NoAI FAQs

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
smallfly
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 862
Joined: 19 Oct 2009 13:29
Location: Germany

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by smallfly » 03 Nov 2009 23:59

cmoiromain wrote:[Off topic]You could have copied the line and pasted it somewhere else to read it[/Off topic]

Because it doesn't answer you questions, it's only a complement for the curious people. The important part of the message is in normal size.
[Off topic]I thought, that perhaps the text is only extremely small on my screen, because of custom browser settings, so I prefered to screenshot it ;) [/Off topic]
www.p1sim.org - P1SIM - Traffic, Logistics, City-Building & more
Join the discussions here on tt-forums.net!

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3054
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by Emperor Jake » 12 Nov 2009 07:47

Hi,
I was wondering, is there any AI that builds passenger trains?

Thanks,
Jake
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 318
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by fanioz » 12 Nov 2009 12:06

Emperor Jake wrote:Hi,
I was wondering, is there any AI that builds passenger trains?

Thanks,
Jake
Have you tried TConvoy(v.12) or Chooco?
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

griffin71
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 142
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 13:11
Location: Amsterdam

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by griffin71 » 03 Jan 2010 22:29

Hi,

Could somebody please post a link to the API for Squirrel based-AIs?

Thanks.
A game worth playing is a game worth modding :-)

Yexo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3653
Joined: 20 Dec 2007 12:49

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by Yexo » 03 Jan 2010 22:34

griffin71 wrote:Hi,

Could somebody please post a link to the API for Squirrel based-AIs?

Thanks.
Just follow the link to the FAQ in the first post and there is a box with links on the right site with a link to the API documentation.

griffin71
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 142
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 13:11
Location: Amsterdam

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by griffin71 » 04 Jan 2010 23:14

Thanks, Yexo.
A game worth playing is a game worth modding :-)

User avatar
luk3Z
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Dec 2005 17:42
Location: Poland

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by luk3Z » 06 Jan 2010 10:24

Some AI cause errors in my game and I wish to replace it (in loaded game) by other AI - how can I do that ?
I didn't find any command for console to replace AI and change AI settings don't help.
Find new graphics easier:
GRFCrawler -> http://grfcrawler.tt-forums.net
BaNaNaS -> http://bananas.openttd.org/en/

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by Zuu » 06 Jan 2010 10:30

From memory of design discussions of NoAI:

* Save your game
* Remove all compatible versions of the used AI (easiest if you don't know which ones that are compatible is to remove all versions of AIs with the same name). You need to remove the tar files or directories with .nut files of the AI from the search paths of OpenTTD (see the Readme for all search paths).
* Restart OpenTTD (not sure if it is needed, but doesn't hurt. Doing this you can verify that the AI has actually been removed in the AI Settings dialog)
* Load your save game

Now the game should pick a random AI.


Note again that I haven't tried this myself and I don't know if this actually works. It was the proposal that I think got implemented but I haven't checked myself.


Edit: We are of course interested to hear from you which AI is it that you have problem with?
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
luk3Z
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Dec 2005 17:42
Location: Poland

Re: NoAI FAQs

Post by luk3Z » 06 Jan 2010 12:16

Zuu wrote: (...)

Note again that I haven't tried this myself and I don't know if this actually works. It was the proposal that I think got implemented but I haven't checked myself.


Edit: We are of course interested to hear from you which AI is it that you have problem with?
Thanks for advices - I'll try it (hopefully I use only 1 newest version of each AI).
Choochoo caused some errors (I send pm with screenshot to author already).
Some AIs didn't started yet but present AIs in game are: AdmiralAI.22 and CluelessPlus-v15 (AdmiralAI going to bankrupt again - probably due to Modified Building Costs grf and hard difficulty).
BTW *.gz files are read in the same way like *.tar by the game ?
Find new graphics easier:
GRFCrawler -> http://grfcrawler.tt-forums.net
BaNaNaS -> http://bananas.openttd.org/en/

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD AIs and Game Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests