NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition Version 2.2a4

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a10

Post by Kogut »

Morloth wrote:* For some strange reason rail tiles are deleted from a finsihed connection...
\

Next ChooChoo :lol:
Anyway, I must try it.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
Michiel
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 313
Joined: 13 Jul 2008 00:57
Contact:

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a10

Post by Michiel »

Kogut wrote:Next ChooChoo :lol:
LOL, indeed :)

Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a11

Post by Morloth »

Funny guys ;).

Anyways the new version fixed this issue!

Changelog:
- Build the train at the correct side.
- Don't connect incompatible rail types.
- Don't serve an industry twice.
- Fixed a bug where rail tiles were removed if we failed to build a rail connection.

Open issues:
* Build HQ at the start of the game.
* Handle building errors better.
* Sometimes we building 'into' a bridge.
* During upgrading to a better rail type it gets stuck when rail types are shared.

Enjoy! :)

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a11

Post by Kogut »

explained in save title
Attachments
lost ships.sav
(398.2 KiB) Downloaded 73 times
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a12

Post by Morloth »

Happy days!!! Today I announce the feature complete release of NoCAB BEE 2.0. This means that all main features for this release have now been implemented. I set out to include train support and this has been accomplished. Train connections can be build, maintained and upgraded which makes me very happy :).

Before I release NoCAB 2.0 however, I want to work on the code a little bit, do more bug testing, and try to improve the overall performance. But, unless some huge bug shows up, I should be ready to release NoCAB 2.0 when OpenTTD 1.0 is released :D. Thanks all of you for all the bug reports and suggestions over the past weeks, it has been very helpful!

Enjoy this release and if you note anything strange or a crash please do report it and I'll see what I can do!
- Bram

Steffl
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 103
Joined: 23 Feb 2010 15:44

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a12

Post by Steffl »

Enjoy this release and if you note anything strange or a crash please do report it and I'll see what I can do!
If you ask for crashes then you get crashes.
Here it is one that happened yesterday in an AI-Test. I used an older version of your AI, but I don't think you fixed this bug already in a newer version.
Bye.
Attachments
Nocab.png

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a12

Post by Dezmond_snz »

Morloth wrote:Enjoy this release and if you note anything strange or a crash please do report it and I'll see what I can do!
After half year playing (i got this every time when first autosave happen (r19410)):
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2051-08-18.png
(add)
Ok, played a little after turning autosave off. Works good. One thing: it builds REALLY slow bridges (64 km/h max) for Chimaera maglev train.
Oh, and it forgot to remove signs ("original location") after fail in building train connection.

(add)
Funny situation (i don't think i should say whats wrong here ;) ):
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2063-01-25.png
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2063-01-25.png (51.62 KiB) Viewed 2064 times
(add)
Interesting idea to compete with self :)
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2067-03-15.png
Russia


Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a12

Post by Morloth »

Steffl wrote:
Enjoy this release and if you note anything strange or a crash please do report it and I'll see what I can do!
If you ask for crashes then you get crashes.
Here it is one that happened yesterday in an AI-Test. I used an older version of your AI, but I don't think you fixed this bug already in a newer version.
Bye.
This one has actually been fixed in the newer version, but thanks for the report! :)
Dezmond_snz wrote:
Morloth wrote:Enjoy this release and if you note anything strange or a crash please do report it and I'll see what I can do!
After half year playing (i got this every time when first autosave happen (r19410)):
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2051-08-18.png
(add)
Ok, played a little after turning autosave off. Works good. One thing: it builds REALLY slow bridges (64 km/h max) for Chimaera maglev train.
Oh, and it forgot to remove signs ("original location") after fail in building train connection.
Yeah, not sure how that happened before the release everything was working good and I made a subtle change which apparently broke it :(. But I've fixed this little bug now :).
Dezmond_snz wrote: Funny situation (i don't think i should say whats wrong here ;) ):
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2063-01-25.png
Hehe, that's quite funny :). Think I'll either dissable roads or make sure they aren't build that close to stations :).
Dezmond_snz wrote: Interesting idea to compete with self :)
NoCAB - v2.0a12, 2067-03-15.png
Darn! I hoped this issue was fixed by now... Thanks I'll have another look to see what's going on :).
SirkoZ wrote:A crash here too - plus - again - DEBUG SIGNS!
Thanks! This one has been fixed as well, sorry about the debug signs, I removed them all... promise! :X

I'll do some more testing and the next one will hopefully contain less (no! ;)) bugs.
Thanks again guys!
Bram

Brumi
President
President
Posts: 906
Joined: 18 Jul 2009 17:54

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a12

Post by Brumi »

I've been testing the newest version, it's nice to see that the 400th revision is out :)
You've done a great work improving the rail network, it looks nice.
However, NoCAB sometimes overestimates the capacity of its rail lines. Here the trains cannot move simply because there are too many of them.
Attachments
too many trains.png

Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a13

Post by Morloth »

Hey everyone,

Just crunched a few bugs. The changelog is below:

- Don't build debug signs (thx SirkoZ :) ).
- Don't allow existing stations to be used for new connections.
- Fixed a bug while saving data (thx Dezmond_snz!).
- Corrected the upgrade rail action, we now properly keep track of all tracks which must be updated.
- Make sure the tracks are either updated or keep trying until they are.
- Never replace a train vehicle and only replace a plane if it's of the same size.
- Don't allow roads to cross rail ways.
- Upgrade the bridges for new rail types.

