Jim Powers' Scenarios & Games (TTDP)

Post your custom scenarios here. Saved games also welcome. All Transport Tycoon games acceptable (including TTDPatch and OpenTTD).
Post Reply
User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Jim Powers' Scenarios & Games (TTDP)

Post by Jim Powers » 30 Nov 2003 17:33

Dear TT-Forum Family;

I'm redesigning my latest scenario *Mammoth Cities* to include
dual or double Subway Stations. In the screenshot you'll see Sub A VII
and Sub A VIII in front only separated by [1] tile w/signal. This is a single
"loop". Three of this kind has been designed (A B C) to accommodate the
mail and passengers in the huge city of Seattle [300,000 pop.] Notice that
both subways are unloading and loading at the same time. I will let you
know when I'm finished. (It's tough to design!) And also not lose the
population total. It took all day Saturday to get my pop. to 300,000, after
losing 35,000 to make room for the Subway system. UGH!

Always,
Jim Powers

***********************************************************
Jim Powers wrote:TT-Forums Family;

It's been 6 months since I last posted an itemized list of my scenarios, so,
I've updated my "TT-Forums" Scenario Download List with their Page Numbers.
Feel free to download any or all of my scenarios right here in this topic
"Jim Powers Savegames". :wink:

List of My Scenarios
1. Extreme Cities
2. Out of Africa
3. Outrageous Outback II
4. Jim's New York City
5. Taming the Swiss
6. Oil Heaven
7. Norden Plus
8. Jim's Europe
9. Europe Classic
10. Brazil, So Real
11. Poland Power
12. Virginia Rails
13. Northeast Rails
14. Northeast Rails II
15. Mid Central Rails
16. Western Pacific Rails
17. Noticeable Netherlands
18. Notable Norway
19. Elegant England Plus
20. 10 City Circle
21. Lumber Jack
22. Awesome Alps
23. Industrial Zone
24. Russia Europart
25. Russia Asiapart
26. Absolutely Aussie
27. Fashionable France
28. Bold British Columbia
29. Super Subways II
30. Magnificent Mexico
31. Grandeur Gardens
32. TTD - Squares
33. World Trade Centre
34. Apple Country
35. Amazing Alberta
36. Incredible India
37. Flamboyant Florida
38.Totally Texas
39.Spicy Spain
40.Twin Peaks USA
41. Boundless Belgium
42. Land of Pyramids
43. Illustrious Italy (Landscape only)
43a. Illustrious Italy 2 (Complete Scenario)
44. The Tokyo Experience
45. Mid Central Roads and Rails
46. Beloved Balkans
47. Japanese Expression
48. Simply.... South America
49. Hills and Valley
50. Almighty Alpine
51. Plain Game
52. The City
53. The City III
54. Northeast Rails III
55. China Connecton
56. Virginia Rails II
57. Brazil, Now
58. Luck of the Irish
59. Jim's Early NYC
60. Totally Texas II

Edit By Raichase: Updated the list


[edit] Done them all, quite A LOT there. Oh and I linked to the revised Russia Europart.
I hope this helps you find the scenarios more easily. Choose the ones you
think will be right for you..................and have FUN! :D

Always,
JimPowers
Attachments
Double Subway Station 002.jpg
Back to Back Subway Stations
Double Subway Station 002.jpg (143.19 KiB) Viewed 44316 times
Last edited by Raichase on 09 May 2008 09:21, edited 17 times in total.
Reason: 9th May 2008: Added Totally Texas II

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Watch How Subways Work

Post by Jim Powers » 30 Nov 2003 17:55

Dear TT-Forum Family;

If you want to see how the Subway trains work, I have an example
from my *Mammoth Cities* scenario in a saved game. It is
" JP Transport" See Attached saved game. Remember, this is
only a sample.

Please Let me know if you like this style of subways.......

Always,
Jim Powers
Attachments
TRP04.SV1
Subways in Action
(312.75 KiB) Downloaded 1935 times

User avatar
GoneWacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8683
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 15:08
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by GoneWacko » 30 Nov 2003 17:56

What does that have to do with Oskar's GUI Experiments ?? :roll:
GoneWacko. Making [url=irc://irc.oftc.net/tycoon]#tycoon[/url] sexy and exciting since 1784.

