the actual error message (scroll a bit upwards), so we can't even see what went wrong.
- Please check again your Game Script Parameters, to make sure it still uses the same industry set as specifed by the FIRS settings.
- Warning: saved games from FIRS 1.3 are not compatible with 1.4. So that upgrade will not work.
- Finally, RCG only supports FIRS 1.3 so far. But 1.4 Full & Temperate will still work regardless.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 6:52 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Yes I am using v.5. Yes, it is configured to Full FIRS. No, I am not using savegames from another version. I had this bug in FIRS 1.3 as well. Also, I can't seem to find the error again, and I think I restarted the savegame without saving it, so there is no way to replicate it (at least without hours of playing time)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 12:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:44 am
Posts: 8
Out of curiosity, I looked over the source-code of RCG V4 again, and it seems the crash you first mentioned happened when a Town that previously received passengers stopped doing so. But without the complete error message or without the save-game it's probably futile to try and divine what exactly went wrong there.

Now, I am assuming you upgraded RCG after the crash and reloaded your save-game with V5 and got the "cargo set does not match" messages. Which is not a bug. It's just a warning that you have installed some other GRF that changes the available cargoes somehow. With RCG V5, when trying the Full or Temperate option from FIRS 1.3 and FIRS 1.4, in both OpenTTD 1.4 and 1.5, I never get any warnings. keoz posted an image of the cargo-categories on page one using FIRS and if yours looks just like it, with no entries missing or at the wrong place, then you can probably just ignore it.

Quote:
FIRS worked fine with the script in 1.4.4, but it kept cutting off at a certain point every game.

Please explain that in more detail.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 3:37 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
As in, it displays the cargo categories fine in the Storybook, but still says that the cargo set doesn't match. I can still use the broken save, but the town GUI freezes and stays on whatever value it had when the script broke i.e. it had 200t food in storage, then it would keep on displaying 200t and never refresh.

What I meant by my second statement was that the script would work fine up until a certain point and then either say the set doesn't match or give me the error. For example, one of my games worked fine up until 13/04/1973, and then the cargoset warning window popped up. However, upon reloading a save I made just before it happened, it gives me the error immediately instead of on the date it happened first time. I would attach the save but it absolutely refuses to let me, saying '10MB file limit exceeded', even though it it only ~11KB-could it be be a coincidence that both of the glitch files are ~11KB?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 6:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:44 am
Posts: 8
Like I said, a correct display of the Storybook, but with a cargo-warning, should be ignorable. You can go to GameScriptParameters and set Log-level to 3:Debug then load your game and open ?->AI/ScriptDebug and post a screenshot of the cargo-list (from 0=PASS to 31=RCYC), then we will know for certain.
A frozen GUI is weird and sounds like cargo-monitoring broke somehow. Try out RCG Revision 127. That should reset any active cargo-monitoring and stored amounts, hopefully fixing what went wrong.
However the second part makes no sense. As far as I can tell RCG V5 (and later versions) only display the warning when you load/start of a game. Never during regular play. Sorry; maybe keoz can explain this one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 5:22 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Aha, Cargo No. 30 is missing, replaced by '(null:0x0000000000000000)'-all other cargoes like BEER, SAND and OIL_ are displayed correctly. I think the missing one is Plant Fibres, because I cannot find the relevant entry for it (the Balanced City Growth script says this as well, but does seem to find a workaround as it manages fine). I tried the version you suggested and it worked fine, but popped up a new window warning me that the autosave is interfering with the towndata and forcing it to use the previous month's data, which could explain the frozen GUI. Also, the new version seems to make the fast-forward function go absolutely crazy, with a whole year now lasting only ~60s, when I am used to FF being 2x speed 8o

EDIT: It still pops up the cargo-does-not-match window, but the script works now anyway and the bonkers fast-forward seems to have been just a fluke. However, it does merge the two industrial categories into one, even though I have set that to 'off'


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 11:36 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:44 am
Posts: 8
No, Cargo 30 is supposed to be empty and I think PlantFibres is 22=FICR. If another script says you have missing cargo as well, then obviously your FIRS version is at fault.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 3:38 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:51 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Somewhere in Kent
Well there is one cargo that is not listed in the GS, because there are 31 cargoes contained in FIRS but only 30 slots in the debug menu.



Also, my only gripe with this one is that it merges the two industrial categories together, even though it is set not to do that


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 4:20 pm
Posts: 28
Hello,

maybe this is a noob question, but I cannot find the answer anywhere:
I dont know at all what I must do with this " Renewed_City_Growth-5.tar.gz " file !

Can somebody help me? I am not a programmer!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 185 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 10 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.