Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed May 24, 2017 2:28 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1359 posts ]  Go to page Previous 157 58 59 60 6168 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7034
Location: Manchester
JamieLei wrote:
longest possession time available in the year.

Possessions... the bane of my life. Those, and freight paths that aren't used! :lol:

Oh, and maybe those annoying night time Class 1s!

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread
BR Set Development


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
JamieLei wrote:
after all, if the lights are off, the CCTV can't work.
haha. That is some priceless information there. Railway CCTV isn't infra-red or other night vision enabled.
The heating was almost certainly on, at least at Wakefield Westgate, the chronic condensation on the windows was almost certainly indicative of a huge heat difference, and if there were any maintenance going on at the stations, they'd obviously seen me and parked all their vans out the way and got out of sight :p

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7034
Location: Manchester
Redirect Left wrote:
JamieLei wrote:
after all, if the lights are off, the CCTV can't work.
haha. That is some priceless information there. Railway CCTV isn't infra-red or other night vision enabled.

The BTP say they have access to 55000 CCTV Cameras. Let's estimate that around half of these on stations (in theory, it's likely more!), so that's 27,500 CCTV Cameras. A Cheap Infrared CCTV Camera costs about £129 (each), so 27500*129 = £3,547,500. I imagine the electricity bill to keep the lights on is a lot cheaper! :lol:

As for Heating, you don't want the pipes freezing over now do you?

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread
BR Set Development


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Pilot wrote:
As for Heating, you don't want the pipes freezing over now do you?
It was widely reported (and actually occured for once) that this Christmas would be one of the warmest on record :p

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:42 pm
Posts: 7364
Location: Stratford, London
Redirect Left wrote:
JamieLei wrote:
after all, if the lights are off, the CCTV can't work.
Railway CCTV isn't infra-red or other night vision enabled.


I highly doubt any CCTV of any image quality is night vision enabled. I don't actually know if it is; I'm just guessing that it isn't.

To be honest, it's not a bad complaint. Draft it up in a letter, and send it to the Head of Stations at each TOC concerned.

_________________
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
You can get nightvision CCTV where the image quality is certainly enough to make out enough detail to make out all important things (example) - a true night vision camera will have everything it needs to see in the night attached (example) and that alone will identify to any potential cable thief that the camera is going to see what they're doing through its nightvision., so may deter them purely through that.
Plus, more money from the additional trespassing fines the night-vis picks up :p

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:42 pm
Posts: 7364
Location: Stratford, London
Redirect Left wrote:
You can get nightvision CCTV where the image quality is certainly enough to make out enough detail to make out all important things (example) - a true night vision camera will have everything it needs to see in the night attached (example) and that alone will identify to any potential cable thief that the camera is going to see what they're doing through its nightvision., so may deter them purely through that.
Plus, more money from the additional trespassing fines the night-vis picks up :p


Easier and cheaper to leave the lights on IMO ;)
Also those cameras are only good because they have some ambient light anyway.

_________________
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
JamieLei wrote:
Easier and cheaper to leave the lights on IMO ;)
Considering Wakefield Westgate is clearly using old flourescent lights (Usually at least 36 to 79W each for any sort of decent brightness - for comparison, your average flourescent tube in the home or office is usually 32 to 58W), the electricity from all of them powering an entire station will quickly wrap over to the 1000W mark (usually one electrical unit is measured as 1kWh, or 1000W being on for 1 hour). The ambient light needed for them cameras is usually very low, low enough that a full moon with only partial cloud cover is enough for them to get a good enough image, so you'd only need a few lights on instead of an entire stations worth.
So easier very much yes, cheaper almost certainly no :p - At least in this case, with stations that use more modern lighting that uses less W for the same amount of brightness, possibly, at least to a lesser degree.
I've used nightvision cameras, i'm a very paranoid person and all the places I live are covered with rather overkill CCTV :p

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11806
Location: MK UK
It's not just the cost of the units though, it's the cost of installing them which will always be much higher than you expect, especially on a live operating railway. It might not be the greenest thing to do but consider also that engineering trains might be running and stations are a key reference point for drivers so if they don't see it lit up like normal it can lead to confusion and potentially an accident. Likewise, if the platforms can't be gated off, I suspect NR and the TOC still have a responsibility to mitigate risk and highlight the 3ft drop to track level by leaving the lights on. Cheaper than a lawsuit.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7034
Location: Manchester
So, Vivarails Class 230 has caught fire during testing today at Kenilworth, blocking the single line between Leamington Spa and Coventry.

https://twitter.com/chris_railway/status/814830417136283648

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread
BR Set Development


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:35 pm
Posts: 3826
Skype: tommietomato1
Location: South London and Pembroke Dock.
Someone didnt put enough fire proofing in...

_________________
|flickr|Facebook|Steam|British Trainz Forum|UKTrainSim|UK Bus set for Locomotion|My OTTD Screenies|World of Trucks|
I have a self-confessed obsession the How To Train Your Dragon series.
Proud to have the most name-changes on this forum! More recently known as Aycliffe.
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17005
Location: Harringay, North London
Pilot wrote:
So, Vivarails Class 230 has caught fire during testing today at Kenilworth, blocking the single line between Leamington Spa and Coventry.

https://twitter.com/chris_railway/status/814830417136283648


Whoops. There goes the 230 then...

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 8:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 4:36 pm
Posts: 1964
Location: Leeds, UK
I still can't believe the d stock actually became a serious idea... Fornsome reason they wanted them on the Harrogate line a few years ago

_________________
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Looks like quite a major fire too, rather that a little bit of an oopsie. Glad Arriva Northern went the new train route rather than upcycled tube trains. Although does mean I'll have to travel further to ride these if they survive this slight setback and London Midland keep their order...

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:13 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17005
Location: Harringay, North London
Their Twitter has said the train didn't catch fire... one of the detachable engine modules was the culprit.

So whilst said module was attached it wasn't "the train"? Hm.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 1:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
I would argue that anything attached to the train, becomes part of the train. Thus, the train set on fire.

Sounds like Vivarail trying to cover themselves and keep their dream of pushing old stock back onto the network alive :p

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7034
Location: Manchester
With Heathrow Connect being taken over by Crossrail, and Greater Anglia getting new stock, does anyone have an idea as to where the Class 360s from these operators will go once they are replaced? They're basically Class 350s as far as I know, just lacking the end gangway, so maybe London Midland could be a home for these?

They're also new-ish Units, built between 2002 and 2005, so scrapping them would probably be out of the equation. I'd love to see Northern take them on, but I doubt they'll get them, as they have both 319s and new build electric units coming.

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread
BR Set Development


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5869
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Got on a VTEC train earlier, after seeing some signs at Wakefield Westgate indicating they had rolled out free wifi!

It's a yes/no situation with the free WiFi.
Yes: There is free WiFi, buuuut
No: You need to pre-book your ticket directly with VTEC, and you also need to opt-in to their marketing, can't tick the opt-out box.

If you don't do the required stuff, it's the same as always, 15 minute free, then £5 for the rest of the journey.

I'm not sure if this is temporary, or if the whole 'free wifi' part of tenders allows to have all these ifs and buts. (or if VTEC was done before that free wifi was part of tender?)

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11806
Location: MK UK
Pilot wrote:
With Heathrow Connect being taken over by Crossrail, and Greater Anglia getting new stock, does anyone have an idea as to where the Class 360s from these operators will go once they are replaced? They're basically Class 350s as far as I know, just lacking the end gangway, so maybe London Midland could be a home for these?

They're also new-ish Units, built between 2002 and 2005, so scrapping them would probably be out of the equation. I'd love to see Northern take them on, but I doubt they'll get them, as they have both 319s and new build electric units coming.

I would hazard a guess they either go to the GE to be united with the other 360s or go to LM to get rid of the few 319s they have knocking about.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7034
Location: Manchester
Ameecher wrote:
Pilot wrote:
With Heathrow Connect being taken over by Crossrail, and Greater Anglia getting new stock, does anyone have an idea as to where the Class 360s from these operators will go once they are replaced? They're basically Class 350s as far as I know, just lacking the end gangway, so maybe London Midland could be a home for these?

They're also new-ish Units, built between 2002 and 2005, so scrapping them would probably be out of the equation. I'd love to see Northern take them on, but I doubt they'll get them, as they have both 319s and new build electric units coming.

I would hazard a guess they either go to the GE to be united with the other 360s or go to LM to get rid of the few 319s they have knocking about.

Greater Anglia are replacing theirs though as well aren't they? I thought the GE was getting a full new build fleet? I would imagine that LM would take them on, like they will apparently be taking TPEx's 10 350s when their new build electrics arrive.

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread
BR Set Development


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1359 posts ]  Go to page Previous 157 58 59 60 6168 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.