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os » 30 Nov 2003 18:07

Moving out of my Topic...
Couldn't people think where they post, (two posts) :?

User avatar
Maverick
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 175
Joined: 08 Dec 2002 15:20
Location: West Ryde, Australia.
Contact:

Post by Maverick » 01 Dec 2003 02:57

Nice work as always jim.
Quick Q, what grf set are you using?
It looks like DBset, but when I enable the dbset, unfortunately your trains go Uber Slow :(

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Slow Trains

Post by Jim Powers » 01 Dec 2003 03:19

Dear Mr. Maverick;

When I downloaded a saved game from Owen's Repository
the other day, I had the same reaction on trains slowing way
down after running regular for a few minutes. We used to never
had those problems until the latest patch was installed. I believe
it's a "bug". I checked and I have dbset grf. Though I had no problem
while testing the subway system. Remember I'm only a "regular user",
so, I don't know the solution. Did you look at San Francisco? Big city huh?

Always,
Jim Powers

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

GUI

Post by Jim Powers » 01 Dec 2003 15:09

Mr. Gonewhacko;

The reason for being here is, Mr. Oskar 's GUI station design layout
is a rare opportunity to expand at scenarios. He inspired me to use
more space effeciently, however, it worked out with the subways to
put a [5] tile station space and [1] tile for signals then another [5]
tile station space so that with only [1] "loop" line you can run [2]
subways simutanously on the [1] line. Thus preserving tiles for buildings.
Do you understand, now, the reason?

Say, what is BBCode?

Always,
Jim Powers

User avatar
troopper5
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1480
Joined: 18 Oct 2002 04:56
Location: Oulu, Finland

Post by troopper5 » 01 Dec 2003 15:36

That's Gonewacko, but anyway... :roll: '

BBCode is tt-forums' inside code, that you can use in your posts; Taken from TTDforums FAQ:


How to create bold, italic and underlined text
BBCode includes tags to allow you to quickly change the basic style of your text. This is achieved in the following ways:
To make a piece of text bold enclose it in [b][/b], eg.

[b]Hello[/b]

will become Hello
For underlining use [u][/u], for example:

[u]Good Morning[/u]

becomes Good Morning
To italicise text use [i][/i], eg.

This is [i]Great![/i]

would give This is Great![/i]

User avatar
GoneWacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8683
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 15:08
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by GoneWacko » 01 Dec 2003 16:44

troopper5 wrote:That's Gonewacko, but anyway... :roll:
Ehh??

I simply commented on the fact that this thread was once part of Oskars GUI Experiment topic, while the words GUI and Experiment are not in his post...

Anyhow... This is OT :.
GoneWacko. Making [url=irc://irc.oftc.net/tycoon]#tycoon[/url] sexy and exciting since 1784.

User avatar
troopper5
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1480
Joined: 18 Oct 2002 04:56
Location: Oulu, Finland

Post by troopper5 » 01 Dec 2003 18:00

GoneWacko wrote:
troopper5 wrote:That's Gonewacko, but anyway... :roll:
Ehh??
Jim Powers wrote:Mr. Gonewhacko;
GoneWacko wrote:Anyhow... This is OT :.
It is, back OnT

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Screen Shot: 1,000,000 People in 4 Cities

Post by Jim Powers » 03 Dec 2003 18:00

Dear TT-Forum;

Below is my latest [unfinished] scenario with a population of over one million,
that's (1,000,000) in only (4) cities total! Thought you'd like to see it.

By the way, I've installed a dual station subway system in 3 of the 4 cities.
I'm working on San Francisco's subway now. (For those who are interested.)

Always,
Jim Powers
Attachments
SCR1 Metro ver.1.jpg
SCR1 Metro ver.1.jpg (468.07 KiB) Viewed 46133 times

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 03 Dec 2003 18:55

you could get more space for town building by removing unnecessary roads :wink:
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Unnecessary Roads?

