Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 340 posts ]  Go to page Previous 113 14 15 16 17 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 9:57 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
idioty wrote:
Why build first monorail tracks when rails are available cheaper?
Two different AI is in the screenshot.


Oh, that's because in the normal game with default settings, monorail is not that much more expensive, and the newer trains are usually strictly better than the old ones, so that's the only logic that's built in. Basically, rail is just assumed to be cheap, and only trains/tunnels/bridges are expensive.

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:07 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:57 pm
Posts: 199
Another thing, when using the PIPE NewGRF, ChooChoo tends to try to make pipelines to transport Iron Ore from the mines to a steel mill, and similar. Since PIPE is restricted to liquid cargoes this doesn't go well (even though there are real life examples of pipelines pumping marble (slurry) and iron ore as well)

In other words ChooChoo should probably check to avoid using the pipe railtype (4, I have checked)

_________________
Skippern
OpenTTD Mac user


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
Hardcoding is evil. It can be done properly (I forgot how but AIAI is handling this kind of thing).

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1292
I'm pretty sure that the AI I bought out in my "Rartown Brown Railroad Co." game was a ChooChoo...I connected a station the AI had built(which had signs in the air saying ChooChoo was pathfinding) near my world's largest city to a nearby set of double tracks between those four-way junctions that had also been built by the AI,
and built a station in the nearby second-largest city and plugged it into the other end of the junction.Then I started sending trains on this route.
The first train to reach the second junction,going down a one-way track,reversed course and headed for the train behind it...I'm told the junction allows no exits.

The game save and an image of the impasse and junction are up on page 4 of the "General Hello and a Help Request" topic in the OpenTTD General forum.

What's the fix?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:37 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4677
Location: home
An a link to that page/image: viewtopic.php?p=1113274#p1113274

@Baldy's Boss
The little document icon near the "posted" date at the right in the header above each message gives you a link to that post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:32 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
It was, Baldy's Boss, and thanks for the link Alberth, I'll reply over there!

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 4:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1292
It's one thing that ChooChoo posts notes in the air about its plans.But apparently they linger even after a ChooChoo has gone bankrupt?
Take a look at this game.


Attachments:
LittleOldWorldRedRailroad,1stJan1914.sav [241.44 KiB]
Downloaded 65 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:27 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Baldy's Boss wrote:
It's one thing that ChooChoo posts notes in the air about its plans.But apparently they linger even after a ChooChoo has gone bankrupt?
Take a look at this game.


That's quite possible. If an AI goes bankrupt, it stops running and can no longer clean up its signs, I believe. If this bothers you, you can turn the signs off through ChooChoo's settings.

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:33 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4538
Location: /home/sweden
And in a game where this has already occurred, there is the option to turn off competitor signs. It will hide dead AI signs. (my main motivation for implementing that feature was actually when testing AIs and having my screen littered by dead AI signs from restarting my AI over and over)

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:11 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:05 am
Posts: 7
Choo-choo made this some time ago:

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:07 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Cool, that's a lot of track it managed to squeeze in there. Then again, that game has been running for quite a while :) Interesting looking map, by the way!

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 11:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1292
In the save,a ChooChoo (which went bankrupt one month later) apparently "reinvented the wheel" in trying to build service between Quarberg Market and Funthwaite Springs...two parallel dual lines that don't connect.
So it was left with heavy infrastructure bills and no revenue potential on the route.Does it not keep track of where it has tracks?


Attachments:
LittleOldWorldRedRailroad,1stSep1959.sav [294.18 KiB]
Downloaded 56 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:07 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Baldy's Boss wrote:
Does it not keep track of where it has tracks?

No, it doesn't; it just plops down a crossing into a random spot that looks promising, then tries to extend the crossing in each direction. It's entirely possible it'll pick two spots, close together, neither of which results in a buildable route.

However, the savegame does look odd: it has two sets of unfinished track, which shouldn't normally happen (one containing Frohead Junction and the other with Wreeley Junction). It won't start a new network unless every exit of every crossing has been tried. Although... did you happen to save and reload the game? That would explain it, since it doesn't keep track of what it was building across a save/load cycle (in fact, it doesn't save anything, it just looks at the map).

Sorry, in this case it's just too stupid to live :P

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1292
Yes,I am given to frequent save/reloads.
I can probably check older saves for how this set developed.


So there's no "check the existing network" function?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:30 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Nope, once a network is built (or you load a savegame) it is forgotten. It just sells vehicles operating at a loss. Other than that, it just goes and builds stuff. I added (but never released) a feature where it sells the bottom 10% of vehicles (by yearly profit) and clones the top 10% every year, but that's it.

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:24 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:52 am
Posts: 240
Train 4 needs to take a hell of a path to go from a station so close to the other.


Attachments:
screenshot#7.png [655.23 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
autosave4.sav [2.27 MiB]
Downloaded 48 times

_________________
Formerly known as Samu
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:38 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Ha, yes it'll do that. It'll probably discover it's not a profitable route and sell the vehicles. I never got around to implementing a comparison between "as the crow flies" distance vs. the distance the train will have to take.

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:26 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 11:24 am
Posts: 1
Dear developers,

first of all, I really like the way this AI is playing and building its long rails.

I am running some contest games. And, I have found that this AI does not returns its loans, even when it has plenty of money. I think it is a bug, and this costs 50 winning point for nothing.

Best regards,


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 8:32 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 313
Hi matta2006, you're right. While it's waiting for more money to come in, it'll always max out its loan, so it can see when it has how much it needs. Between checks, it should really have paid back what it could. However, it has to keep enough in cash to pay for station maintenance and avoid bankruptcy, and I was too lazy to make it any smarter :)

_________________
Building Powargrid: a turn based strategy game


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
From "newgrf hates ChooChoo" saga: 2cc trainset has passenger-only monorail. This AI attempts to use it to move coal.


Attachments:
2cc.sav [56.77 KiB]
Downloaded 43 times

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 340 posts ]  Go to page Previous 113 14 15 16 17 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.