Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:13 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence

JAMI is not intended to change the world. The hope is that, in time, she will become a fun opponent to play against, able to do all the things you do. If she makes you want to bring her along to a multiplayer game, I'll be happy :)

Also, I'm using JAMI to help showcase the new NoAI project space. Below is a complete list of features that the space provides.

==Current Release==
Version 3: Bankers and Trucks
Attachment:
File comment: Version 3
JAMI.tar [69.5 KiB]
Downloaded 311 times


If you want to:
  • See recent activity
  • Have a look at the development roadmap
  • Report a bug or see a list of known bugs
  • See planned features and suggest one
  • Read the latest JAMI news
  • Get previous versions
  • Get the source code

Please visit http://noai.openttd.org/projects/show/ai-jami

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Last edited by Xander on Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:47 am, edited 16 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:15 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
<Reserved for screenshots or something, I don't know.>

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:12 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 272
Congrats on your new AI.

I like the log format a lot.

Let me be the first to report a bug.



Code:
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] PROSPECTOR: My analyis shows the best route is from Sendown to Fochester using buses
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] MANAGER: How much will that cost to provide?
dbg: [ai] [2] [W] ADMINISTRATOR: Using TrueAncestors GetBestCargo algorithm
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] ENGINEER: I'm going to suggest the MPS Regal Bus
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] ENGINEER: That will cost 4953
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] ACCOUNTANT: The most we can spend is 299617
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] MANAGER: That's fine by me. Let's get this route built.
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] BUILDER: Constructing a new route
dbg: [ai] [2] [I] BUILDER: Constructing a road station
dbg: [ai] [2] [W] BUILDER: Could not find suitable location
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] Your script made an error: parameter 1 has an invalid type 'bool' ; expected: 'integer'
dbg: [ai] [2] [S]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] *FUNCTION [BuildRoadStation()] C:\Users\Dustin\Documents\OpenTTD\content_download\ai\JAMI.tar\jami\builder.nut line [123]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] *FUNCTION [BuildRoute()] C:\Users\Dustin\Documents\OpenTTD\content_download\ai\JAMI.tar\jami\builder.nut line [23]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] *FUNCTION [BuildNewRoute()] C:\Users\Dustin\Documents\OpenTTD\content_download\ai\JAMI.tar\jami\manager.nut line [45]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] *FUNCTION [Run()] C:\Users\Dustin\Documents\OpenTTD\content_download\ai\JAMI.tar\jami\manager.nut line [21]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] *FUNCTION [Start()] C:\Users\Dustin\Documents\OpenTTD\content_download\ai\JAMI.tar\jami\main.nut line [40]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S]
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [tile] true
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [stationtype] 4
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [destination] 141684
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [site] 151960
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [this] INSTANCE
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [end] 141684
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [start] 151960
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [route] INSTANCE
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [this] INSTANCE
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [vehicle_cost] 4953
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [max_infra_cost] 0
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [best_route] INSTANCE
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [MaximumCost] 300000
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [this] INSTANCE
dbg: [ai] [2] [S] [this] INSTANCE

_________________
Denver & Rio Grande Railroad AI


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:12 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Dustin wrote:
Congrats on your new AI.

I like the log format a lot.

Let me be the first to report a bug.

snip


Many thanks. Fixed in 0.2.

Glad you liked the log format. I loved the idea of having the whole thing laid out like some kind of horrendous board meeting so anyone can listen in on JAMI's thought process.

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:55 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4548
Location: /home/sweden
Nice to see you post your AI you have been kept talking about. I would just want to point out that your use of decimal point versions is not compatible with BaNaNaS. It only accept integer version numbers. So I rather just start on 1, 2, 3, 4 etc. or use release dates or whatever as what GetVersion() (or whatever that function now was called) returns and what you put in BaNaNaS. The important for OpenTTD and BaNaNaS is that a newer version has a higher number and that all numbers are integers. Probably 32 bit unsigned integers, but I don't really know what the upper limit is.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:59 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Zuu wrote:
Nice to see you post your AI you have been kept talking about. I would just want to point out that your use of decimal point versions is not compatible with BaNaNaS. It only accept integer version numbers. So I rather just start on 1, 2, 3, 4 etc. or use release dates or whatever as what GetVersion() (or whatever that function now was called) returns and what you put in BaNaNaS. The important for OpenTTD and BaNaNaS is that a newer version has a higher number and that all numbers are integers. Probably 32 bit unsigned integers, but I don't really know what the upper limit is.


Cool. Not a problem right now as I have no intention of putting her anywhere near Bananas until version 1 anyway :)

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2365
Location: Location, Location
looks like fun :tongue:
will certainly download it as soon as i'm on a computer that has openttd on it(and i don't forget :roll: )

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:02 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 9
Gotta say I love the board meeting style. I'll be sure to give it a go a bit later and report with any bugs.

What exactly differentiates it from AIs like NoCAB and Convoy, btw? In game, differences can be hard to see, but code is probably very different... or not?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2365
Location: Location, Location
i'm afraid that as soon as i started it up it crashed
here's the debug


Attachments:
File comment: JAMI error
Unnamed, 26th Jun 1950.png [188.72 KiB]
Downloaded 121 times

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:48 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
KIDS wrote:
Gotta say I love the board meeting style. I'll be sure to give it a go a bit later and report with any bugs.

What exactly differentiates it from AIs like NoCAB and Convoy, btw? In game, differences can be hard to see, but code is probably very different... or not?

JAMI seems to have a lot more component files than most of the other AI's (if you don't include graphs/models and the like). I've not really peered into many other AI's other than TrueAncestor and Convoy (I really couldn't get my head around building bus stations) and the only thing that really stood out is how many classes JAMI has. I think she might also be the only one who pathfinds before she pathfinds.

Lord Aro wrote:
i'm afraid that as soon as i started it up it crashed
here's the debug

Please see above - spotted and fixed for next version. But thanks anyway.

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2365
Location: Location, Location
oh right
and i'm guessing (unless i'm being really stupid) you haven't uploaded 0.2 yet

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 9:11 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Lord Aro wrote:
oh right
and i'm guessing (unless i'm being really stupid) you haven't uploaded 0.2 yet

Nope, but you can get to the source code here if you want to apply the fix yourself :)

Otherwise, 0.2 should be out soon, probably when JAMI can handle trucks.

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:18 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 891
Congratulations for your AI! :)
I'm testing it right now and there is no crash or serious bug in the first 3 years. The only problem is that there is only 1 bus running on each line.
And I agree with the others that the log is really fun to read :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:21 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Brumi wrote:
Congratulations for your AI! :)
I'm testing it right now and there is no crash or serious bug in the first 3 years. The only problem is that there is only 1 bus running on each line.
And I agree with the others that the log is really fun to read :)

That's fully intended right now. There will be a new task assigned to the Administrator to MaximiseStationPerformance later on.

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:32 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Version 0.2 is now available. See first post.

A few minor changes and that bug has been fixed. I ran her quite successfully for 30 years on a random map. Here's what she did:
Attachment:
JAMI Network.PNG [33.41 KiB]
Downloaded 122 times

It's going right on the fridge :lol:

EDIT: Quick note - I've renamed/reorganised the version system to match the new roadmap

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
You're quite the entertainer I must say :) I enjoyed both the debug output the others mentioned already, and your roadmap.
"If only these two collided more often..." - hilarious :lol:

I wish you good luck with your AI. May it grow to have a distinct style not only in code but also in gameplay, and compete well against the other AIs, of course ;)

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:41 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Xander wrote:
It's going right on the fridge :lol:

Hahaha, congrats and good luck :D

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I'm going to add this to my game - we'll see how well it copes with cargodist :evil:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:59 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
Wasila wrote:
I'm going to add this to my game - we'll see how well it copes with cargodist :evil:


Theoretically, terribly, as cargo dest isn't in trunk yet and I don't run it on my machine. She'll certainly be taught how to use it if it goes into trunk though (and the NoAI API is updated accordingly).


EDIT: cargodest/cargodist; same difference - I don't use them. Teaching JAMI to find her ass with both hands is hard enough. Trying to teach her things that aren't even in trunk yet is just masochistic :|

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
What is JAMI's technical name? start_ai jami fails to work.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.