Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MogulAI
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Today i introducing first public version of my AI named so humble "MogulAI". :)

This AI uses only trucks, trying to grow as fast as it can (sometimes it reaches RV's limit in 5 years).
Using industry-industry truck routes.
Save/load implemented.
Bank balance monitoring and managment implemented.
Routes, stations and vehicles count managment implemented.
Upgrading vehicles implemented.

Tested with FIRS, eGRVTS.
Here is example of network it built in 4.5 years:
Attachment:
Moguls Trans Corp ltd., 1954-05-03.png [63.99 KiB]
Downloaded 170 times

Available at BaNaNaS also.
Waiting for your feedback.

edit for b5892:
Little update with fix of road vehicle's "memory effect".

edit for b5898:
- better behavior when coming close to RVs limit;
- use built-in replace functions;
- fixed bug of calculating starting count of vehicles for route;
- some minor tweaks.

edit for b5900:
- fixed load-game bug.

Attachment:
MogulAI-b5900.tar [120 KiB]
Downloaded 1119 times

_________________
Russia


Last edited by Dezmond_snz on Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:24 pm, edited 13 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:37 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
I look forward to 7.3 :)

Welcome to the AI community. Hope you'll stick around :D

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:47 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Uploaded new build 5373 of AI that now should work with 0.7.2.
Made check of OTTD version and using NoAI features depending on revision.

_________________
Russia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:40 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:32 pm
Posts: 318
Skype: woldy_bg
Location: Bulgaria
You should think about the distance your trucks go to produce income, because 30-40 tiles results in 1-2k income. It's fine though, I like it for a first release.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Wold wrote:
You should think about the distance your trucks go to produce income, because 30-40 tiles results in 1-2k income. It's fine though, I like it for a first release.

Actualy, AI checks distance when looking for possible service and minimum distance is 70 tiles.

Build 5390 at first post.
Upgrade vehicles implemented. Now it'll check available engines for better ones.

_________________
Russia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:23 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Just gave Mogul (5373) a run on 0.7.2

Very slick - quick to find and build routes and populates them very well.

A couple of slight hiccups, it connected an unserviced steel mill to a factory and shipped grain to one factory and livestock to another from the same farm.

Can't wait to see how this AI progresses - should prove to be quite a challenge, even for veteran players :)

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:28 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:32 pm
Posts: 318
Skype: woldy_bg
Location: Bulgaria
Dezmond_snz wrote:
Wold wrote:
You should think about the distance your trucks go to produce income, because 30-40 tiles results in 1-2k income. It's fine though, I like it for a first release.

Actualy, AI checks distance when looking for possible service and minimum distance is 70 tiles.


Well there's something wrong with that check ;)


Attachments:
Conham Transport, 2nd Jun 1971.png [83.23 KiB]
Downloaded 91 times

_________________
Image
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Wold wrote:
Well there's something wrong with that check ;)

Hmm... Interesting. I'll have a look.

Got it. There was another place with check, so 40 tiles was possible. :) Much thanks. In next build posted here it'll be fixed. (Hope post will be soon)

Xander wrote:
Just gave Mogul (5373) a run on 0.7.2
Very slick - quick to find and build routes and populates them very well.

A couple of slight hiccups, it connected an unserviced steel mill to a factory and shipped grain to one factory and livestock to another from the same farm.

Can't wait to see how this AI progresses - should prove to be quite a challenge, even for veteran players :)

That's very strange. Provide screenshot next time, please.

_________________
Russia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:46 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Just gave it another run and I'm going to voice a slight concern I had last time but didn't mention:

Mogul is too good :P

In 3 years it had made not only cleared its loan but was sitting on over £1.5 million 8o. Seriously - that's frighteningly good.

Congrats - you've made a god level AI :D
:bow:

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 9
Just to be sure --- it plays the same way as everyone else, no rating boosts or free terraforming like the original AI? If so, that sound beautiful! I'll be sure to test it. Speaking of which, I still expect it to eventually implode into itself as the general AI road congestion puts a brake on its road vehicles.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:15 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
KIDS wrote:
Just to be sure --- it plays the same way as everyone else, no rating boosts or free terraforming like the original AI? If so, that sound beautiful! I'll be sure to test it. Speaking of which, I still expect it to eventually implode into itself as the general AI road congestion puts a brake on its road vehicles.

None of then new AIs can do this. The only thing they can do which humans can't is build adjacent stations as new stations.

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Xander wrote:
The only thing they can do which humans can't is build adjacent stations as new stations.
Human players can do that too, just press ctrl while building the station.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Location, Location
i must congratulate you - GREAT AI :bow: :bow: :D

i found this bug:

EDIT: it deleted it but only after a year or two


Attachments:
Arioa International, 27th Dec 1970.png [207.95 KiB]
Downloaded 100 times

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:08 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Thanks for so good opinions. Thanks very much. :oops:
Lord Aro wrote:
...
i found this bug:
EDIT: it deleted it but only after a year or two

Well, it's not exactly a bug, i think, 'cuz there was good industry when he began build route. Such delay in removing this route conditioned by that AI was busy with some other work.
I'll add check in middle of building to detect such scenarios in future.
Thanks for report.

Now working on implementing routes from non-raw industries. Coming soon... ;)

_________________
Russia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 4
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Very impressive AI in the space of 9 years it has spawned over 500 road vehicles and currently leads the leaderboard. Don't know if anyone else has this problem but every 2nd time I load the game its AI crashes and stops building

_________________
Due to the recession the light at the end of the tunnel has been switched off


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Dezmond_snz wrote:
Now working on implementing routes from non-raw industries. Coming soon... ;)

Well, that my "soon" become a bit longer than soon. :mrgreen:

Finally i have reason to dig my topic up and present new version of MogulAI.
I made very many changes to strategy and microplaying of AI so now it must be more stable for longer game period.
Some of main changes i can remember:
- new totally custom pathfinder with reserved more traditional one;
- can handle any of industry-to-industry routes (i'm too lazy to implement town as destination or source :) );
- much better vehicles count managment for routes;
- extending stations for more vehicles;
- build statues in towns;
- a bit of terraforming for station and depot placing;
- "damn authority manager" - brings peaсe in intercourses with local authorities ;)
- queue detector and negative profit detector;
- something more... forgot already.

New version and same comments in first post.
Now i should learn how to upload it to bananas...
/me gone to grab some coffee ;)

_________________
Russia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
What a awesome bump! I must check how MagulAI is working!

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 58
Ok, now MogulAI available at BaNaNaS.
I cannot find bugs in it anymore and that's scared me a bit.
Help me to find them, please. ;)

_________________
Russia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
OK (1.02)


Attachments:
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG [ 22.82 KiB | Viewed 9940 times ]

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: MogulAI
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Location, Location
also, something of interest...


Attachments:
2.0.2.png
2.0.2.png [ 9.04 KiB | Viewed 9938 times ]

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.