Page 2 of 2

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 03 Nov 2009 23:59
by smallfly
cmoiromain wrote:[Off topic]You could have copied the line and pasted it somewhere else to read it[/Off topic]

Because it doesn't answer you questions, it's only a complement for the curious people. The important part of the message is in normal size.
[Off topic]I thought, that perhaps the text is only extremely small on my screen, because of custom browser settings, so I prefered to screenshot it ;) [/Off topic]

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 12 Nov 2009 07:47
by Emperor Jake
Hi,
I was wondering, is there any AI that builds passenger trains?

Thanks,
Jake

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 12 Nov 2009 12:06
by fanioz
Emperor Jake wrote:Hi,
I was wondering, is there any AI that builds passenger trains?

Thanks,
Jake
Have you tried TConvoy(v.12) or Chooco?

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 03 Jan 2010 22:29
by griffin71
Hi,

Could somebody please post a link to the API for Squirrel based-AIs?

Thanks.

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 03 Jan 2010 22:34
by Yexo
griffin71 wrote:Hi,

Could somebody please post a link to the API for Squirrel based-AIs?

Thanks.
Just follow the link to the FAQ in the first post and there is a box with links on the right site with a link to the API documentation.

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 04 Jan 2010 23:14
by griffin71
Thanks, Yexo.

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 10:24
by luk3Z
Some AI cause errors in my game and I wish to replace it (in loaded game) by other AI - how can I do that ?
I didn't find any command for console to replace AI and change AI settings don't help.

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 10:30
by Zuu
From memory of design discussions of NoAI:

* Save your game
* Remove all compatible versions of the used AI (easiest if you don't know which ones that are compatible is to remove all versions of AIs with the same name). You need to remove the tar files or directories with .nut files of the AI from the search paths of OpenTTD (see the Readme for all search paths).
* Restart OpenTTD (not sure if it is needed, but doesn't hurt. Doing this you can verify that the AI has actually been removed in the AI Settings dialog)
* Load your save game

Now the game should pick a random AI.


Note again that I haven't tried this myself and I don't know if this actually works. It was the proposal that I think got implemented but I haven't checked myself.


Edit: We are of course interested to hear from you which AI is it that you have problem with?

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 12:16
by luk3Z
Zuu wrote: (...)

Note again that I haven't tried this myself and I don't know if this actually works. It was the proposal that I think got implemented but I haven't checked myself.


Edit: We are of course interested to hear from you which AI is it that you have problem with?
Thanks for advices - I'll try it (hopefully I use only 1 newest version of each AI).
Choochoo caused some errors (I send pm with screenshot to author already).
Some AIs didn't started yet but present AIs in game are: AdmiralAI.22 and CluelessPlus-v15 (AdmiralAI going to bankrupt again - probably due to Modified Building Costs grf and hard difficulty).
BTW *.gz files are read in the same way like *.tar by the game ?

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 21 Jul 2020 14:59
by MagicBuzz
Hello,

I have a question about version and bananas.

If I do a minor change (small fix, optimisation, etc.) that doesn't break save/load version and does not change OTTD API version nor libraries dependencies, do I need to increment the version of my script?
Or bananas will check upload date and propose to upgrade regardless the version?

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 04 Aug 2020 16:12
by Firrel
MagicBuzz wrote:
21 Jul 2020 14:59
Hello,

I have a question about version and bananas.

If I do a minor change (small fix, optimisation, etc.) that doesn't break save/load version and does not change OTTD API version nor libraries dependencies, do I need to increment the version of my script?
Or bananas will check upload date and propose to upgrade regardless the version?
I could not find this information as well, so I tried it. I tried to use subversion for a fix release and it worked fine. I did not change the gamescript version, but I increased the version in BaNaNaS and it is proposing the newer version correctly. But I don't know if it was chosen by version or date.

Screenshot from 2020-08-04 18-01-53.png
Screenshot from 2020-08-04 18-01-53.png (7.09 KiB) Viewed 371 times
Screenshot from 2020-08-04 18-07-33.png
Screenshot from 2020-08-04 18-07-33.png (8.64 KiB) Viewed 371 times
Screenshot from 2020-08-04 18-08-49.png
Screenshot from 2020-08-04 18-08-49.png (10.45 KiB) Viewed 371 times

Re: NoAI FAQs

Posted: 14 Sep 2020 14:29
by Firrel
Firrel wrote:
04 Aug 2020 16:12
MagicBuzz wrote:
21 Jul 2020 14:59
Hello,

I have a question about version and bananas.

If I do a minor change (small fix, optimisation, etc.) that doesn't break save/load version and does not change OTTD API version nor libraries dependencies, do I need to increment the version of my script?
Or bananas will check upload date and propose to upgrade regardless the version?
I could not find this information as well, so I tried it. I tried to use subversion for a fix release and it worked fine. I did not change the gamescript version, but I increased the version in BaNaNaS and it is proposing the newer version correctly. But I don't know if it was chosen by version or date.
Update: This statement in the GS API documentation is exactly correct (checked the source code as well):
When OpenTTD finds, during starting, a duplicate GS with the same version number one is randomly chosen. So it is important that this number is regularly updated/incremented.

Which means what I said was incorrect and the version in Info.nut (GSInfo) must be incremented with each new release. If you want to make savegame compatible update, you should increment the version and keep the MinVersionToLoad from the previous release.