This should take care of all the bugs except the one reported by Brumi. What I do at the moment is only check if there are trains waiting at the start / end station to check if I should build more trains but this clearly doesn't work as I also don't know about huge traffic jams further down the road. I'll check and see if I can come up with a solution for this.

The last open issues:
* Build HQ at the start of the game.
* Make sure not to build to many trains!

Thanks for all your help testing, I really appreciate it!
Bram

Dezmond_snz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 19 Apr 2009 11:50

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a13

Post by Dezmond_snz »

Morloth wrote:Thanks for all your help testing, I really appreciate it!
Bram
Nice work! Now it play much better.

But still VERY slow bridges for maglev (may be problem in short bridge length (3 tiles)?):
NoCAB - v2.0a13, 2080-07-05.png
NoCAB - v2.0a13, 2080-07-05.png (32.89 KiB) Viewed 1993 times
(add)
Oh, got it. May be it's good idea to use second bridge instead of best one but not in this case. :)
Russia

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a13

Post by Kogut »

Morloth wrote:The last open issues:
* Build HQ at the start of the game.
* Make sure not to build to many trains!
* You can copy code from Rondje
* Maybe you can compare distance between stations, with sum_of_length_of_trains
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a13

Post by Morloth »

New version, new bugs crushed! :)
- Get the correct length of a bridge, otherwise bridges of certain lengths couldn't be build and it would get stuck during the rail upgrade.
- Build an HQ at the start of the game (shamelessly copied from Rondje, thanks! :)).

Open issues:
* Make sure not to build to many trains!
Dezmond_snz wrote:
Morloth wrote:Thanks for all your help testing, I really appreciate it!
Bram
Nice work! Now it play much better.

But still VERY slow bridges for maglev (may be problem in short bridge length (3 tiles)?):
NoCAB - v2.0a13, 2080-07-05.png
(add)
Oh, got it. May be it's good idea to use second bridge instead of best one but not in this case. :)
Yes, there was a problem with determining the length of the bridges. I always estimated it 1 tile shorter. So in the case of your example it would think it had to build a bridge of length 2 instead of 3. So now it should select the correct bridge.
Kogut wrote:
Morloth wrote:The last open issues:
* Build HQ at the start of the game.
* Make sure not to build to many trains!
* You can copy code from Rondje
* Maybe you can compare distance between stations, with sum_of_length_of_trains
Thanks for the suggestion, Rondje's code is now included so an HQ will be build at the start of the game :). I was thinking along those lines, but still need to come up with a clever way of going about with it.

Ok, I'm going to work on some other stuff in the meantime. Thanks again!
Bram

Brumi
President
President
Posts: 906
Joined: 18 Jul 2009 17:54

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a14

Post by Brumi »

You were faster making a new version than me posting this bug report :)
So, I was testing 2.0a13 under OpenTTD r19390 and I had a crash, not sure if you've already fixed it or not:
NoCAB crash.png
NoCAB crash.png (20.54 KiB) Viewed 1969 times
NoCAB.sav
(542.29 KiB) Downloaded 68 times
Back to testing, now it is 2.0a14... :)

EDIT: I've just had the same crash in the newest version as well.

Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a14

Post by Morloth »

Brumi wrote:You were faster making a new version than me posting this bug report :)
So, I was testing 2.0a13 under OpenTTD r19390 and I had a crash, not sure if you've already fixed it or not:
NoCAB crash.png
NoCAB.sav
Back to testing, now it is 2.0a14... :)

EDIT: I've just had the same crash in the newest version as well.
Hey Brumi,

Thanks for your report. I got into the same error message as well. It is related to the fact that for some reason I sometimes don't remove train stations after building a connection failed. I'll look into it once I get home :).

Cheers,
Bram

Timmaexx
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 301
Joined: 03 Jan 2009 17:55

Better than AdmiralAI

Post by Timmaexx »

I really want to thank you for this great AI, your permanently work is amazing.
I left the forum yesterday afternoon and now you released two versions in the time I'm away.
And it is the first and only AI that uses every transport option(Ship, Train, RV, Plane) :bow:

User avatar
Michiel
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 313
Joined: 13 Jul 2008 00:57
Contact:

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a13

Post by Michiel »

Morloth wrote:- Build an HQ at the start of the game (shamelessly copied from Rondje, thanks! :)).
Hehe, you're welcome ;)

Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: NoCAB - Bleeding Edge edition - Version 2.0a15

Post by Morloth »

Ok, new version! All the above bugs should be fixed now! (fingers crossed ;) ).

- Fixed a crash due to not removing all stations when failing to build a connection.
- Properly estimate the length of the bridges.

Open issues:
* Make sure not to build too many trains!

Unless other horrible bugs show up, I'm going to work a bit to refactor the code (it's a bit of a mess now), so get ready for a release soon! :)
Thanks for the reports everyone!
Bram
Last edited by Morloth on 16 Mar 2010 11:21, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD AIs and Game Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests