MogulAI

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 14 Aug 2009 18:30

Today i introducing first public version of my AI named so humble "MogulAI". :)

This AI uses only trucks, trying to grow as fast as it can (sometimes it reaches RV's limit in 5 years).
Using industry-industry truck routes.
Save/load implemented.
Bank balance monitoring and managment implemented.
Routes, stations and vehicles count managment implemented.
Upgrading vehicles implemented.

Tested with FIRS, eGRVTS.
Here is example of network it built in 4.5 years:
Moguls Trans Corp ltd., 1954-05-03.png
(63.99 KiB) Downloaded 170 times
Available at BaNaNaS also.
Waiting for your feedback.

edit for b5892:
Little update with fix of road vehicle's "memory effect".

edit for b5898:
- better behavior when coming close to RVs limit;
- use built-in replace functions;
- fixed bug of calculating starting count of vehicles for route;
- some minor tweaks.

edit for b5900:
- fixed load-game bug.
MogulAI-b5900.tar
(120 KiB) Downloaded 1231 times
Last edited by Dezmond_snz on 10 Oct 2010 14:24, edited 13 times in total.
Russia

User avatar
Xander
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 485
Joined: 18 May 2007 12:47
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: MogulAI

Post by Xander » 14 Aug 2009 19:37

I look forward to 7.3 :)

Welcome to the AI community. Hope you'll stick around :D
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 15 Aug 2009 10:47

Uploaded new build 5373 of AI that now should work with 0.7.2.
Made check of OTTD version and using NoAI features depending on revision.
Russia

Wold
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 318
Joined: 03 Aug 2006 19:32
Skype: woldy_bg
Location: Bulgaria

Re: MogulAI

Post by Wold » 15 Aug 2009 13:40

You should think about the distance your trucks go to produce income, because 30-40 tiles results in 1-2k income. It's fine though, I like it for a first release.
Image

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 15 Aug 2009 14:20

Wold wrote:You should think about the distance your trucks go to produce income, because 30-40 tiles results in 1-2k income. It's fine though, I like it for a first release.
Actualy, AI checks distance when looking for possible service and minimum distance is 70 tiles.

Build 5390 at first post.
Upgrade vehicles implemented. Now it'll check available engines for better ones.
Russia

User avatar
Xander
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 485
Joined: 18 May 2007 12:47
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: MogulAI

Post by Xander » 15 Aug 2009 14:23

Just gave Mogul (5373) a run on 0.7.2

Very slick - quick to find and build routes and populates them very well.

A couple of slight hiccups, it connected an unserviced steel mill to a factory and shipped grain to one factory and livestock to another from the same farm.

Can't wait to see how this AI progresses - should prove to be quite a challenge, even for veteran players :)
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence

Wold
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 318
Joined: 03 Aug 2006 19:32
Skype: woldy_bg
Location: Bulgaria

Re: MogulAI

Post by Wold » 15 Aug 2009 14:28

Dezmond_snz wrote:
Wold wrote:You should think about the distance your trucks go to produce income, because 30-40 tiles results in 1-2k income. It's fine though, I like it for a first release.
Actualy, AI checks distance when looking for possible service and minimum distance is 70 tiles.
Well there's something wrong with that check ;)
Attachments
Conham Transport, 2nd Jun 1971.png
(83.23 KiB) Downloaded 91 times
Image

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 15 Aug 2009 15:09

Wold wrote:Well there's something wrong with that check ;)
Hmm... Interesting. I'll have a look.

Got it. There was another place with check, so 40 tiles was possible. :) Much thanks. In next build posted here it'll be fixed. (Hope post will be soon)
Xander wrote:Just gave Mogul (5373) a run on 0.7.2
Very slick - quick to find and build routes and populates them very well.

A couple of slight hiccups, it connected an unserviced steel mill to a factory and shipped grain to one factory and livestock to another from the same farm.

Can't wait to see how this AI progresses - should prove to be quite a challenge, even for veteran players :)
That's very strange. Provide screenshot next time, please.
Russia

User avatar
Xander
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 485
Joined: 18 May 2007 12:47
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: MogulAI

Post by Xander » 15 Aug 2009 15:46

Just gave it another run and I'm going to voice a slight concern I had last time but didn't mention:

Mogul is too good :P

In 3 years it had made not only cleared its loan but was sitting on over £1.5 million 8o. Seriously - that's frighteningly good.

Congrats - you've made a god level AI :D
:bow:
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence

KIDS
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Aug 2009 11:28

Re: MogulAI

Post by KIDS » 15 Aug 2009 16:10

Just to be sure --- it plays the same way as everyone else, no rating boosts or free terraforming like the original AI? If so, that sound beautiful! I'll be sure to test it. Speaking of which, I still expect it to eventually implode into itself as the general AI road congestion puts a brake on its road vehicles.

User avatar
Xander
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 485
Joined: 18 May 2007 12:47
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: MogulAI

Post by Xander » 15 Aug 2009 16:15

KIDS wrote:Just to be sure --- it plays the same way as everyone else, no rating boosts or free terraforming like the original AI? If so, that sound beautiful! I'll be sure to test it. Speaking of which, I still expect it to eventually implode into itself as the general AI road congestion puts a brake on its road vehicles.
None of then new AIs can do this. The only thing they can do which humans can't is build adjacent stations as new stations.
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence

Yexo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3653
Joined: 20 Dec 2007 12:49

Re: MogulAI

Post by Yexo » 15 Aug 2009 16:20

Xander wrote:The only thing they can do which humans can't is build adjacent stations as new stations.
Human players can do that too, just press ctrl while building the station.

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2366
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: MogulAI

Post by Lord Aro » 16 Aug 2009 07:39

i must congratulate you - GREAT AI :bow: :bow: :D

i found this bug:

EDIT: it deleted it but only after a year or two
Attachments
Arioa International, 27th Dec 1970.png
(207.95 KiB) Downloaded 100 times
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 16 Aug 2009 09:08

Thanks for so good opinions. Thanks very much. :oops:
Lord Aro wrote:...
i found this bug:
EDIT: it deleted it but only after a year or two
Well, it's not exactly a bug, i think, 'cuz there was good industry when he began build route. Such delay in removing this route conditioned by that AI was busy with some other work.
I'll add check in middle of building to detect such scenarios in future.
Thanks for report.

Now working on implementing routes from non-raw industries. Coming soon... ;)
Russia

User avatar
dillonb3
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jul 2009 11:30
Location: Dundalk, Ireland

Re: MogulAI

Post by dillonb3 » 19 Aug 2009 16:10

Very impressive AI in the space of 9 years it has spawned over 500 road vehicles and currently leads the leaderboard. Don't know if anyone else has this problem but every 2nd time I load the game its AI crashes and stops building
Due to the recession the light at the end of the tunnel has been switched off

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 14 Jul 2010 16:38

Dezmond_snz wrote:Now working on implementing routes from non-raw industries. Coming soon... ;)
Well, that my "soon" become a bit longer than soon. :mrgreen:

Finally i have reason to dig my topic up and present new version of MogulAI.
I made very many changes to strategy and microplaying of AI so now it must be more stable for longer game period.
Some of main changes i can remember:
- new totally custom pathfinder with reserved more traditional one;
- can handle any of industry-to-industry routes (i'm too lazy to implement town as destination or source :) );
- much better vehicles count managment for routes;
- extending stations for more vehicles;
- build statues in towns;
- a bit of terraforming for station and depot placing;
- "damn authority manager" - brings peaсe in intercourses with local authorities ;)
- queue detector and negative profit detector;
- something more... forgot already.

New version and same comments in first post.
Now i should learn how to upload it to bananas...
/me gone to grab some coffee ;)
Russia

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: MogulAI

Post by Kogut » 14 Jul 2010 16:42

What a awesome bump! I must check how MagulAI is working!
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: MogulAI

Post by Dezmond_snz » 15 Jul 2010 16:45

Ok, now MogulAI available at BaNaNaS.
I cannot find bugs in it anymore and that's scared me a bit.
Help me to find them, please. ;)
Russia

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: MogulAI

Post by Kogut » 15 Jul 2010 20:30

OK (1.02)
Attachments
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG (22.82 KiB) Viewed 11051 times
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2366
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: MogulAI

Post by Lord Aro » 15 Jul 2010 20:37

also, something of interest...
Attachments
2.0.2.png
2.0.2.png (9.04 KiB) Viewed 11049 times
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD AIs and Game Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests