Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:32 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:02 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 6:45 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Madrid - Main Recio's HQ
I know they are, but I bet that at small size you won't notice the difference

Well, there's always the possiblity of creating new wheels and replacing. I feel it won't be an issue.

:wink:

_________________
6th Member of the Reciox - The Inner Circle
Image

pak96 Simutrans Depot
http://www.raven.simutrans.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
seeing as there are trains but no track Ive created a 100' 1" stretch of standard guage track using sketchup, (no texture)


Attachments:
File comment: I dont know if this is convertable to .blend but its just an idea
100ft track.zip [18.76 KiB]
Downloaded 209 times
100ft track.PNG
100ft track.PNG [ 13.94 KiB | Viewed 9831 times ]

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:50 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
seems to me not quite well rendered or to bright color scedules, i hope someone can make them look little better?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
Seems to be someone looked at model track a bit too much or is it my imagination that I see track connectors and the end of the rail? Despite that, this is our first piece of track, can you try and enhance it m3henry?!

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:05 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2125
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
I have a premonition edging an assurement that we will not use track _model_ but a track _texture_ due to the polycount budget.

Besides - this is a good place to start talks about track geometry issues. Since locomotion-like approach is preferred (alas now).

So ask yourself - which curves/switches etc you want.

BTW - the final stage should be implementation of this:

http://www.hobbylinc.com/gr/atl/atl2000.jpg

A flex track.

I'll post some examples what I mean by track elements - just not today.

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
yes hyro is does have track connectors in there, and ballast.
the idea is that it is a) bent in-game to give desired effect b) bent in blender for pre-set peices.
Ive made a new version (uploaded) a little while ago, it has raised ballast
I dont have any textures I can use for this :(
so I need some textures before I can do the gravel

uzurpator: oh dear :cry: an image of track, I hope your not edging towards an isometric game.

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:46 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2125
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
I am thinking about such shot really:)

http://ukfs.trainsimfiles.com/docs/separation2.jpg

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
such shot is still going to not work for me, unless the veiw is explictly isometric/topdown and the terrain has an angle at that point of no more than a few degrees.
I say this because I was an avid player of RRT2, in game it used a 3d terrain, with 2d buildings ontop and a texture for track. this worked on gentle slopes and in the isometric veiw it was set but on the steeper slopes, the track was stretched over the tile and it looked ghastly!

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
We could integrate the sleepers into the bedding without looking ugly, but I'm afraid we'll have to use separate rails to make it look good from all angles. This example rail uses 16 faces, 32 when using triangles.


Attachments:
Untitled.png [106.4 KiB]
Downloaded 566 times
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 12:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 8:21 am
Posts: 67
Location: Germany
The only chance to realize a good looking track at small scale is by heavy use of elevation maps and bump maps... These techniques create an almost perfect 3d impression where in reality is only a flat texture, but only inside the boundaries of the triangle. Conclusion: As long as your viewing angle is not too flat (the rail does not overlap the edge of the face) you get the impression of perfect 3d. To achieve good results it is necessary to create a high-poly model of the track of which on is able to create the bump maps.

Alternatively for this application it's worth thinking about a trimmed-down version of texture clouds: One flat face for the underground (dended in curves, with bump map) - one slightly elevated horizontal face which is mostly transparent but carries multiple textures for the crossties (not bended, only rotated) - one elevated horizontal face which carries two (bended) textures for the rails. Looking horizontally from one side will cause the track to disappear, but noone will ever do that anyways (at least if the camera is restricted :-)).

Realization of track elements may then be done as follows. Alpha blend the underground. Adjust position and length of crossties, do not overlap. Alpha blend rails and maybe add special elements like the heart of a junction.

_________________
\°| Greetz, TossIB |°/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 97
Location: mapy.cz/?query=rajhrad
Hello everybody.

I did some photos of railway track (top-down view, from a road bridge). I thought they may be useful for making textures.
I had to split them into 3 archives, because with bigger files the upload always got stuck.
Here they are:


Attachments:
00.zip [3.04 MiB]
Downloaded 212 times
01.zip [3.04 MiB]
Downloaded 141 times
02.zip [2.79 MiB]
Downloaded 149 times

_________________
[Update Aug 2013] FlexRails track buiding demo coming soon!
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
Random.. but I like it!

Should be a good timesaver.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:02 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 6:45 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Madrid - Main Recio's HQ
Hi, got some new stuff, an US hopper.
Attachment:
ushopper.png
ushopper.png [ 139 KiB | Viewed 8010 times ]

It has one or two design flaws I'll have to iron out. And too many polys for a 3d game, but at least there's new content around.

A lot of care was put into the bogies. (Most, in fact)

It'd be a wise idea to add a texture to the sides, to include all the riveting and text.
It would be pretty easy to have a variation of wagons (liveries) using the same model, for no extra cost.


Attachments:
Hopper 2.rar [69.06 KiB]
Downloaded 149 times

_________________
6th Member of the Reciox - The Inner Circle

Image



pak96 Simutrans Depot

http://www.raven.simutrans.com
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:25 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
This really looks awesome, Raven! Good to see you're submitting stuff again too :).

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 6:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 2
Raven wrote:
Something like this D52?
(Guess that al least it'll need some kind of valve gear :))

Oh, dutch you say? :P

But although they served their function when rendered for Simutrans pak128, they have not received enough care for certain tasks such as, well, a 3D game.

In any case, I'm posting the Klopopler model.

Love your renders! :shock: This render inspired me. I would love to see the amount of detail in a game!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 6:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
I thought i might have another go at the track, this time has a much lower poly-count and the textures are shown as colours for now. The track pieces can be morphed by the game to fit the user's track spline/set track.
Code:
purple     - ballast and sleepers
light blue - shiny rail
brown      - rusty rail
green      - semi-transparent ballast (inside is opaque, outside is almost fully transparent)
yellow     - ballast (goes between sections when close enough)


Attachments:
File comment: this is 12 sections put together in a twin track and single line configuration
track-2.PNG [138.38 KiB]
Downloaded 216 times
track.zip [91.43 KiB]
Downloaded 174 times

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:32 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:16 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
We have sort of talked about doing 2 tracks on 1 tile. (for straight pieces) Would this be possible with this set?

_________________
NukeBuster

Transport Empire: The Transport Empire Linux effort
Join the Transport Empire IRC channel: irc://irc.oftc.net/transportempire !

OpenTTD patch(es): Password at join


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.