Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:43 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page Previous 112 13 14 15 1618 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:03 am
Posts: 1100
Location: Austria
I'm on the EN 490 heading towards Hamburg right now. Pretty nice, but I can barely post here, because there are so many tunnels.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:42 pm
Posts: 7407
Location: Stratford, London
Train heading up to Stratford Depot off HS1!


Attachments:
image.jpg [1.7 MiB]
Downloaded 2 times

_________________
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:44 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6128
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
I can imagine Jamie walking backwards up the escalator trying to get his phone out to get the photo :P

Saying that, I didn't know Javelins used that depot. I thought they only used the Ashford one.

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:35 pm
Posts: 3832
Skype: tommietomato1
Location: South London and Pembroke Dock.
Having to get home from Nottingham today has been a nightmare...

Packed 158 to Grantham ,now on an EC HST to Kings X.

All because of a broken phone mast on the power lines at Bedford.

_________________
|flickr|Facebook|Steam|British Trainz Forum|UKTrainSim|UK Bus set for Locomotion|My OTTD Screenies|World of Trucks|
I have a self-confessed obsession the How To Train Your Dragon series.
Proud to have the most name-changes on this forum! More recently known as Aycliffe.
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
I think you'll find it was the threat of a mast falling on the lines. But yes. Huge disruption.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6128
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
And it couldn't be lifted easily due to high winds making any crane operation too unsafe.
Never an easy fix is there these days :P

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:42 pm
Posts: 7407
Location: Stratford, London
Caught in the chaos on the WCML. Sitting on a stationary voyager somewhere between Rugby and MKC...

Excellent, honest and clear announcements from the train manager however; it really makes a difference when the railway is clear and open about the reasons for disruption.

_________________
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6128
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
I've found that from a few of the guards on Virgin. Very good announcements, clear, and plenty of information provided :)

Hope you get back alright Jamie! :P

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:35 pm
Posts: 3832
Skype: tommietomato1
Location: South London and Pembroke Dock.
Sat on a 442 after leaving work. Give me one of these over a 455 any day.

_________________
|flickr|Facebook|Steam|British Trainz Forum|UKTrainSim|UK Bus set for Locomotion|My OTTD Screenies|World of Trucks|
I have a self-confessed obsession the How To Train Your Dragon series.
Proud to have the most name-changes on this forum! More recently known as Aycliffe.
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Currently aboard 185118, going to Middlesbrough. Just left York. Where the train is now hm, no more than 30% full!

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:42 pm
Posts: 7407
Location: Stratford, London
How full was it between York and Leeds!

_________________
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 5:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
JamieLei wrote:
How full was it between York and Leeds!

Not crowded! I'd say probably 85%, assuming all carriages were as full as the centre one i was on.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:28 pm
Posts: 1919
85%? That's pretty full considering it was an early-afternoon service, typically about the quietest time of day.

_________________
Jon


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
audigex wrote:
85%? That's pretty full considering it was an early-afternoon service, typically about the quietest time of day.

There were no more than 6 maybe 7 vacant seats in the carriage I was in. It was also a saturday remember, so shopping and what not.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 2:22 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:04 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon, UK
Currently on a 166 from Paddington to Moreton-in-Marsh on the Cotswold Line, and I have a question!

Is there a reliable way to tell in advance what MU will be running on a particular service? I visit friends in London at the weekends fairly frequently, and am usually not too bothered when I travel. The HSTs and Adelantes are much more comfortable than the Networkers, it would be good to be able to plan my journeys around catching the former and not the latter.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
If you use the advanced search on real time trains, it will allow you to click on an individual service which will provide details such as what the train is booked to be.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:55 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:04 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon, UK
That's amazing! Thanks Dave.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:05 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:38 am
Posts: 352
Dave wrote:
If you use the advanced search on real time trains, it will allow you to click on an individual service which will provide details such as what the train is booked to be.

Unfortunately it's not showing what the booked allocation is, but showing what 'timing load' has been used. In some cases, multiple timing loads are used, in which case only one is shown.

In some cases this indicates what type of train is likely to be allocated to the service, but not always.

To give two examples, all GC services to/from Sunderland appear to be "pathed" as "High Speed Train (HST125)" (only some are booked to be HST) and all Chiltern services between London & Birmingham & beyond appear to be "pathed" as Pathed as "Class 158 (Express Sprinter) DMU" (none are booked to be Class 158, and some are loco hauled)


Last edited by yorkie on Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
You're right, but I think it does at least say HST or Class 165 on this occasion.

Obviously it's subject to change, but it is anyway, right?

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:13 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:38 am
Posts: 352
Dave wrote:
You're right, but I think it does at least say HST or Class 165 on this occasion.

That's what it's pathed as, yes.

It may or may not be what it's booked as, but without knowledge of what the planners have diagrammed, you won't know for certain.
Dave wrote:
Obviously it's subject to change, but it is anyway, right?

The website doesn't show what's booked, but I agree that if it did, it would of course be subject to change as you say.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page Previous 112 13 14 15 1618 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.