Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:23 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
England and Wales Scenario


This scenario consists of a detailed map of England and Wales, with hundreds of towns and cities, industries placed according to their approximate real life locations -- such as North Sea oil -- and a number of major rivers.

The towns are not placed to an exact scale on this map but adjusted to ensure a more enjoyable game; I have found that a number of scenarios feature a London which is seven or eight times larger than Birmingham, as in real life -- in this scenario the two cities are much closer size-wise. Industry locations are also adjusted for playability, so two parts of a chain are not too far away to transport.

The scenario is available on BaNaNaS, and so are all the newGRFs required to play it.

Map Size: 2048x2048


Last edited by Wasila on Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 7:29 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:47 pm
Posts: 156
Location: York, UK
I, uh, hate to pick nits, but Newcastle and the river Tyne appear to have migrated about 70 miles south and are now in the Vale of York.

Compare the scenario's coast between Filey and Bridlington...

Attachment:
Yorkshire coast 1.PNG
Yorkshire coast 1.PNG [ 114.63 KiB | Viewed 7778 times ]


With Google Earth.

Attachment:
Yorkshire coast 2.PNG
Yorkshire coast 2.PNG [ 522.83 KiB | Viewed 7778 times ]


If that's deliberate, to give a large northern terminus for the East Coast Main Line, then fair enough. As a citizen of York, it hurts my eyes :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Sure, that's the reason...

But seriously, you would know as you generated the heightmap - should Newcastle be on the map at all? The map appears to cut off quite a bit south of the border if I check it against Google Earth. I must have got confused and added it when I was making the rivers.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:20 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:47 pm
Posts: 156
Location: York, UK
I didn't generate the heightmap, wouldn't know how - I modified an old scenario (the original author is mentioned previously in the thread, I'm sure).

I'm about to move house on Thursday but once I'm back online I'll have a tweak with the northeast area - Darlington should *just* off the map to the north, so it'll fit at the very top without changing things too much. I don't suppose you've got an earlier version of the map before the River Tyne was added?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
OK, thanks for that. I'm afraid all the versions I have are of 2 or later (when the rivers were introduced, I believe) - I have switched systems since then and it must have got lost in the process.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
In the version i used i moved all the cities and just squashed newcastle and the extra river right up in the north.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Quote:
I'm about to move house on Thursday but once I'm back online I'll have a tweak with the northeast area - Darlington should *just* off the map to the north, so it'll fit at the very top without changing things too much. I don't suppose you've got an earlier version of the map before the River Tyne was added?


I was planning on perhaps looking at the scenario again anyway to add more industries/rivers and such - I'll wait for you first so that we don't end up with two different versions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Well mine has roads and rails on it, so you'd have to demolish at least the rails :P

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I was quoting brickie there but, now you bring it up, could we see a savegame of yours to see exactly what you've done? It would be greatly appreciated :).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 4:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Ooo i dunno about that :P

Its very much a work in progress ;)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 4:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
We're interested in the map, not your rails ;). It's up to you, though - just a suggestion.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 4:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Well im not getting internet until 28th June. So until then i have no access to post anything from the computer im building it on. But as soon as my net is up ill post it. Its got lots of GRFs in it atm though.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
No rush - just curious. Thanks ;).

In the meantime - version 2.5 released!

This version includes an increase in industries as well as the River Trent!

It should be available on BaNaNaS shortly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Not to rush you, but brickie it's been a while since you promised you would work on the scenario. Have you found time yet?

Thanks,
Wasila


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:24 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:47 pm
Posts: 156
Location: York, UK
Ooh, I'd forgotten all about it in the fun and games of moving house and then being in a play. Duly noted, I'll see what I can come up with...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:20 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:47 pm
Posts: 156
Location: York, UK
Here, how's that?

I've added a few more places in the Lake District and North York Moors as well...


Attachments:
England and Wales Scenario (v2.5.1).scn [4.53 MiB]
Downloaded 346 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 5:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Better late than ever, eh? Brickie's version released on BaNaNaS - all I added was to update the included newGRFs.

Thanks brickie!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Hmmh... Colchester and its surroundings need fixing - a few towns seem to have migrated from the coast. Anyone an expert in this area?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Note to self duly noted. New version uploaded, with improvements around London and Ipswich.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
And around Birmingham, while I'm at it.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.