Post by Jim Powers » 04 Dec 2003 08:14

Mr. Shadow-XIII;

I know what you mean, but, I've found that somehow it takes this type
of grid system to get the *energy* (for want of a better word) to the
edge of the city. Now, when I remove roads, after expanding, I have
problems with the AI. Therefore, after trying many combinations, this has given me the best results. I used to put in the grid and then from the outer edges of the city start removing road as much as possible. Believe it or not
it didn't help that much. Why don't you try and see if you can develope a extra large city, and then we'll compare notes, my Friend. You know I can't
possible be the only one out of all the TTD Family to try to build extreme cities, am I? :? It's just not that tough. So, you wear a mouse or two out, big deal. I'd be more than happy to help with the experience I've got. If anyone is serious about city building, please contact me.

Always,

Jim Powers

User avatar
Louie Armstrong
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4053
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:02
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England

Post by Louie Armstrong » 04 Dec 2003 13:32

HI, im new here, impressive cities jim

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 04 Dec 2003 13:34

Welcome Louie Armstrong :wink:
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink » 04 Dec 2003 13:35

Welcome to the Forums!
Hope you become an active member.
If you have any questions, feel free to search first, then ask.
(If you don't search first we may get upset)

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

I did It! Half Million Population

Post by Jim Powers » 04 Dec 2003 15:57

TT-Forum Family;

Yes I did, I got my last city to over 500,000 people!!!
That is one half million people in only [1] TTD city!
I'm Darn proud of it too. Below is the screenshot.

(Excuse me for being too excited.)

Also, welcome Mr. Armstrong, come in and take your shoes off
and feel at home, 'cause the folks around here is mighty nice people.

Always,
Jim Powers
Attachments
SCR1 San Francisco 500,000.jpg
The largest city in TTD History
SCR1 San Francisco 500,000.jpg (422.91 KiB) Viewed 46004 times

User avatar
Darkvater
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3053
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 18:45
Location: Hong Kong

Re: I did It! Half Million Population

Post by Darkvater » 04 Dec 2003 15:59

Jim Powers wrote:TT-Forum Family;

Yes I did, I got my last city to over 500,000 people!!!
That is one half million people in only [1] TTD city!
I'm Darn proud of it too. Below is the screenshot.

(Excuse me for being too excited.)

Also, welcome Mr. Armstrong, come in and take your shoes off
and feel at home, 'cause the folks around here is mighty nice people.

Always,
Jim Powers
I don't really see what the fun is in that though...but congratz :)

You're not transporting any people just pushing 'expand town' the whole time. Not my idea of a good TTDLX game, but oh well :roll:
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."

User avatar
Jim Powers
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 08 Apr 2003 02:38
Location: Tucson, Arizona

You missed the point, sir

Post by Jim Powers » 04 Dec 2003 16:22

Mr. Darkvater;

"Variety is the spice of life". I believe you've missed the point, Sir. I like to create and then also play the games. But, if you think that all you do is push the "Expand" button and presto you have a large city, you're in for a little suprise. I challenge you, Sir, to see how big you can make a city, then, write me what you think and how large your city is. OK?

Always,
Jim (City Maker) Powers :wink:

User avatar
DominionSpy
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1429
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 23:59
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: You missed the point, sir

Post by DominionSpy » 04 Dec 2003 16:28

Jim Powers wrote:Mr. Darkvater;

"Variety is the spice of life". I believe you've missed the point, Sir. I like to create and then also play the games. But, if you think that all you do is push the "Expand" button and presto you have a large city, you're in for a little suprise. I challenge you, Sir, to see how big you can make a city, then, write me what you think and how large your city is. OK?

Always,
Jim (City Maker) Powers :wink:
:lol:
He's sooo right.

I tried to follow your advice Mr. Powers and got fed up before even getting anywhere close to your figure - I may have another go at the weekend and try to catch up to you.
Image
Faithfully,
dominionspy

PS I abolutely love the way you address everyone in such a polite and formal manner.
Image
You're saying I'm a Dominion spy, and don't even know it! - Dr. Bashir
That's the Joker in my avatar, not me. No wait it is me.

Post Reply

Return to “Scenarios and Saved Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests